We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Excellent hotel and in easy walking distance of everything in Belfast. Beautiful rooms, good breakfast and good service. Would book again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenamayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Thanks for your review of our hotel. It is great that our well-located hotel and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Vikrant Tyagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

I really liked this hotel. Ok, its not 5 star but then it doesn't pretend to be. What it does it does very well hence my rating. It is clean and comfortable, modern and well kept with friendly and helpful staff. For the price the included buffet breakfast is perfectly acceptable.
Location is fine, Belfast is a small city and the city center is a 15 min walk away. The university district is safe with plenty of nice small restaurants close by.
Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unrealneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay with us. Our staff work hard to ensure our guests have a relaxing and pleasant stay, and will be thrilled to hear your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back at your next stay with us.

Regards
Vikrant Tyagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

After three pleasant overnight's at this hotel I suppose our luck had to run out. No room available at 2pm so left bags: on return at 5pm were assigned room 334. If you are assigned room 334 (probably 333 as well so check) listen for a low level insistent noise which one might imagine to emanate from some machine: the lifts are not far away but this noise does not stop/start. You might ,like us, ignore it and go on about your business. Come night and that background noise takes over your brain. It ceased shortly after 1am so we conclude the hotel has some control over the source. Unfortunately by 5am it was back. If you want a night's sleep (not an unfair return for your investment) ask for room 304 instead. We have repoprted the matter to Holiday Inn feedback (big queue at checkout so we just left). FWIW family rooms are apparently pre-allocated (whatever that means) at this hotel - so whilst there was no room ready for us on arrival families were able to check in.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foyle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. As a customer focused hotel, we take your comments very seriously and I am saddened to hear that your stay with us was not fully enjoyable. Regarding the noise comment, this was due to plumbing problem, which has now been resolved. Regarding your comment about family rooms, we pre assign family rooms in the morning as per the requirements of individual guests, i.e. some require baby-cots, sofabeds etc. I will take your comments onboard as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customers’ requirements. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience you had and hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards
Vikrant Tyagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff at the hotel was very helpful. We had dinner there and next morning we had the Irish breakfast buffet (the breakfast was included in the hotel price).

The hotel is located very close to Queens University. There are a lot of restaurants around and is a good area to walk around. We had a little bit of trouble finding the hotel since we arrived at night and it was hard to see the street signs so it is a good idea to have a printed map of the area if you don't have a GPS.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucianatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Holiday Inn Express, Belfast. As a customer-focused hotel we endeavour to deliver the highest level of service for our guests and it is great that you enjoyed our accommodation, dinner and breakfast facilities. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel.
Regards
Vikrant Tyagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Having visited Belfast in March of this year, and have thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, I decided to book another weekend for my Husband's Birthday this month (October) as a surprise.

We had previously stayed with The Premier Inn at East Midlands the night before our flight, and for our stay in the City, at the Alfred Street hotel. Our lasting impression will always be of a tremendously well run chain, with charming staff, in lovely surroundings with nothing being too much trouble, which helped to make it very special.

For our visit this month I again booked the Premier Inn for East Midlands, but tempted by the "breakast included" on the ad with Booking.Com for Holiday Inn Express, University Street,,at the same price as Premier, I admit this was unfortunately my big error!

On my booking form I carefuly typed a note saying that this was my Husband's Birthday and please to ensure that we had a nice room......

A few days before departure, I rang the hotel and asked if we could go straight from the Airport on arrival, to the hotel, I mentioned to Damion that I had paid for two nights with Breakfasts, and asked if it would be possible to have one of our two mornings breakfasts on arrival, as opposed to departure day ,which was going to be very early. He said that this would be fine, and to say he had agreed.I was pleased to hear this and anxious that the stay should be comfortable as possible naturaly.Premier Inn, had previously allowed us access to our room, though early, and we had used the restaurant for breakfast with no problem at all.

On arrival in Belfast, and wishing to make this as enjoyable as possible for my Husband, I rang from my mobile as a courteousy to say we were on our way........my error........I was told that the breakfast was complimentary, and for that mornings breakfast we would have to pay!! I explained that Damion had agreed that we should go over that morning, but she continued to argue over the phone, saying that he had no right to do that he was a trainee...........was this MY problem??.....Our arrival at Reception continued to be just as bad an experience, and the young lady who had taken my call really "dug her heels in" and said breakfast would not be possible.We were told our room wasn't ready either!

After so much fuss, we were given a breakfast, and a key to a room which we found to be not cleaned. from the previous occupants...sigh....so we struggled back downstairs to reception to point this out..so much for the Birthday gift ah?

To conlude we went on to have a nice time again in Belfast, but this unpleasant experience somehow took the shine off the weekend, which should not have happened....,

So folks, off to Belfast?. a great city to visit, with it's recent history, Titanic Quarter,fabulous shopping and some really good old traditional pubs. The area of the hotel was great for those wishing to visit part of The Golden Mile, a real abundance of nice restaurants exist there, but think twice before visiting this hotel, the experience was quite humiliating.........

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

We are disappointed and sorry to hear that the start to your break to Belfast did not go according to plan. We will be carrying out a full investigation into the circumstances surrounding your arrival. Once again I apologise for the inconvenience you had during your stay and can assure you that I will take necessary steps to avoid such an incident happening again. I hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in future.

Regards
Vikrant Tyagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Can't fault the staff, very efficient at check in. Breakfast very good selection more than adequate and better than expected. All areas very clean. Secured parking which was excellent and even let us leave the car there till 5.00 on the day of check out with no charge. Good location, just a five to 10 minute amble up to the city. Only concern was noise. It wasn't terrible but on the first night, there was a cacophony of door banging, which when considered with cheap material build quality didn't make for the most peaceful night, but the second night was fine. Why don't hotels just adjust the door openers it is so simple

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franklancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

We are delighted that your visit to our hotel was a good one, and that our location, comfortable rooms and facilities met your expectations. I will certainly look into your comments and action those that I can do something about. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express, Belfast in the future.

Regards
Vikrant Tyagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Budget hotel in quiet yet safe University area of city. Plenty of good value restaurants in vicinity.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiveTimesWinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable, and that our hotel is situated in a quiet location and very near to all the bars and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Regards
Vikrant Tyagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,372 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 44 in Belfast
1,590 reviews
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $89 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms to offer our guests more comfort & choice. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during the first phase of the building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking facilities nearby during this time. The hotel car park will re-open for guests in Autumn 2017. Please speak to a member of our team at any time during your stay for any queries or concerns. We thank you for your understanding and look forward to bringing you our enhanced facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing