We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mushy peas”
Review of the Potted Hen - CLOSED

the Potted Hen
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“mushy peas”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A lovely setting at st anne's square in the cathedral quarter of Belfast. Service excellent and food well presented, even if a little sparse. Too many extras to pay for and a two course meal for £15.75 can spiral out of control. If you like mushy peas do not order them here. Lightly crushed petite pois do not represent mushy peas in any way. The fish and chips were excellent, as was the confit of chicken and ham hock (a good coarse country pate). Enjoyed the ambiance and would go again. Clean and enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    219
    144
    79
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n. ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice food, ok interior, ok service”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Not a very special place to go, but good enough for families or friends going somewhere not too special. Service ok, little bit slow, fish was really nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riponbiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hard to Beat”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Been a few times and on each occasion the staff have been impeccable, the food has been amazing and a really nice atmosphere. Very rich food, HIGHLY recommend the pork belly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Finn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Is this one of the top restaurants in the U.K.?”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We ate early and had the pre-theatre dinner. My friend and I had fish, which was o.k. portions not very big. My husband had steak which was dreadful, full of gristle. When a friend complained, shoulders were shrugged and we were told that the steaks were all the same. On the second occasion, my husband had the fish and chips which could not compare favourably with any we have at home. Probably the a-la-carte menu later in the evening would have been better.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nearly amazing”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully cooked chicken and some very good cooking apart from a heavy hand on the seasoning . I was soo thirsty during this meal . My fiance loves salt to excess and thought it was salty . Service was not annoyingly inattentive but close. A real pity because I thought this restaurant has merit. I intend to give the hen a second chance soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Potted Hen also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing