We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Made in Belfast Cathedral Quarter
Ranked #44 of 1,051 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Visited for the first time last night and really enjoyed the experience! Part of a group of 8, we all enjoyed the food, setting and atmosphere, not to mention the restaurants location in the Cathedral Quarter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CSferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    264
    114
    62
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great food in a quirky setting”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The four of us dined here on Thursday 22nd August, having made a reservation in advance. We suggest you do this, as we saw them turning away a few people who were just walk-ins.

As previous posters have stated, the place is really quirky and everywhere you turn, you will see something that will make you look twice.

The crab and smoked salmon was, simply divine. My husband had the mussels in the bacon and leek sauce which he said were delicious. My son had the bacon Caesar salad and my daughter had the soup. All enjoyed the starters.

In all honesty , the mains came rather quick after we had finished the starters; we would have liked a little longer between courses. My husband ordered rump steak, which we actually thought was fillet (fillet isn't on the menu!) and it was cooked exactly as he requested. Son had fish and chips which was simply massive. I had the burger which was lovely. The only disappointing food was my daughter's...the lentil and cauliflower dahl, which she said was like eating baby food! The wine was quite expensive, though very palatable. We also had the Poshmopolitan cocktail which was pricey for the size of the glass.

All in all though, we had a great meal and would return when we are in Belfast again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a very good lunch at this eclectic eating establishment. The food was very good, although in some cases a little salty. The Hake that was the "Catch of the day" was excellent. One of our party, being allergic to gluten and dairy, chose the steak, only to have it delivered covered with sauce, which of course, contained dairy...it was duly removed and another delivered without sauce. The member of our party who chose the caesar salad remarked that the dressing overpowered the salad, the only comment from the person who chose fish and chips was that "it is too much to eat". Superb starter of crab, smoked salmon, tomato jam all served with wonderful guinness wheaten bread - delicious and probably worth a repeat visit just for that. They were out of olives!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tutu48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overseasoned style over substance”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my first time eating in the Cathedral Quarter MIB and I was there for a birthday celebration. The decor and ambience were great, really quirky and unique. However, the whole experience didn't live up to my expectations. Three of our party got the flat iron steak. I can't deny the cut of meat was beautiful but the sauce covering it was so overseasoned i was continuously drinking water later that night! My fellow diners also found the majority of their meals over salty. I commented on this to our waiter who explained it was a sea salt garnish or something to that effect?!!! No apology at all really. My sister had ordered the burger which was quite charred around the edges so she couldn't eat it all. Again this was mentioned to our now quite surly waiter who gave no explanation at all - he just lifted her plate and left! We all got beer fat chips with our orders which were so crunchy they were difficult to eat. I can get better from my local chippy! We also ordered a cocktail each. The raspberry and vanilla mojito was good if a little small but the twig and berry was very disappointing. I had expected a really fruity zesty cocktail but all I got was a watery weak glass full of ice with a mild hint of alcohol and coconut! And at nearly £6 it was highly overpriced. We also had to ask for a jug of water 3 times. Overall, I won't be in a rush back to MIB.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ClareBear55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A quirky interior and good food”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The interior of the restaurant is quirky and interesting, which looks great, however the side seats at the bench are too high and it made eating uncomfortable. The staff were very friendly and the service was very quick. W had the pre-theatre early bird menu, the food was good but not outstanding, I would definitely eat off the main menu if I went again. It is a good restaurant and I would recommend it if you were in the area, however the restaurants in nearby St Anne's Square are better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Made in Belfast Cathedral Quarter also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Made in Belfast Cathedral Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing