We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Hotel”

Windermere Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windermere Guest House
Ranked #14 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very clean and tidy, very good value for money, and very friendly staff. Breakfast cooked to order, rather than just picking from a buffet. Nice real filter coffee, and proper orange juice - what a welcome change from a lot of other budget establisments!

Shared bathrooms very nicely appointed and kept very clean. The only downside is that there are seven rooms on the top floor and only one bathroom - my room was next to this, so quite a lot of coming and going. The first floor on the other hand, has four rooms and two bathrooms/toilet and a separate toilet, so the next time I come here I'll be trying for a room on the first floor!

Thanks very much, Renata and Hilary - we'll meet again!

Room Tip: Try and get a first floor room - although if you're travelling solo this will be difficult, as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    59
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
21
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. Some nice restaurants in the area. For the price it is a good deal. Conveniently close to the bus heading downtown. Excellent staff very helpful and professional -- very helpful suggestions.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J0nathan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A great room at a great price. Near the bus to town. Several abandoned and shut up houses and buildings on the block made it less appealing to come and go.
Lots of room inside the room; clean and well-kept (shared) bathrooms.
Nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly. It was quiet at night and in the morning you get a great english breakfast. The citycentre is not to far and easy to reach in some minutes by bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked a room on Booking.com, and even though the pictures there and on the website make it look more inviting than it is, for £34 you really can't complain.
The shared bathrooms and toilets were spotlessly clean (though it wouldn't hurt for previous showerers to rinse over the floor when finished) - free wi-fi was difficult to obtain on the top floor and the walls between the rooms are exceptionally thin.....I can stay home and be kept awake by someone snoring, I am not keen on paying for the privelege! Hopefully whomever was in room 9 understands why I kept banging on the wall :)
Breakfast was nice though the kitchen missed out my beans and brought toast when I said no thanks, not a major problem but I was the only one down early for breakfast so it shouldn't really have been confusing.
The bed was comfortable in my small room, but I didn't need much more space, tea and coffee was provided as was a small flat screen TV.
Please be aware that they only take CASH! - It can be a bit embarrassing when it comes time to pay.
I would advise taking either the bus (£1.90) or a taxi (£3.80) from town as the walk with luggage is a little tedious. The area is quiet and close to some lovely shopping on the Lisburn Road. All in all, good value and I would stay again but will ask for an en-suite room next time.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms make it hard to get a wi fi signal, rooms nine and ten have a thin adjoining wall so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The owner met us at the door upon our arrival and was very helpful in pointing out local restaurants and points of interest, including the Botanical Gardens and Queen's University. The room was bright and clean, although the shower was the smallest that this reviewer has ever experienced! Having said that, there is a large bathroom down the hall for those that aren't up for the challenge! The Irish breakfast that was served was filling-just what you need for a long day of sightseeing and shopping! All in all an excellent choice for a brief stay in Belfast!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Recycle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great location, very walkable to restaurants, pubs. Only complaint is the size of the shower.. We had a room with twin beds and the shower was small. I can't recall the room number, and it might just be our bad luck to get get the room with the small shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
The Gregory
#2 of 48 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
All Seasons Guest House
#13 of 48 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Guest House

Property: Windermere Guest House
Address: 60 Wellington Park, Belfast BT9 6DP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Windermere Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Windermere Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing