We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the staying”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Enjoy the staying”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had travelled nearly a month in Ireland and very glad to rest in Tara Lodge for strong shower and clean beds. Staffs were all nice and helpful. The hotel is very close to Queen's University and lots of restaurants around. We really enjoy the staying.

Room Tip: Make sure to check for a lift if you have large loggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    425
    71
    15
    16
See reviews for
296
1,389
141
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We are return customers of Tara Lodge for many a year now and this wee gem of a lodge serves us well. This stay however on booking a room few months back availability was limited and we had to opt for the Signature Room. Was disappointed on arrival as it did not live up to expectations and certainly not worth the price and the fact that two days prior to arrival I saw on FB last minute deals for similar room....so much for the limited availability! The room is located in the annex of the lodge near the railway line and busy road, not much sleep to be had and rooms very muggy with no air conditioning. Breakfast lovely as always however the team could learn from Colin one of the original breakfast staff, in being more attentive....coffee cups should never run dry. Most likely will be back however would not stay in Signature room truly not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAFWAG111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear RAFWAG111

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased that as a Tara Lodge regular of some years now, you will be back to stay with us despite your feelings about your visit this time round. I have sent a personal email to you and I hope that it will help to address you concerns. I completely agree - your coffee cup should never run dry while having breakfast at Tara Lodge and I'll take steps to make sure it doesn't happen in the future.

I did just want to make clear though that the dates on which you stayed where high demand dates due to a number of major concerts taking place in Belfast last weekend. We did have a last minute offer on Facebook for our Signature Rooms but it was for Sunday 19 August only! With budget hotels in Belfast charging upwards of £109 for room only last Friday & Saturday we felt that £119 for a large Double room with bottled water, IPod docking station, 32inch flatscreen TV, DVD player with a DVD library, GHD straighteners and a Nespresso coffee machine including a full freshly cooked breakfast with WiFi and free car parking was offering value for money. I'm sorry that you didn't feel that it was.

I hope that you do give us another chance!

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
General Manager
Tara Lodge
Belfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Arrived by train from Dublin, at the central station, closest stop is one stop back down the line (tip for train travelers the fare to the local station is inclusive with the Dublin Belfast ticket) then it was only a 3-4 minute walk. Arrived early and was greeted by a friendly receptionist, stored my baggage in the lockup and headed in to the center (15min walk or 2-3 minutes by bus). Room was clean, bed was comfortable over the three nights. Breakfast service was fantastic, good selection on the menu, friendly service and the glimpse I saw of the kitchen was also well organized and clean. Did a Black Cab tour and was nicely organized by receptionist. Enjoyed the smoke free policy. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel to be very professional,we used it to attend the t vital concert,it was 2 mins from train station with links to everywhere,very trendy part of town ,loads of nice places to eat,and the people very pleasant and helpful ,would definitely use the services of Tara Lodge again,if visiting Belfast ,don't miss this place

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Tara lodge is a rather anonymous looking hotel in a vibrant part of the city. The rooms and service though were excellent.

The breakfasts were all beautifully presented and tasted delicious.

Close to the hotel are numerous eating options and it has easy access to the city centre. Overall a lovely experience and all staff should be proud of what they do.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clementm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Tara Lodge for 4 nights in mid-May. We were pleased with every aspect of our stay. When we found the room a bit cool in the early morning, the staff quickly supplied a plug-in heater. When we had a medical emergency in the middle of the night, the night desk clerk (Colin, I believe) quickly lined up a cab for us and directed the driver where to take us. Rickie was also very helpful in supplying us with local knowledge. All in all, a very enjoyable experience. And it is a great location - close to Queen's University, and only a 20 minute walk from Donegal square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level facing north with a view of the central city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phikapboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squrrox99
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Decent location, near station and a 20 minute walk to town. Very clean rooms. Great service. Delicious breakfast. Good value. Ideal for exploring the city, and the free WI-fi worked!!!!! Also the location is excellent for the Kings Hall.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squrrox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,183 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 44 in Belfast
1,518 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing