We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tara Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$100
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ten Square(Belfast)
$182
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$359
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Belfast(Belfast)
$162
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$90
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$333
$224
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,751)
Filter reviews
2,751 results
Traveler rating
2,184
462
74
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,184
462
74
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomcity centreporridgesmall hotelnespresso machinebotanic stationdvd playerstudent areabotanic gardensminute walkqueens universityexcellent breakfastoff street parkingrestaurants and barsulster museumblack cab tourcar park
Filter
Updating list...
1,573 - 1,578 of 2,751 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

while planning a family vacation in Northern Ireland, we book rooms at Tara Lodge sight unseen....I must say we all loved this place to stay....the rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The staff could not had been any nicer. The food was some of the best I have ever had. The porridge certainly was the best I've ever had. I would certainly stay there the next time I am in Belfast.

Room Tip: all of our rooms were wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My self & my husband are just back from a lovely weekend in Belfast. The hotel was great I emailed them to let them know it was our birthday & if they could give us a nice room. When we arrived we were checked in by a lovely girl, very informative & even wished us a happy birthday & said she had a bottle of champagne Cooling for us.....what a nice touch.
Room were immaculate, lovely staff & a fantastic breakfast. I eat porridge every day & I can honestly say it was the nicest porridge I've ever had (maybe it was the nip of whiskey!) there is a small car park & plenty of off street parking. Highly recommend this hotel.....ill be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Gorgeous place to stay. Rooms were of a great standard with bottled water in the room. Breakfasts were delicious too. Loads of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Would stay here again if I was booking a trip to Belfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Tara Lodge primarily due to the reviews and we were very disappointed. This hotel is a 3 star at best. The reasons: first, hotel has no a/c. Wouldn't be a problem in a quiet area, but it abuts the railroad tracks. With windows open there is continual noise of the train coming into and leaving the Botanic station. Second, Rooms are small - our signiture room had but one easy chair; closet was an Ikea-like shelving unit next to bed; small bathroom; Third - breakfast - mediocre. Buffet had dry cereal, juices and bowl of sad-looking cutup fruit. Ordered porridge - included only three slices of bananas; tried the berry option next day - a tiny 1/4 cup of berries accompanied the bowl. Last - an odd omission - no wash cloths in bathroom - not oversite, simply don't include.

We were baffled by the reviews. Is it that Belfast simply doesn't have good hotels? So we began asking our taxi drivers. They all said the the Merchants Hotel was the best in town; followed by the Europa.

The Tara Lodge is no luxury hotel. Compared to hotels in the states, its on par with a Holiday Inn - but without the air conditioning.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main building; our building was accessed outside, through the parking lot.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havaneserule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear havaneserule

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings regarding your stay at Tara Lodge. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodation.

We do not purport to be a luxury property. Tara Lodge is graded as a four star Guest Accommodation provider not a five star hotel, as the Merchant Hotel is, and as such, we price our rooms accordingly. While I would agree that the Merchant Hotel is a fabulous property, the rooms there are at least twice the cost of our rooms.

The reviews written on this site were written by your follow guests. Therefore they are the people who rate us on this site. We are really delighted that, by and large, they continue to be delighted with our accommodation and in particular the breakfast. Just look at the previous positive comments about the porridge!

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
General Manager
Tara Lodge
Belfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here recently while at a conference. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are modern, pleasant, comfortable and clean. Breakfasts good with lots of choice. The location is close to bars and restaurants, Queens university and the botanical gardens

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitaMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews