We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Hotel, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Okay Hotel, Good Value”
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed a single night (we'd stayed the night before in a Hilton so it was up against stiff competition)

The location is excellent for a vist to Belfast and there is a gated car park to the rear. We got a parking spot but I doubt it has sufficient space for every resident.

The room was okay, but the bed was a little on the soft side for my liking. The breakfast was good for this standard of hotel,

Check in and out was fast and efficient.

  • Liked — Location, Breakfast
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medic143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    519
    220
    62
    54
See reviews for
289
401
59
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Rotten hotel, car park out the back makes you feel like you
are entering a prison. My bedroom was rank but bathroom was clean.

On the upside the girl at reception was OK and buffet breakfast was very good, these were the only upsides to a very ordinary hotel.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — My Room & Car Park
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offalyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

The hotel was clean and tidy and is in a good location for visiting Belfast.

Breakfast on the first day was good, but it was not that busy. On the second day it was much busier and breakfast was poor, lots of dirty tables, poor quality sausages, no glasses for the fruit juice and the toaster not working properly

However the reason why I would not stay in this hotel again or recommned it is that the walls in the bedrooms are paper thin and you can hear the TV in the next room as if you were in that room. I got woken up at 8.00am on Sunday morning due to the room next door switching on their TV to listen to the news. I was able to listen to people in the room having a conversation.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank recommended2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2008

I paid 96 pounds for a double room here.
I was given a disable room without asking me if I was happy with that. I didn't complain because I had more space.
Now, my room was connected to a different room via a wooden thin door obviously locked. I could hear the people in the other room as they were in mine. And these people... god, what a bunch of drunk low lifes. I don't know what the story was that night in the hotel, but there were drunk people all over the place making noise and annoying guests who, like me, just wanted to have a good nice sleep for the HUGE amount of money we paid. The people from the hotel didn't even have the decency of asking these terrible guests to have some respect. I know this because, since I could not sleep, I went down to reception to get some water, and met a few of these individuals messing with the water machine, completely drunk, extremely noisy and with alcohol in their hands. By the way, I found glass beer bottles all over the stairs. Both the security man on duty and the receptionist failed to say a word or put some order. This went on until 4 or 5 in the morning!!! Furthermore, since I could not sleep as I said, I again went down for a walk and was "intercepted" by a different receptionist who, perhaps mistaking me for one of their drunk guests, treated me like I was doing something wrong, patronising me and being completely unfriendly.
That's not all, at 7 in the morning, the cleaners started tidying up the room next to mine. It seemed like they were not able to do it without shouting at the same time in some strange foreign language. I could even keep hearing them when they turned on the hoover!!
Alas, a terrible terrible night for the money I spent. Or should I say waste?
Consider another option since, although the room was very nice, the rest was awful.

  • Liked — The room was nice
  • Disliked — The rest was awful
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
around Poland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

the pervasive smell of stale urine in the lobby was a surprise, but while that faded away over the next couple of days other faults became more apparent. Noise, for instance. Come weekend, and the visiting stags, the corridors echo throughout the night to the sound of slamming doors and a shouting lads. The rooms are outdated, nothing disastrous, but the sheets are synthetic, the desk is tiny and the TV channels disappointing. Internet is extra: ten quid per day. The conference room we were in was atrocious, a boxy class room affair with suffocating temperatures, prison lights and barely any windows to allow natural light. And forget a late pint, the bar closes early if the barman, as he put it, 'is getting up early tomorrow'. If all you need is a bed then this might not be a bad choice, if you're expecting anything more then good luck. Defnitely one for stags and hens on the cheap, anyone else should look away.

  • Liked — some decent pubs five mins away
  • Disliked — everything inside the hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank weisenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for two nights on 28th November. Everything was fine, the hotel was much better than we expected & there was no noise from other guests, (thankfully!)
The hotel was around 10 minutes walk from Belfast city centre, but I wouldnt let that put you off, you can always jump on the number 7 bus if your feeling lazy, or it's freezing, like when we went! Theres plenty of Restaruants & bars on the walk into the City to keep you occupied.
The breakfast at the Hotel is good, theres a choice of food to keep you going for a few hours. Also tea/coffee facilities, tv, & a hairdryer in the room, & in the bathroom theres shampoo/showergel in case you have forgoten yours!
Our bathroom looked like it had been recently refurbished, so no comlaints there.

  • Liked — comfort, & helpfullness of staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank koalas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Stayed at this hotel earlier this year on business. First of all location, its ok but the first thing I saw when walking out of the hotel lobby was a beggar being threatened by a gang. Thankfully they left him alone, admittedly the hotel has no control of this but it gives you an idea of what the area is like.

Second the hotel, its old, tired and needs renovation.

However secure parking is good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Other hotels in Belfast are better.

  • Liked — Parking
  • Disliked — Location and Run Down Rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaftlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,305 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,537 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms to offer our guests more comfort & choice. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during the first phase of the building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking facilities nearby during this time. The hotel car park will re-open for guests in Autumn 2017. Please speak to a member of our team at any time during your stay for any queries or concerns. We thank you for your understanding and look forward to bringing you our enhanced facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing