We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for city break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Medway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good base for city break.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the city centre and a 5 minute walk from the Ulster Museum which is a must. All the staff were very friendly and keen to know what we thought of their city. There is a room to leave luggage as we arrived before check in time. Our room was clean and did the job. No complaints about buffet breakfast.
We got a joint ticket from City Sightseeing Tours so we could have a city tour by bus and then a day long trip along the coast to the Giant's Causeway. We also went to the Titanic Exhibition. It was half term so it was a little manic and the cafe had run out of most sandwiches and the soup.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DART193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    509
    209
    62
    53
See reviews for
281
392
55
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Enjoyed our stay in this value for money hotel. I would recommend it to my friends. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff friendly and efficient. The free parking was a welcome added bonus as parking is limited in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashhebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

With budget hotels I suppose something has to give and for the Holiday Inn it is the breakfast.
The Pros - On-site parking, close to night-life, late check-out (noon), clean rooms, efficient reception staff.
The Cons - The breakfast was the worst I have had in any hotel - no soda bread, potato bread, fried eggs, black pudding or marmalade. Tea/coffee all from machines. Cheapest sausages money can buy. I've seen other hotels cater breakfast for more people with less staff and at a similar price. I also don't like have cleaning products sprayed in my vicinity when trying to eat. The bed was a little small which was fine for us but may be an issue for larger folk. I get the feeling the bread toaster doesn't do the environment any good and the corridor lighting is OTT.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thep0stman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear thep0stman,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am so glad you liked the great location of our hotel and the cleanliness of your room. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the breakfast options we offer as well as the services you encountered. I am also sorry for the unusual condition of your bed and the corridor lighting that affected your stay negatively. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times before and found it a great place to base your self for getting around.
The staff are great and very helpful.
Breakfast is a ok but its pot luck on what you get to what left.
The hotel was having a small revamp so a little bit of noise and dust but staff did tell us about it .
Will stay here again next time I'm over as you can't beat the price and location

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here on a night out it was everything we needed. The bed was a little uncomfortable but I really cant think of any other complaints. There is secure on dite car parking which in that area is a great attraction. Braekfast was selfservice buffet which was average but served until noon great for the morning after. All in all not a holiday hotel but for a few nights in the city perfect. We will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSteede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our first stay here though not our first in Belfast as we regularly travel there to watch ice hockey. We booked this hotel as it was the best deal we could find for this very busy week end in Belfast.

The city centre was easily walkable though with taxi fares so low (from £3.50 to £5 for five of us in a black cab) it was also easy to be lazy!

Our flight gets us into the city very early but leaving your bags was no problem. Our rooms were clean and we had plenty of room - three people sharing was fine (double bed and sofa bed) and the bed was actually very comfortable. When we asked for extra towels these were delivered to the room within minutes. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a hairdrier too - making week end packing easier.

Reception is light and airy - bar doubles as the breakfast room - plenty of sofas to rest on too. Breakfast (included in the cost) was much better than we expected with bacon/scrambled eggs/sausage/beans plus fruit, cereal, croissant/buns/bread etc - and we had expected just continental! We were also impressed that breakfast is available until 12.00 at week ends (just as well as night life in Belfast makes getting back to the hotel in the small hours almost compulsory).

The bar is also open until about 3am and prices are lower than in most hotels we have stayed in - and the barman was very chatty and helpful considering the time.

We would certainly look at this hotel first the next time we fly to Belfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagentaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Efficient check-in and very friendly staff. We arrived hours (5 hours!) before check-in time after an early morning flight, and the reception staff went out of their way to ensure we were able to leave our bags somewhere safe and requested the cleaning staff to service our rooms early so that we could access them. I would definitley use this hotel again if I return to Belfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#16 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking during this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing