We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what it says on the tin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the shower was great, the staff were nice!
Only short walk to city centre also or quick taxi, but if you don't mind walking the city centre is accessible on foot within 15 minutes.
Perfect hotel for a short stay in Belfast! I would recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciarank186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you and all your friends and family back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay at this hotel . Central to Belfast and if you need at taxi then they are cheap. Great secure parking is an asset. The staff are very friendly and helpful . The breakfast is the normal holiday inn set breakfast but it was always hot and tasty. Someone had posted that air con should be in the rooms but wr just opened the window and it was ok. The room was never overly warm. Plenty of great places to eat on botanic avenue so you wont starve. Japanese. French. Thai. Indian. Italian. Chinese. Mexican. all within a 0.5klm. Radius. We will return to this hotel again as we like the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took advantage of all the excellent restaurants near by. Thank you for your compliments of our breakfast and you will be pleased to know that when you do return we have also added potato bread and mushrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Assistant General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in August for work. Hotel easy to find £12.40 in a taxi from city airport. To walk to centre turn right at door walk till you get to traffic lights and turn right on to botanic, pretty much walk forward for 15 mins and you are at city hall. Bed very comfy, room a bit warm, no air con or fan but hey we might only need it every 3 yrs! Staff were friendly enough. The bar food was ok ish, not quite as advertised, chicken fillet with home made chips or wedges and side salad turned out to be odd bits of chicken breast over cooked in a dry bread bun with frozen chips. Side salad was 1 slice cucumber 1/2 small tomato and 2 3cm sq pieces of lettuce

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am so pleased to hear that you found our bed's comfy and the location of the hotel convenient. I am sorry to hear that the room was too warm for you, we did get some unexpected warm weather that no one was prepared for, however, we do have fans available at reception if you are here again with those weather conditions.

I am extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your dinner here, I will speak to the staff to regarding your comments. I hope you will come and try our restaurant again next time you are in Belfast.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is quite a convenient hotel in Belfast, quite a reasonable walk to the City Centre, or short bus ride, or short train ride. Friendly reception, nice breakfast, comfortable room. It would have been an excellent if the soap in the bathroom was not in a walk fixed container.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_farnden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent Aug. 2-4, 2013 at this hotel. Our first night at 11:40pm the fire alarm went off. After a panicked awakening we hurriedly dressed went down to the lobby to have another guest tell us that it was a false alarm. I went to the desk and asked "What happened?", and was told the alarm was very sensitive, no apology. The next morning we got up to no hot water. There was also no internet in the rooms. Avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear George H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing. We are sorry to hear of the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have stayed one night in June during my short visit to Belfast.

Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter (jaaaaaysus, such a long name) is located a little bit outside of the city centre, but still within short taxi ride or a bit longer walk. Close to University and Botanic Gardens. Parking and garage is just behind the hotel.

This is quite average Holiday Inn Express, but still quite good option. In short time it will need some major refurbishment.

At the time of check-in my Priority Club / IHG Rewards Club Platinum status was recognized and letter (I know, standard procedure) from General Manager handed over. 10% discount in the bard for Platinum. No upgrades, but that's OK. It was great value anyway, so I didn't expect too much...

My room was quite comfortable and standard for HIE. 1 Double bed and sofa (I mentioned earlier not to make sofa, but they still did). Air-Condition would be good idea to have it there. Quite standard colours for HIE, which is good. Room was fresh and clean.

I am sure next time visiting Belfast I will consider to stay there again.

Room Tip: Room with sofa is more spacious and the same price offered
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am so pleased that you found the hotel value for money and the bedrooms fresh and clean. I am sorry to hear that you found the room slightly too warm, we were experiencing some warmer than expected weather. We do have fans available at reception if you are here again during some warm weather.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Yes this isnt a bad hotel but it isnt good neither. The theme of the hotel is typically Holiday Inn express but I notice some difference with this one. The wI-fi is terribly slow which makes it difficult to carry out work from the hotel lobby or in the room, both sets of network didnt really work. The rooms or at least the room I was in for 2 nights was warm and sticky, allowing no air to circulate even with the window open, for this kind of hotel I would have expected climate control or air conditioning. The break fast is probably one of the worst I have tasted, bacon very fatty and salty, scrambled eggs were terrible, absolutely dry and no flavour, beans were stewed etc etc. I think Holiday Inn Expresses shouldnt try and do a cooked breakfast as they nearly always do it poorly, might as well stick to the continental, which would have been ok if the toaster hadnt jammed and set on fire. It is however, a good location and is very clean.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Andrew S,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. We work hard to create memorable guest experiences but it is unfortunate that this visit was less than satisfactory for you due to the ventilation in your room and Wifi connection being sub standard. We will work on addressing these issues and definitely will consider your review for upgrades needed.

I sincerely hope that the next time you are in the area you will give our hotel another try.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,372 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 44 in Belfast
1,590 reviews
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $89 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms to offer our guests more comfort & choice. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during the first phase of the building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking facilities nearby during this time. The hotel car park will re-open for guests in Autumn 2017. Please speak to a member of our team at any time during your stay for any queries or concerns. We thank you for your understanding and look forward to bringing you our enhanced facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing