We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Must Stay Here”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You Must Stay Here”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

From the moment we arrived our stay was wonderful. We arrived around 10 am and Pauline at reception was able to find my daughter and I an empty room. The lodge is within walking distance to everything, but in a quiet area. If Pauline is at reception you are in for a treat. She can book every tour you want, tell you where to get a great meal, have a drink while watching the latest sporting event or arrange for any transportation you need. The entire staff will go out of their way to make sure your stay is exactly what you need. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is great. Next time I am in Belfast I will stay here for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex and the rooms are great, but no elevator, so if stairs are a problem ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,933
    419
    71
    15
    16
See reviews for
293
1,371
141
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a visit to Belfast in March 2014. We had originally only booked one night and then decided to extend our stay. Tara Lodge (specifically Pauline) was so accommodating. They were almost fully booked for the extra night but they were able to get us a room. Our first night we were in the annex and the second night we moved to a junior suite that had some nice city views and was very bright and on the larger side.

Nothing was too much trouble for Pauline and Claire at the front desk. They were friendly and very welcoming. They were able to provide excellent directions to places we wanted to see in the city and also arrange a tour for us. Although as mentioned in previous reviews the hotel has no restaurant or bar; they serve terrific breakfasts. The breakfasts we had here were by far the best we had on our trip to Ireland; there was a lot of variety on the menu and freshly prepared foods. We will be staying here when we return to Belfast in the future!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed overnight on business. Very friendly, spotlessly clean, very good breakfast ( I had the power porridge!) comfortable beds. Bit noisy early morning -think it was bin day but won't hesitate to stay there next time I'm in Belfast. We'll done!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotLainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Converted from a row of terraced houses, this place is extremely well appointed and the staff very friendly and helpful. My room was on the third floor of an annex - if you have trouble with stirs you might want to ask for a ground floor room as there is no elevator in this annex. I found all of the facilities associated with a modern hotel, including high quality linens and toiletries and free Wi-Fi.

Breakfast was excellent and the extremely wide choice was clearly freshly prepared for each customer - something that I value after stale scrambled eggs and cold bacon from the pathways of typical international hotels. Breakfast alone would convince me to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Wonderful hotel with a fantastic freshly cooked breakfast using local ingredients.The staff are really friendly and helpful Nothing was too much trouble Will definitely return and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4friends2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed in Tara Lodge for a weekend and couldn't have asked for much more. The service at the reception was fantastic, a really friendly service and provided us with some great advice for places to go. The room was beautiful, large, spacious and clean and with an incredible shower. The breakfast was lovely, a great selection of Irish foods but I would have to recommend the Lemon and Honey pancakes. All in all,we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomRich3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Booked to stay for 3 nights on a family recommendation and also checking Trip Advisor. Rooms are more than adequate, breakfasts are excellent and the staff could not be more helpful.
The Lodge is situated within the student area of Belfast thus surrounded with a good mix of restaurants,cafés, pubs to suit all pockets.The Tara Lodge has no bar nor serves food ( Only breakfast) It's a 5 minute walk to the station and 15 min walk to the city centre. Taxi's are numerous and reasonable and the drivers just terrific) The warmth of the staff's welcome and ongoing attention proving the people from Northern Ireland must be some of the friendliest on the planet!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,160 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing