We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Tara Lodge”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here again last experience was so good. Had a room in the annex this time and although it was still great quality, the noise from the street was a bit too much for me. Having said that I live in the country so am not used to traffic at night!
Staff again were lovely and breakfast was gorgeous. A central location and amazing price so will definitely return, but in a room at the back

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmah6981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 2,639 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights here in May 2013; it is located in the university district of Belfast. The room was small but very comfortable; we had our best night of sleep here after two weeks traveling. The staff were very accommodating and the breakfast is fantastic. Centrally located in the city down a fairly quiet street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building; it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Certainly a lot of good points about this place. BUT also a lot of bad points. It'll be OK if you don't want to move your car once its parked (car park fills) and can sleep with plenty of background noise. Stayed two nights,I really didnt get a proper nights sleep on the first. The second was not too bad as I used earplugs and had a few drinks with dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear jnkell

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in September 2013. Tara Lodge opened in 1998 and was refurbished in 2007. We have also just renovated our ground floor at the beginning of this year so I’m delighted you felt that our property was new. I’m sorry you didn’t feel that it was great though – I would have loved to know some of the good points so we could see what we’re getting right and where we need to improve.

We offer a limited amount of free car parking spaces (one of the very few properties in Belfast to do so), which are offered on a first come first served basis. When we are busy the car park is in great demand as you realised during your stay but there is free on street car parking in the immediate vicinity of Tara Lodge. I am very sorry that you were disturbed by the street noise. We know that all our guests should have a great night’s sleep but unfortunately the street noise is completely beyond our control. Next time please contact us directly so we can make sure you are allocated the best room possible at the best price.

Thanks again for taking the time.

Kind Regards


Nora Douds
General Manager
Tara Lodge, Belfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel really deserves its accolades. It is clean, updated, and they are super nice. It has everything a hotel needs, without being overbearing. They booked our tour to the Giant Causeway. The first night we came late and we were unlucky to arrive when the temperature had dropped 10C in one day.
The room was a bit chilly for my taste (I am a whimp!) and they volunteered to find us a space heater. Most of the heaters had been lent out to other guests, but they found a space heater that wasn't quite working and repaired in the middle of night for us. By the next day the building heating system had kicked in and we didn't need the space heater anymore.

The only thing to remember is that if it rains, you should double the time they say it will take for a cab to show up or drive you to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xyzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We used Tara Lodge as our base for exploring Belfast City; it proved to a great choice.

Our room was a ground floor unit out the back of the main building, but we felt very secure with keycard access to our room and the building itself. We experienced no street noise with the windows open at night, only an occasional train rumble. The room was compact but with adequate space to move around and was really well appointed. We're always keen on having tea/coffee making facilities but we had plenty more than this, including an iron and board and a DVD player although neither were used. Our bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom, with very good disabled access and utility. Wi-Fi reception (free) was excellent.

Breakfast was served in a large, bright dining room in the main building, with a welcome 7.30am start on weekdays. We had paid for a full cooked Irish breakfast in our room tariff and were free to make up a combination from the menu items. While it was being prepared there were ample buffet supplies of juice, cereal, yoghurt etc. Tea/coffee were served by the friendly staff.

The Lodge staff generally were very helpful and welcoming with plenty of good advice available if we needed it. The Lodge location is excellent; it's only a hundred metres down to the main street leading into the city centre. We found it quite practicable to reach City Hall and the Cathedral for example, with one of us in a wheeelchair, and Belfast footpaths aren't what you'd call wheelchair friendly. Botanic railway station is about 250 metres from the Lodge and in that same vicinity there are several handy cafes, restaurants and small supermarkets.

We chose Tara Lodge partly because of its very good accommodation reviews, but also because it advertised on-site car parking. Being on a self-drive tour of Ireland, this latter aspect was very important to us. There are fewer car parking spaces than rooms, so parking is on a first come first served basis, with overflow parking out on the street. Having a rental car we were concerned about the latter, but it didn't prove necessary during our stay.

Overall, Tara Lodge met all our expectations; we felt very comfortable here and it would be our first choice on any return visit to Belfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ozgypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We chose Tara Lodge for our mini Honeymoon to Belfast based on the wonderful reviews it has had, and we were not disappointed. On our first night we requested the sweetheart package which included chocolate strawberries, champagne, room service breakfast, rose-petals, bath products, and was a wonderful treat. We were also given a complimentary upgrade to one of the signature rooms which was a much appreciated gesture. The signature rooms are lovely - they have little luxuries like iPod dock, GHD straighteners, coffee machine, and DVD player.
The staff were wonderful during our whole stay regardless of the time of day. They were able to give good recommendations on restaurants and attractions, and quick to provide any assistance even for things like plates and cutlery when we ordered a take away.
Breakfast is very good and has a wide range available.
The area is within walking distance of the city centre and there are plenty of restaurants and coffee shops around. It is very much in a "student area" which feels very safe, but can be busy and noisy particularly in the evening.
We hope to stay here again very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbit3111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We found Tara Lodge by a recommendation out of a travel guide. We loved it so much, we stayed for another night. The bed was super comfortable, the place was clean, and the staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts were amazing and there were quite a few options on the menu. I would definitely stay here again if we return to Ireland!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,110 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 45 in Belfast
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#4 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $112 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing