We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Smile waiting to give you a Warm Welcome.......”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Smile waiting to give you a Warm Welcome.......”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just stayed the past weekend.
They gave us a warm welcome with a friendly smile and this was our experience throughout our stay. The room was lovely, very comfortable bed and everything you need, matches the pictures on the website. Breakfast was good and well presented.
The staff were very helpful, ordered Black cab tour for us (highly recommend )and suggested places to visit.
The location was ideal, close to the city centre, surrounded by restaurants and coffee shops.
Majella & Ed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,920
    416
    70
    15
    16
See reviews for
293
1,354
141
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MATLOCK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here after reading other reviews.

Although the immediate area around the Hotel looks in need of a clean up - the place itself is firdt class and convenient for buses into town.

The room matched the standard of most first class hotels. The breakfast room was quite basic and functional but the staff and the food were first class.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN71007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here in April this year and it was really just by chance, but we were extremely pleased with our choice. In a very charming part of Belfast with everything you could need. Breakfast was great, rooms were lovely and very comfortable, staff were delightfully Irish and very helpful.
Would recommend to anyone visiting Belfast.

Room Tip: stay in the main hotel rooms, some rooms next door were rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrick
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

rooms lovely everything you need good hairdryer, iron and board, good shower, spacious, breakfast very well presented, lovely porridge, great location close to theatres, museum, cinema (QFT, world cinema), restaurants. what can I say, cosy too, lovely staff, will be back -and we only live 12 miles away in Carrick!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My fiance, his groomsman & my bridesmaid were supposed to take a trip to belfast last Saturday to celebrate our approaching Christmas wedding, we were all really excited about our trip and had booked 2 twin rooms.

Unfortunately on Friday in work my fiance got a call that his Granny, who he had lived with from the age of 3 until he moved out out of home, had taken a turn for the worst and is dying. I am a primary school teacher and I felt unwell Friday morning and as the school day progressed I felt worse and worse. So I also rang my fiance after school to tell him that I was sick and heading straight to the doctor. I went to the doctor and I have a chest/ throat infection and I was given steroids & an antibiotic and told to rest. I am still sick today.

When my fiance heard about his granny, he rang the hotel straight away to see could we re arrange our booking, we still really wanted to go but because of the above naturally could not do it this weekend. He rang at about three o clock, just under 24 hours. He would have rang earlier except how could he predict that his granny would take a turn. She has been sick for a long time. The hotel refused to let us re arrange our stay and after much debate said they would charge us for one room and all booking charges which is over €160. I understand people cancelling for silly reasons, but we just wanted to re arrange, my fiance is genuinely going through a very difficult time. His granny is one of the most important people in his life, brought him up all his life and the hotel showed no compassion to our circumstances.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happyteacher085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear happyteacher

Thanks for taking the time to post your review.

I could give a long, convoluted explanation about how we offered to waive the charge if we were able to re-sell the cancelled rooms and how we did not charge you the full cancellation price in light of your difficulties but the truth is that we will look bad no matter what my response is.

Tara Lodge is a small, independent property trading in difficult times. Our cancellation policy is in place to protect our business and when you reserved the accommodation you agreed to this policy, no matter what. We do look at each cancellation case individually and we will always endeavour to re-sell our cancelled rooms so we do not have to enforce our cancellation policy. As you did not give us adequate notice of your cancellation, we were not able to sell all of our rooms on a Saturday night, the only night we usually do so.

I would point out that at no point did you experience bad customer service, you just did not agree with our cancellation policy.

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
Manager
Tara Lodge
Belfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My friends and I stayed two nights. It is situated in a nice location, the rooms are clean, the breakfast was tasty, and staff were friendly. It was worth it. I have friends coming to Ireland next year. I am recommending this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

From our very first contact until our check-out the folks at Tara Lodge fulfilled all of their commitments and met all of our expectations. Janine and the other folks both at Reception and in the breakfast room were friendly, helpful, and forthcoming. One thing which people with a high sensitivity to noise should know is that there is a commute train which runs behind the hotel. Janine was especially helpful to us in providing some excellent restaurant recommendations within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing