We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"off to belfast the brides treat"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"off to belfast the brides treat"”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

the bride and i had 3 days at the holiday inn express in belfast,we had a wonderful time and the staff made us feel very welcome and couldnt do enough for us...the hotel is a fairly modern one
and pleasing to the eye..our room was very clean and clean towels daily..it was a buffet breakfast
you just help yourself..there was a couple of things that i wasnt happy with the bed it was a little soft a firmer bed would have been much better second there is road works outside the front of the building and they start work early!!! so dont expect to stop in bed all day..the city centre is about 15mins walk from the hotel we decided to use the citysightseeing tour bus and im so pleased we did for £12.50 each we had a one and a half hour journey around belfast with a talking host..i cant recommend this highly enough and you can use your pass the next day to...we had a fantastic stay and loved belfast we never experenced any trouble in any form
and would love to return one day

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pushback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad you & your bride enjoyed your stay. The city bus tour is very popular and I am happy you had a good time. I am sorry about the road works outside the hotel but unfortunately this is beyond our control.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    517
    219
    62
    54
See reviews for
289
400
59
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at ths hotel and we will without doubt be back when we next visit Belfast. We stayed in a few othe hotels in the city and this one ticks all the boxes. Staff friendly.Booked in at 10.30am and was allocated a room straight away.Very clean and the beds are so comfortable.The bathroon was a good size and had a fantastic shower. Although the hotel seemed to be busy it was very quiet at night,so you could be assured of restful sleep. Breakfast excellent and plentiful. Great location with lots of nice resturants and 15min walk to city centre. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to explore Belfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizzylizzyspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to leave your great review. Thank you for your return custom & I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. On your next visit please ask a member of the team about our Priority Club so you can earn points or air miles every time you stay at one of our hotels.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Definately one of the cleanest hotels I've stayed at. Staff are friendly (but most Belfast people are!). Check in at 2pm but allocated us our room at 9am, great. Breakfast is more than adequate and finishes at 10am and 11.30am on a weekend, so no rushing down to catch it.The location is fine, being from Belfast, I was maybe too critical. The Botanic Avenue end of University Street is trendy and studenty with loads of places to eat. It's about a 15 min walk into the city centre. Handy for all the atttractions too. Would def stay again.

Room Tip: Best not to get a room too near the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay & you found the hotels cleanliness to be of a high standard. I will pass your lovely comments to the staff in particular the housekeeping team.
I hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My friends and I stayed for three nights at this hotel. The room was clean and had everything we needed. It was quiet so there were no problems getting a good night's sleep. Location was good, close to the botanical garden and Ulster Museum, about 10-15 mins walk to the center and Europa Bus station. Staff were really nice and helpful! Breakfast buffet in the morning was great! Only negative thing was that Wi-Fi did not work in the rooms. There was a decent internet connection down in the lobby though. Wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miseyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay & that you would come & stay with us again. I apolgise for the wifi connection we were in the process of changing to fibre optic which is now completed.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrylin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here with friends and family on Saturday night, we had a great time, the staff were very helpful and welcoming, rooms were excellent for the price and buffet breakfast in the morning was amazing, could not fault this hotel at all, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & that you received great value for money.
I hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a typical HI Express that does what it says on the tin. It is situated, I believe, within the student quarter of the university (hence the address!). It's quiet tho during my stay. No problem at all, not too far away from the attractions. But one caution - the layout of the car park is perculiar. The parking space is quite small IMO that needs some tricky manuouver, depending on where you park. My only avice is to arrive early so you can find an easy pakring lot.And the breakfast area must be one of the most spacious ones I've been to among all HI Express. That's nice! Dont mind staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ribena66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay & I hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We booked into the Holiday Inn Express about 3 on Friday afternoon, May 25, 2012. About an hour later, we heard some banging on one of the doors in the corridor, a man screaming, "Steven, get up! Steven, Steven, get up!!"; and this went on for about 15 minutes. It abated for a bit, then started up again. I looked out into the corridor, and there was a man in his underwear, banging on the door again for Steven to "get up!". I asked him if he would mind keeping his voice down, to which he said, "Whatever..", and continued to make noise..!

We called down to reception and were told, "Well there is a hen party and a pre-wedding group there celebrating, we're sorry about the noise and we'll send someone up."
After waiting 15 minutes more (all the while the noise continued), my husband went to reception and insisted on transfer to another hotel. If they were acting like this at 3 in the afternoon, we didn't want to imagine what it would be like later on!

Long story short, we transferred to the central Holiday Inn, and had a very pleasant stay there.

I do not recommend this hotel as the staff did nothing to control these rowdy guests.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure there are no bachelor/bachelorette parties booked at the same time as your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunset07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am really sorry for the inconveniance caused by the group that were staying at the time. I can assure you that the staff were doing what they could to keep everything under control but unforunately with no success.
I regret that you felt you had to leave the hotel but I am happy you enjoyed your stay with the Holiday Inn.
I hope this incident hasnt deterred you from staying with us again in the furture.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,300 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,532 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms to offer our guests more comfort & choice. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during the first phase of the building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking facilities nearby during this time. The hotel car park will re-open for guests in Autumn 2017. Please speak to a member of our team at any time during your stay for any queries or concerns. We thank you for your understanding and look forward to bringing you our enhanced facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing