We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avenue Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avenue Guest House
Ranked #3 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently stayed at Avenue Guest House, and our expectations of staying in a four star establishment were exceeded. I want a room like that back in my home in Australia. It was so comfortable and beautiful. I want someone to prepare an amazing breakfast like that every day and I want an endless supply of Roses chocolates. Everything was perfect for us and I can highly recommend Alice's hospitality if you are in the area. Must say, also, that The Barking Dog restaurant close by, as recommended by our hosts, made for an all round good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doffrey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    30
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
60
152
63
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Invermere, BC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Avenue Guest House is nicely appointed and Alice is helpful and accommodating. There are a few less positive details however. The house is on a street that has a variety of townhouses, and fortunately, many are being renovated. Many are not well kept at the moment. The location is about a half hour walk from the downtown/historic area - so not very handy for sightseeing. Although our room was very clean and well- appointed, the bed really needed to have the mattress replaced - quite soft and saggy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandL60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed at the Avenue Guest House for a week while I was at a conference at Queens University. It is lovely and Alice is great. The room was very comfortable and immaculate. The breakfasts were great. The AGH is in a classic Victorian neighborhood with good bus service to the city centre.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and it is on a quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We arrived in Belfast early in the morning and contacted Avenue Guest House to ask if we could leave our luggage as we had booked 2 rooms for 2 nights. The owner was very helpful and we found that we could leave our bags in our rooms which were already for us. The accommodation was very comfortable, with everything you could possibly need available in the room and in the ensuite bathroom. It was very clean and welcoming. The owners were most helpful particularly as we needed some assistance on the day we were leaving and were able to leave our luggage in the guests sitting room until we were ready to leave Belfast. We had a superb breakfast of scrambled egg and smoked salmon the first morning. Our eyes were bigger than our stomachs on the following morning when we ordered an Ulster fry up! We cannot recommend Avenue more highly for a great stay on my first visit to Belfast. Furthermore it is in a lovely location near to the Botanical Gardens and Queens University with easy access to the centre of town and the Titanic Museum by taxi at a reasonable cost. The only advice we have to offer is to book your evening meal in advance if you wish to eat in the vicinity, as almost everywhere we tried was fully booked in the July.
habarisana

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habarisana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I spent one week travelling around Eire and Northern Ireland and this was the best B&B we stayed in. Alice the owner was very welcoming and helpful, the room was beautiful, comfortable and clean and she had clearly thought of everything a guest might need, such as plug adapters etc. The PC access to the internet was very useful and along with Alice's advice we had a great stay in Belfast. Breakfast was also delicious with a great selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMPlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked two nights at this guest house after seeing the other reviews on tripadvisor and we are pleased to report that it did not disappoint! The location is great, it is walking distance or a short bus ride to the centre of Belfast but in a nice, quiet area with plenty of shops/cafes/restaurants nearby. The room was perfect, very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was delicious, with a good selection of hot and cold food, and Alice was a very friendly and helpful host. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location for Belfast city centre, clean comfortable room, excellent breakfast. Alice was a very friendly host with lots of knowledge of the area, the rest of the staff were lovely too especially Mark. A little gem, great place to stay. Will be back on our next visit to Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Guest House

Property: Avenue Guest House
Address: 23 Eglantine Avenue | Lisburn Road, Belfast BT9 6DW, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Lisburn and Malone roads, Avenue House is a completely refurbished Victorian Townhouse with original features retained and restored. Located in the leafy suburbs of South Belfast’s University area - 5 to 10 minutes from the city centre. 2 minutes from main bus route and within easy walking distance of The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens, Queen’s University, restaurants and bars, Avenue House is ideal for all visitors, whether it be for a short break, overnight stays or business trips. Queens university is a five minute walk from Avenue House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Avenue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing