We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Went here last sunday for a nice dinner with the plans of staying the night in the hotel, heard it had be all refurbish and thought i would treat the family to a night in a nice hotel.

Went into the bar area as we where going to get something to eat, theres was no1 on the bar and had to wait for about 10 mins just to get a drink, got my drink and that was great, i then took another 15 mins for someone to come and take are order for food baring in mind there was only us and 2 other people in the bar area, We ordered are food i got the steak and my partner got the steak sandwich and my wee boy 21 month old order from the kids meau (7.50 to order from the kids menu) and wings to start, the wings cam out first and we finished those 3 members of staff walked past are table seen the empty plates and just walk on and left them on the table, baring in mind its hard enough to keep a 21 month old child happy but when your table is cluttered with empty plates its a little harder, it then took an hour and 10 mins for the rest of are food to come out, when it came the pasta and the chips looked like it had been sitting under the heat lamps for about 30 mins as the chips were greeny grey and the pasta was dry and awful, the steak was ok. Any way that was that, we then asked for the bill and it came to £71 for a steak a steak sandwich kids pasta chicken wings 2 pints of beer and a glass of wine, we paid are bill and needless to say we didnt stay in the hotel and went some where else, if it was £71 for what we got i was scared to spend the night. Also the bar area had no atmosphere and it was very boring, we had went into watch the football also but it was that boring we left at half time.

Any way it could have been an of day for these guys but it was not a good experience for me regardless of having an of day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi Dwain A
I am sorry to hear that you had a poor experience in our bar when you visited. Since then we have constructed new ways of working to ensure that there is always a person if not more available to all our guests in the bar and that no guest is left unattended. We have been reviewing all our standard of practice to ensure that we meet the requirements of all our guests, including and especially guests with children. I hope that you do return to see the improvements we have made since your last experience. Many thanks for the feedback provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Last time we stayed they were in the middle of a huge refurbishment so it was great to come back and see what a good job had been done. Reception, Bar and Dining areas look fantastic. Room very comfortable and complimentary water a nice touch.
Breakfast was exceptional with great choice of fruit and tasty, well presented,freshly cooked hot food served to table. Waiter was very friendly and helpful.
Only gripe we had was the manner the bar was closed up and handed over to night porter. It might have been better to have informed clients that the bar will close, offer option of a final drink and explain who will look after any further orders and where you can sit! A 'softer', more customer friendly approach maybe? Residents should not be thrown out of the bar by a grumpy, unsmiling girl in a suit who obviously wanted to get the till closed and door locked as quickly as she could! Aided and abetted by a grumpy bar man!
On the up side this is a lovely area of Belfast to stay - close to centre but nice and quiet with easy parking. It is a pity that an overall good experience can be marred by the bad attitude of a few.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi FermanaghKeys,
So glad to hear that you really had exceptional breakfast .We want to be exceptional at all things in the Hotel. I am completing training with the team and hope that the experience that you encountered does not happen again and that all residents get a final order call prior to close up and hope that this is not an issue in the future again. Hope to see you back soon at the Malone Lodge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed in the Malone Lodge Hotel for two nights to attend a sporting event. The rooms are very nice and kept clean. The staff here are very helpful and even recommended nearby restaurants for us. The location is great - plenty of restaurants, bars and shops just around the corner. There are only two small faults with the hotel. The first is that the car park is not signposted (its down a very narrow 'lane' at the side of the hotel and is very small - there is an underground car park available also but no signage for it. The second is that the chefs poached eggs are very runny - even if asked for well done. Go for your eggs scrambled if you're squeamish! Otherwise the food and service are excellent. Would definitely recommend for a central place to stay in Belfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggy_blue_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi ziggy_blue_dog,
Thanks for the really constructive feedback. I will be taking time to ensure that we do sign post our Car Park and shout about it as it is a real luxury to have one at a hotel especially in the city! I will also pass you comments on to the chef in regards the eggs so that the next time you come to stay you will be loving them! Hope to see you back again soon in the Malone Loge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

What can I say, I cannot fault this hotel, we stayed for 2 nights and the service we got from Daryl on reception was faultless, original room did not have a bath and after a very difficult day I asked if there was another room with a tub, we were upgraded to a suite with a jacuzzi. The suite was lovely and just what we needed. The staff at breakfast were great and food lovely. Reception helped print off boarding passes etc, overall above and beyond what I've had at other hotels.
Will return to the Malone on my next trip. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi CarrieRobinson
It is always a pleasure to hear such great feedback on the team and the Hotel and that you took the time to pop it on Trip Advisor is just Fab!
We cannot wait to see you back for your next stay and hopefully Daryl will be there to wow you again at check in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our family stayed in an apartment earlier this month. Initial impressions at check-in are that it's a wonderful hotel. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately the experience in the apartments does not come close to matching the impression the hotel gives. The apartment building is surrounded by run down and grimy streets that are certainly not very welcoming. Once we walked into our apartment (202) we realised we had made a mistake. The carpets were not clean and badly need replacing. In fact the whole apartment needed a thorough refurbishment. The signs of wear and tear are everywhere, poorly regulated shower fittings, lamps not working. We are not clean freaks by any measure but we would not contemplate letting our children walk around barefoot.
After a broken nights sleep due to a young man buzzing the wrong door bell we were woken around 8am by the sound of the garage roller door opening and closing a few times. If you stay in 202 you are directly over the roller door and you will not sleep if residents are entering or leaving the building by car. Thankfully we were only booked in for one night, we would not have stayed for more.
On a more positive note at check out I was asked if we had a pleasant stay. When I outlined the issues we had the reception manager (Marta) dealt with me in a very polite and professional manner. I wish I had read the reviews on here before we had booked the apartment.

Room Tip: Avoid 202 as you are over the roller door into the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddysFamilyOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hi PaddysFamilyonTour,
I am sorry that you did not have a wonderful experience in our apartments. We are working tiresly to ensure that we keep our standards high not only in our Hotel but also the Apartments too. We have since your stay ensured that a deep clean of the rooms you stayed in has been carried out. We have also done retraining with the Front office team on allocation of rooms. I am glad to hear that Marta was able to deal with your complaint in a professional manner and we do hope to see you back again soon to show you the improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here last wkend for my b/f's birthday....Everything about the hotel is fab from check in to check out....we stayed in an apt across the road from the hotel and it was warm,clean and spacious...would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalaa438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thanks so much for your great feedback I will be sure to pass it on to all the team here at the Malone Lodge Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I dont know where to start to review this hotel. Prior to our arrival we were helped immensely via email. Then on our arrival we were greeted by the friendliest staff. We arrived in our room to a beautiful fruit platter because the staff were aware of the reason for our stay. It was a beautiful touch. The room was state of the art with the extra little touches I had never seen before! The bed was super comfy and it was a large sized room. The shower was so powerful and just so refreshing! We dined in the hotel restaurant and it was stunning as was the breakfast on the following three mornings. You could see the food being cooked, the staff were a wealth of knowledge about the area and always willing to guide you in the right direction.

Room Tip: We were at the front no noise, and very warm and cosy! couldnt comment on the other rooms but i gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marandpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Hi marandpad,

Thanks for the excellent review. We try to offer exceptional experiences to all our guest and ensure that the little touches we provide allow you to see how much we really care about you and all our guests. I am so glad that we were able to cater to all you needs and made you stay so wonderful. We hope to see you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,634 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 45 in Belfast
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 45 in Belfast
1,415 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#17 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $102 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotel. Our newly refurbished Knife & Fork Grill restaurant can accommodate up to 80 guests and was ranked in the top 5 steak houses in Belfast recently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing