We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay anywhere else in Belfast”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Won't stay anywhere else in Belfast”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I loved this hotel. The service was top notch - I can't say enough good things about the staff. They were so helpful with everything I needed. The breakfast was fabulous. The room was clean, comfortable and super quiet. The hotel is just a short bus or taxi ride away from all the attractions in Belfast, or even within walking distance to the city center if you're up for it. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, and if I ever get back to Belfast I know where I'm going to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texaskaren68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,985
    432
    71
    15
    16
See reviews for
301
1,411
142
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cockeysville
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very nice place to stay. Convenient free parking on site. In walking distance of most sites if you like to walk. Very clean, comfortable and pleasant room with all the amenities. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Choice of hot breakfasts as well as continental items available and were very nicely served. Very accommodating of our 4 AM check out. Were even willing to provide us with a continental breakfast at that hour.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 and was on the street. We did hear some students out celebrating the end of the sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Tara Lodge was an excellent choice for our one night in Belfast. The staff was extremely helpful in arranging a black taxi cab tour, and the receptionist suggested taking the coastal route up to Portrush. We had a ground-floor room directly beside the parking lot, which was fine, but a higher-level room might be better.

Room Tip: Ask for one on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a perfect place to stay for our one night in Belfast. Parking was free and we could walk most places. The service was top-notch. We also loved the breakfast - try the porridge with a nip of Bushmills!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoFish417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Normally when I stay at a hotel I have a few niggles and would like some things to be a bit different. However, at Tara Lodge, the stay was perfect in every respect.

The room was comfortable, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever tasted.

Thank you Tara Lodge for making my Silver Wedding Anniversary so special!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuscanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed in Tara Lodge on a Sunday night. We received a very warm and helpful welcome from a lovely lady in reception. We were shown to our room. The room itself is compact (we were in the Annex room), but it has everything you could need in it including, Tea/coffee facilities, and spotlessly clean. The lodge does not have a restaurant or bar. It is located in a residential neighbourhood, with some onsite car parking. The breakfast was lovely, swiftly cooked to order. The only down side to our stay was the outside noise made by residents of the street returning home, something Tara Lodge have no control over. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay somewhere out of the city, in a spotlessly clean, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokocoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notodden, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a great stay at the Tara Lodge. We vere welcomed in a nice way on the phone by Pauline, and was not disapointed when we arived the hotel. Very Nice room, and stay. Belfast has great pubs and we missed the breakfast unfortunately. Our fault. The NeXT day Pauline helped us far Beyond expected to hire a car. Very good service. You feel the do anything they can for you. Clean, Central, safe and cosy. Thanks Tara Lodge. Our best review.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,204 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing