We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's good for the price”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“It's good for the price”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I booked here based on the TA reviews and wasn't disappointed.
The free parking and Wi-Fi are great. I suppose the only disadvantage is that there is no bar if you want to stay in the hotel at night.
Plenty of restaurants nearby though and breakfast at the hotel is great.

For the price, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jabei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,937
    420
    71
    15
    16
See reviews for
293
1,374
141
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a great stay here. Parking was free and easy (it was nice to leave the car in the car park for a few days), the room was large, comfortable, and quiet (even with the window open all night), breakfast was tasty, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The location is perfect. Queen's Quarter is a great area of town - tons of restaurants and attractions. Check out The Empire right down the street. And it's a quick walk to the city centre. Ricky was most helpful with recommendations (even on his day off!) since it would take months to try everything in the area. Everything he recommended was spot-on for us.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: One wing has no lift. This was a good thing in my case, since I needed all of the exercise I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgraham999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was the first time that we had stayed in Belfast and our welcome couldn't have been warmer. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and the room had everything that you could wish for on a 2 night stay. We had no trouble parking in the hotel car park even though we only arrived at about 9pm on a Sunday evening but I suspect that we were lucky with this as the car park was quite small. We also stayed out of term time so the area was very quiet. The location was fine - about 15min walk into the centre and to other attractions. The restaurants around provided choice for the evening and there was an informative pack in the room. The breakfast at the hotel was excellent - both with choice and quality. Everything was very clean and fresh -overall an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHEWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Tara Lodge is located about a 10 minute walk from City Centre in the beautiful, quiet and leafy Queen's University District. Lots of restaurants and shops close by, including a rail station. Venture a little further and you're right downtown.

The hotel was absolutely perfect. Friendly and helpful to the last staff member; clean, comfortable rooms with well-appointed, up-to-date bathrooms and free wireless internet. Breakfast is included in the very reasonable rate. You can order a full hot breakfast off their menu (eggs and toast, porridge, pancakes, etc.) AND there is a juice and cold cereal bar as well.

Cannot say enough positive things about this perfect, lovely, friendly hotel in Belfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a very well-appointed inn located very central to many attractions. It is off a side street which keeps it quiet at night for sleeping.

You are within walking distance to all the attractions (or a short taxi ride to those a little further out-the Titanic Museum). The only issue with transportation is parking at the hotel. They have a ver small parking lot off the street that cannot accommodate all the vehicles in the hotel. So, you do need to park on the street which worked out ok for us because we were able to park right in front of the hotel.

The decor and furnishings are new and in good condition. Everything was extremely clean and very well-kept over the 3days we were there. We also had an accessible room in which the whole bathroom was tiled and there was no distinction between the floor and shower (roll-in shower). This didn't bother us and we thought it was a very innovative way to make everything accessible-no barriers. There was a little bit of noise that you can hear from a neighbouring room, but the guests next door were not loud after 9pm nor early in the morning.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was excellent. A full Irish breakfast every morning. A very lovely lounge/breakfast area. Modern in design.

The associates were helpful and courteous. They were very business-oriented and not too interested in small talk about your travels, etc... But tourists might not be their main clientele so this is understandable. There's nothing wrong with this.

Overall, Tara Lodge was a lovely spot in Belfast and great value for the amenities received.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC_Empire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I am a regular at the Tara Lodge.

I am a buissness traveller so the lack of bar and resturant can be a bit of a disadvantage for me. There are many places to eat just down the road but when travelling alone I don't really enjoy asking for a 'table for one', much. Time moves very slowly in a resturant when you sit by yourself !
For this reason Tara Lodge is my favoured hotel for when I arrive off the Ferry on Sunday evening. I have already eaten, so in this case lack of restaurant isn't an issue, but I can usually be sure of a good night's sleep after a very long journey.

The hotel has it's own secure car park, is in an area far enough from the resturants and bars to be quiet (usually) and I haven't yet encountered any noisy residents, seeming to be favoured more by well behaved, older folk. (An advantage of not having a bar, possibly?) It is also, therefore, a good place to stay when you need a good nights sleep to be up at dawn to catch the ferry, too. I know from bad exerience that trying to find a hotel where you can sleep in Belfast city centre (or any city!) on a Friday night is not at all easy, but this hotel has worked for me several times.The 24 hr porter will arrange a minimal breakfast and or pot of coffee at whatever time you need to leave.

Breakfast is always excellent with some nice alternatives to the usual English cooked breakfast, such as eggs benedict, omelettes and smoked fsh.

About the only down side is that there is some sort of heating or ventilation duct in the centre of the building. If you get a room next to this you can get a bit f a hum through the wall, so if you are a light sleeper, avoid the rooms in the middle of the two floors of the main bulding. The rooms at the front might also be vulnerable to a little street noise - there isn't any traffic to speak off, but there could be the odd intoxicated student...

Quietest room are probably the annex at the back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back in the Annex are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven_E007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here in early July 2013. Our room was very compact but comfortable. We happened to arrive at graduation time in Belfast so parking was a little dicey on that day but we managed just fine and were able to ultimately park in the hotel's lot. The strange thing about our room was the bathroom. While it was very up to date, it was a handicapped accessible bathroom which is fine except there was absolutely nowhere to put your "stuff" like shampoo etc while you were in the shower. A minor flaw in design.

The staff were great and breakfast the next morning was terrific. The location is also fabulous...a short walk to the commuter rail and good restaurants as well as downtown. The Titanic Museum was just 2 stops away on the train.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz4Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,164 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#2 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing