We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight in the heart of the City”
Review of The Chubby Cherub

The Chubby Cherub
Ranked #23 of 1,073 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
brighton
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A delight in the heart of the City”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

It was our first evening in Belfast on a short break with four friends.
We came across the Chubby Cherub, and it immedediately looked like the place you would want to enjoy a meal in.

We had not booked, and as it was a Saturday night it was packed, but we were offered six seats if we would like to have a drink in the bar opposite. They would come over for us when a table was free, which as it happened we did not need to do as some people were just finishing their meal and were leaving.

The restaurant was small, but very cosy, and delightfully decorated.

I choose the Crab and Chilli Risotto, which was devine. The other dishes chosen were Bologneise Taglitelle, and Seafood Arrabiata, which were all extremely good.

We all decided at the end of our stay in Belfast that this was our best meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davebirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    185
    50
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Background Music!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ate here on Saturday 27th October, booked last minute so the only sittings were either 5pm or 9pm. Went for the 5pm sitting and were told we could have the table until 7pm which was more than enough time. Had the Goats Cheese Crostini and Bruschetta for starter and both were full of flavour especially the goats cheese only wish there was more which is always a good sign. Main
course was a Pollo Carne Pizza and Chicken Tagliatelle. The pizza was crisp and very tasty. The Tagilatelle was also good however my girlfriend didn't like the chicken being seved on the bone but that's a personal choice. Overall service was prompt and friendly by a waiter named "spud". The restaurants is small but with a good atmosphere. Glad we weren't seated next to the toilet on a busy night though, not far off the seating area. The menu isn't extensive but covers all the basics

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“full of flavour”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Ate here on Sunday night. Restaurant busy (although as its small doesnt take much to appear busy). Staff were welcoming and friendly.

I had the risotto of the day which was Crab and chilli and it was absolutely beautiful. Full of flavour and beautifully cooked.

Partner had pork with gnocchi, pork tasty and tender, gnocchi was lovely texture and good flavour

Wine list is very limited but we were able to find something suitable

A really lovely restaurant, quaint with excellent food. Small and intimate gives it a great atmosphere. Already looking for an excuse for another night here

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jc1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place, a slight lack of food?”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Chubby Cherub was easy to find and very cosy and cute when you were inside. I chose a pasta dish and although it was really nice and yummy, I found that the portion size was very small. Saying this, I would definitely recommend a couple to come here for a quaint romantic experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danniannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quirky, Cosy & Romantic”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wanted to take my wife somewhere romantic & different for a meal and after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor i decided on The Chubby Cherub. I was not disappointed and my wife just loved it!!! The place is very small & cosy and the food and service was faultless. It has great decor and it succeeds in creating a real intimate setting. Once inside your transported to Italy and forget all together that your in Belfast. The waiter was friendly,helpful and down to earth and immediately made us feel at ease. When i booked online i had requested a romantic table not knowing if this was going to be possible in such a small place...but the waiter led us to Cupids Corner, a little table tucked away to the right hand side of the door but still with a great view of the surroundings. The food was amazing. My wife had the muscles for starter which i think she will rave about till her dying day. The pizzas are... The best ever! I could go on and on but from service to food and ambience we had one of the most memorable evenings ever...and thats what its all about!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chubby Cherub also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Chubby Cherub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing