We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well run and good quality budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Well run and good quality budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I'm not sure I'd go as overboard as other reviewers about this hotel. It reminds me of a Premier Inn - so absolutely fine and does what it says it does. But the room was hot and we couldn't work out how to reduce the temperature so had to sleep with the window open, which was noisy, and Wifi coverage in our room was intermittent at best. Very helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,892
    412
    68
    15
    16
See reviews for
287
1,336
139
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Tara Lodge had the no. 1 spot in Belfast when we booked, and it easily deserves this title. On arrival, the staff were great in identifying nearby attractions and restaurants for weary travellers, and the best pubs in town. The rooms are modern, spacious and well kept, and with a separate en suite bathroom. A lift is provided for those not on the ground floor. Plenty to do nearby and everything is within walking distance. The highlight of the stay is the breakfast service, with generous timings and an excellent choice of continental and hot breakfast options. I recommend the traditional Irish porridge, complete with a nip of Bushmills whiskey for the cold mornings.

I would definately stay here when next in town, well wortth every dollar spent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have been staying in the Tara Lodge whenever I could, since just after it opened (1999?).
The service, the rooms and the people (and the great breakfasts) have always been excellent, and with good restaurants and bars close by it is the perfect location for business and holidays!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CnJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Tara Lodge is exactly as described. It's not an all-singing, all-dancing place. It just does the simple stuff extremely well. The hotel itself is immaculately presented and was very well located for my needs. It's off the main drag so it's quiet, but only a short walk from the heart of the city and all the local ameneties. The staff were incredibly attentive and helpful. The breakfast was superb and included in the very reasonable price. The room was quiet, comfortable and pristine. There is a computer and printer in reception where I was able to print my boarding pass for my flight home. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had read the reviews and we are glad to say they all lived to our expectations!! ok it was about 15mins walk from the city centre but we actually really liked that! Its a slightly quieter part of the city but there are plenty of eateries around so its a great base. Our room was in the additional building next door, it was really lovely, warm, pleasant surroundings, tastefully decorated with a really nice ensuite - all refurbished recently by the look of it. They are so friendly and the breakfast is the BEST we've ever had in a hotel! I love how its waiter service and nothing is too much trouble. The choices were excellent, something to suit every palette I should think :) all in all a great stay and we'll definately stay there again. Terrific value for a great quality small hotel. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our 3rd stay at Tara Lodge and as usual we were not disappointed. From start to finish our stay at Tara Lodge was everything you'd hope for, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful (suggesting places to visit, printing out boarding passes etc). The breakfast was just as delicious as i'd remembered. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the housekeeping is excellent.

Tara Lodge is great for weekend trips to Belfast, it is only a few stops from the airport on the train and close to the train station, within 5/10 minutes you can reach the city centre.

For people looking for a place to stay that ticks all the boxes but is also good on the wallet then Tara Lodge is the place for you :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaPye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I staying here for 2 nights and we weren't disappointed.

We arrived into Belfast at Belfast City Airport in teh early evening and caught a taxi to the Tara Lodge (£10.50). Our check-in process was swift and we were allocated Room 35 (located in an annex to the side of the hotel). The room was a good size with an en-suite bathroom (shower). The hotel is spotless and all the staff were very helpful and welcoming.

Breakfast is served in a large room off of the main reception area. There is a buffet style area for cereals, yoghurts, fruit juices, etc. but all the hot food is cooked to order from varied menu. There are choices of a full cooked breakfast (sausage, soda bread, potato scone, bacon, eggs) through to pancakes, and various porridge options. The service, even at busy times, is excellent and the waiters were always very attentive were always very quick to clean and re-set any used tables.

The hotel is only about 2 minutes walk (if that) to Botanic Avenue were there's a wide range of bars, pubs, restaurants, and coffee shops.

If you're planning to head to the Titanic exhibition one easy way is to catch the train. From teh hotel it's a two minute walk to the Botanic railway station (right out of the hotel, down Cromwell Street and right again onto Botanic Avenue - the station is on the right after about 20 metres). A single ticket to the 'Titanic Quarter' was £1.50 (trains every 30 minutes on a Saturday - destination Bangor) and after alighting at the station it's about a 10 minute walk (all well signposted) to the Titanic exhibition.

A trip into the city centre is also easy and can, if necessary be walked. I'd have a guess at a leasurely 20 minute walk.

In summary, it's a great hotel in easy reach of everything you need.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing