We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Express Hotel for Belfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance of city centre, In a nice area with plenty of bars and shops on main road. The hotel it self is as you would expect from holiday Inn, Nothing to fancy just somewhere clean tidy and easy to use.
The reception staff were helpful and polite so too all the staff we encountered during our stay for Belfast Pride weekend.
The room was clean comfy and all you needed was in there, Bathroom too was big enough and lots of towels provided.
We had a double room with another pull out bed which was very handy for us, Great view of the city centre also on 3rd floor.

Overall I would stop here again when visiting Belfast.

My one little bug bear was the noise from the corridors at night, but thats not the hotels fault, loud other guests!
Do not know if hotel could sound proof rooms any further?

Great stay and check out was a breeze. Thanks a lot!

Room Tip: Ask for a room 3rd floor facing city
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrybakeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

stayed there 4 four nights . very clean and staff very helpful . breckfast was good .very close to resturants and cafes .about 15 mins walk to city center . taxi only 4 pounds . im glad i picked here . i enjoyed my stay :]

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarybKindom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent one night here last Sunday (7th) before an early morning flight back to Manchester having spent the weekend in another part of Ireland. Have to say the young lady on the check in desk was lovely, very friendly and gave us adjoining rooms with the other two friends we were traveling with. The car park was secure behind the hotel and though our rooms were tired and the bathroom very small it was fine for a one night stop over as it was clean. I liked the choice of soft or firm pillows on the two single beds! Left too early for breakfast so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Service adequate-room suitable for a short stay-good value -breakfast poor choice of hot food -fruit out of a tin type other than fresh fruit-slow clearing & cleaning of dining room tables at breakfast time-good parking facilities-overall rating average

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Frank O,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment you had with our facilities and the service you received. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here with 8 friends for a weekend of partying in Belfast. Clean, compact and great value,
Staff are extremely friendly and had no problem serving us pints at 2am!
Breakfast was good and the free taxi phone is a great idea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KopGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Whilst the hotel was reasonable in most respects, the location was poor, it is totally in the wrong place for getting to the shopping area of Belfast, unless by taxi. There are a choice of Restaurants within a 10 minutes walk. But the hotel restaurant lacked a good choice and the food was distinctly average. Other amenities were OK. Rooms were generally clean and reception staff were quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonny503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Sonny503790,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the location of the hotel. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed with my husband and 2 kids (8 & 2) in what was described as a family room, what we got was a double room with a sofa bed perfectly adequate for two young kids but the mattress was old and worn and would have been uncomfortable for an adult.

The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful any request we had where met with smiles and completed quickly a real asset to the company.

The small on site restaurant opened for brief periods through out the day we thought we would use it a lot because of the kids eat free offer but the food wasn't tasty enough for us to eat there a second time just average pub grub at slightly higher pub prices.

The free breakfast was great lots of choice both continental and cooked were fresh tasty and topped up regularly, it didn't get overly busy I imagine because it was open for around 3 hours if I remember correctly.

The location is out of the way but it is reflected in the price and if you don't mind walking for 20mins to get to the centre i wouldn't rule it out, the taxis are not expensive and the service is quick. It cost around £5 to the Shankill and to the Crumlin road, £7 to the titanic museum.

This was our first stay in a 3 star hotel and other than not having a mini bar or dressing gowns I didn't notice much difference from 4 star, maybe just the pillows which were thin and hard I had to ask for extra because they were so flat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalaforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,372 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 44 in Belfast
1,590 reviews
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $89 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms to offer our guests more comfort & choice. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during the first phase of the building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking facilities nearby during this time. The hotel car park will re-open for guests in Autumn 2017. Please speak to a member of our team at any time during your stay for any queries or concerns. We thank you for your understanding and look forward to bringing you our enhanced facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing