We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good all rounder. Great value for money.”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good all rounder. Great value for money.”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Booked here after reading all the reviews on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. The road is not the most upmarket, but don't let this put you off. You are literally 15 minutes walk into the centre of town and it is very convenient for transport.

Found the staff to be really helpful and accommodating and couldn't do enough for you.

The only thing the room lacked was a fridge and mineral water, but the are convenience stores literally a two minute walk away, where you can stock up. There are also bars, restaurants and a cash point to be found very locally, all along Botanic Avenue.

A very good breakfast was provided each morning, which was really good and filling. This finished at 10am, and if you left it towards the end, you may find yourself waiting for a table.

Overall a really good hotel that was very clean, comfortable and we had a really enjoyable stay. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therealrobk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,981
    431
    71
    15
    16
See reviews for
300
1,407
142
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at the Tara Lodge for two nights during our quick trip around Ireland on the Easter weekend (we were with another couple from Australia). The rooms were very clean and comfortable and exactly what we wanted. The bed was the comfiest I have slept on since comign to the UK seven months ago - I wanted to take it back to Scotland with me.

The breakfast included in the accommodation cost was very good - excellent pancakes; the reception staff were very friendly and helpful in regards to our questions about the area. Wifi was available free of charge but was a little slow and there was a wide range of tv channels on offer. My partner and I would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Belfast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

On a month long trip to Scotland and Ireland, this was the only non B&B we booked. The close, friendly attention we received made us feel like we were at another B&B. The service from the front desk was excellent no matter who was working it.
The breakfast was sensational. I tried a different one every day and each was wonderful.
Their recommendations for tours were excellent.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Difficult to know what to add to the effusive comments of previous reviewers. Location is both safe and convenient - easy walk to city centre and also well served by buses. Not sure if anyone specifically mentioned the Power Porridge (and other variants) at breakfast - excellent, and, like everything else, freshly prepared and piping hot. But the real reason for this review is to thank Janine, who, in addition to her many other accomplishments, 'pushed buttons' to such effect that she made my laptop work. Typical of a really fine enterprise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is our second time staying in Tara lodge and it is a little gem. Rooms are spotless and comfortable. Beds and pillows so comfy. DVD player is very handy. Complimentary WiFi in the room which worked well. Secure offstreet free carpark which is uncommon for a city. Tea and coffee making facilities a must for any tea lover. Breakfast includes continental plus a choice of freshly prepared cooked breakfasts. Staff are friendly and helpful and we found the location to be good and easy to find. A few min walk to the city centre but plenty of little bars and restaurants and clubs in the next street. Excellent little spot. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danipritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Like everyone else says, this place was great. We booked a room for a rate of about $110/night including a DELICIOUS made-to-order breakfast. Exceptionally friendly staff, great location for going out and seeing the city, free parking, nicely appointed quiet guest rooms, and reasonable rates.

It was a little challenging to find the place in our rental car since I was unfamiliar with the narrow Belfast city streets, but once we arrived it was great!

Room Tip: Don't worry if you arrive and see train tracks out your window. It was just a very quiet commut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyamylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The staff was just amazing. They were very helpful, and after a long flight, I was glad to be in a nice, cozy room in a quiet neighbourhood.
The breakfast selection was also really good. Overall, I'd stay there the next time I came in to town, and I've already recommended it to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 45 in Belfast
1,199 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing