We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saggy mattress hell!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel is basic but very clean but the beds are so uncomfortable - time they had new matresses as they sag and you roll into middle. My back suffered!

Staff excellent, location good, price reasonable for inner city, food basic but OK.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheffield51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Thank you taking the time to write your review. Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconveniance caused due to the mattress in your room, I am a bit surprised by this as the hotel was completley refurbished in May 2010 & the beds & mattress are all just over one year old.
I would be grateful if you could contact me by email with your room number so as I can investigate further. My email address is jackie@exhi-belfast.com.
I will look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

We are just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel, was our first time in belfast and was brilliant. we got to hotel early, and the two girls behind the desk had no problem cheacking us in early which was great!! park the car in the very secure carpark and headed off to city which took us bout 15 mins as we were just strolling along. breakfast in the morning was brilliant no shortage off anything. so over all had a wonderful stay and we will go back for sure!!

Room Tip: Rooms were lovely not that big but what more would you want only a bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review. Myself & the team are delighted you enjoyed your stay & that the cooked breakfast was plentiful for your day ahead. I hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

stayed here for 1 night on 27th july. was very reasonably priced especially with free breakfast and free parking. the walk to city centre took just over 10 mins. the staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. the city bus tour which we booked through the hotel collected us outside the hotel. the room was good size and modern. the travel cot we requested was extremely clean and brand new looking. we requested extra pillows and they were brought up to room within 5 mins. would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishtank5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Thank you for your great review I am glad you enjoyed your time at the Holiday Inn Express Belfast Queens Quarter. I will pass your comments to the team who will be delighted. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Thanks again
Jackie Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We visited Belfast for a Lions Clubs International Convention at the Waterfront Convention Centre. The Holiday Inn Express Belfast was a great Hotel, with very efficient and friendly staff. The room was extremely comfortable and the Hotel even provided free car parking on site. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYLVIA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Thank you for writing your great review. We really appreciate the positive feedback. I hope to welcome you back if your travels ever take you to Belfast again.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here over the Easter break with my husband and 2 boys. The Hotel has been re-vamped since our last visit - lovely open plan modern feel to the place. Location was great for us, just a short walk to Ulster Museum and Botanic Gardens, both of which the boys (age 4 and 6) loved and Botanic Gardens has a great play park too. We wandered aroung the University area where there are loads of coffee shops and restaurants and we had a tasty and very reasonably priced dinner. Rooms very clean, large bathroom, tea/coffee and large flat screen tv, all we needed to make our stay comfortable and enjoyableand a secure car park. Buffet breakfast each morning set us up for our day trips. Hope to get back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us & that you are regular returning customers. The team work very hard to maintain our newly refurbished hotel & I am delighted you appreciate this. I will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Stayed here with 7 other guys on a stag weekend. (a mature group). anyways great hotel and was close enough to the bars and restaurants - 5 min walk. bedrooms very clean. cleaner helpful too as she got me an extra pillow for the 2nd night. bar staff were friendly and overall was excellent. The food was excellent, however, i would have like the fried egg instead of scrambled. There was a space in the food compartments for maybe those. (wasnt a problem though) i would definately stay here again if i was in belfast. there is two computers as well to allow you to go online - £1 for 10 mins. It is also cleaned thoroughly as i seen the cleaner down on her hands and knees scrubbing the bathroom floor.

Room Tip: really tidy, clean, great hotel and i am fussy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonderry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your excellent review. I will pass your comments unto the staff especially the housekeeping team. The next time your here please dont hesitate to ask a member of the restaurant team for a fried egg as we will be happy to cater to this.

Thanks again
Jackie Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night, and picked it as it was slightly out of the centre and included free parking and breakfast. Because of this, it was particularly good value. The hotel itself is modern, the rooms are clean and of a decent size and the staff were very helpful. The centre of Belfast (shopping, etc) are about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. We found it a great base, and the breakfast in the morning kept us going for nearly the whole of the day!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill46Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressbyHolidayInn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Thank you for your positive review. I am glad you were happy with the service you received from the staff & that our hearty cooked breakfast set you up for the day. The staff work very hard to ensure all our customers recieve good value for money & they will be delighted with your comments.

Kind Regards
Jackie Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 46 in Belfast
3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 46 in Belfast
1,642 reviews
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#24 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $79 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms to offer our guests more comfort & choice. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park is now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing