We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No ventilation made for a really stuffy stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“No ventilation made for a really stuffy stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We've stayed in HI and HI express a few times, and this is the first one in which there was no heater/air con system in the room. The weekend we stayed here was a warm one, but there seemed to be no relief from the heat in the rooms - no fans were available from reception, no in room controls and the window, for safety reasons, doesn't open very far at all.

That said, however, if you're not staying here on a hot weekend, I'd recommend it. The hotel is well placed in Belfast, in the University quarter. The surrounding area does look a bit run down, and in need of some serious TLC, however the hotel was clean and comfortable. The car park to the rear of the hotel was good too, with plenty of spaces. The hotel is situated a short walk from the city centre, and is close to the Botanic gardens also. There seemed to be a selection of Titanic themed gifts available to buy from reception - their prices seemed in line with the Titanic exhibition, if not a little bit cheaper which I was surprised at.

The hotel had friendly staff, and a good choice for breakfast. Free WiFi was also available which came in handy when booking tickets for things like Titanic online. Not sure if I could really stay there longer than 2 nights, however, as the mattress we had wasn't the most comfortable in the world, and we both woke up feeling sore, so maybe new mattresses are needed?

Would stay here again, if it was for a short term stay (1-2 days)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    504
    206
    61
    53
See reviews for
275
386
53
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

For 1 night i would not hesitate to go back to the hotel but not a 3 night stay.
Staff were excellent, food was a expected, overall hotel facilities good , but unfortunately one of the most uncomfortable beds i have ever slept in, no shelves or drawers to allow you to empty your luggage, and no ventilation / Air conditioning so extremely uncomfortable heat overnight.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Norman M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always very grateful for our guest’s feedback and are particularly pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay.

I was delighted to read that despite your dissatisfaction with our beds, you were still able to enjoy your stay with us. I apologize for the shortfalls, nevertheless, I am glad that you were satisfied with most of the features provided.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

A very nice hotel, reception staff are very helpful, room clean, good breakfast, although not in a very nice street, just around the corner are plenty of bistros, coffee shops and restaurants, walk to city centre 15-20 minutes, if you want a value for money hotel without paying central rates would recommend this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn in early June in order to attend the passport office on the saturday for my daughters first passport. We were reluctant to travel with our 2 and 5 year old daughters, however this hotel and its staff took the stress of out of it!! We were met by polite, warm, pleasant staff who immediately made it feel like a home from home!! We had a room with a double bed and a fold out bed for our daughters. The room was spotless and large and air conditioned!! It is a 30 second walk from the hotel swimming pool. Good choice of televison stations. Our daughters were so happy playing in the evening in the pool and exploring the hotel. The staff could not do enough for us even giving directions!! Would recommend this value for money (without feeling cheap) hotel to all families especially with young kids as it made our trip! Thank you to all the staff and we WILL be back!!!! PS Our daughters loved the pancake machine at breakfast!!

Room Tip: Specific if need extra bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Collette_L762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed there just for one night, the room was clean. Lunch options were limited, but the food I had was nice. Buffet breakfast was good, enough options there. The staff I met were really nice and helpful.

The hotel has a good location, close to all the bars and restaurants at the University Quarter. City center (City Hall) is 15-20 min, Titanic Quarter 40-45 min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glemmy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance of city centre, In a nice area with plenty of bars and shops on main road. The hotel it self is as you would expect from holiday Inn, Nothing to fancy just somewhere clean tidy and easy to use.
The reception staff were helpful and polite so too all the staff we encountered during our stay for Belfast Pride weekend.
The room was clean comfy and all you needed was in there, Bathroom too was big enough and lots of towels provided.
We had a double room with another pull out bed which was very handy for us, Great view of the city centre also on 3rd floor.

Overall I would stop here again when visiting Belfast.

My one little bug bear was the noise from the corridors at night, but thats not the hotels fault, loud other guests!
Do not know if hotel could sound proof rooms any further?

Great stay and check out was a breeze. Thanks a lot!

Room Tip: Ask for a room 3rd floor facing city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrybakeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kindom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

stayed there 4 four nights . very clean and staff very helpful . breckfast was good .very close to resturants and cafes .about 15 mins walk to city center . taxi only 4 pounds . im glad i picked here . i enjoyed my stay :]

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarybKindom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#18 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking during this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing