We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Fair enough”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our in-laws won a free nights’ accommodation (including breakfast) the Malone Lodge Hotel - how lucky is that?
When they decided to utilise the voucher they treated another family couple to the same package as it was their wedding anniversary and certainly worthy of celebrating.
My husband and I did not stay overnight, but viewed the rooms which were fine, though not outstandingly fabulous!
We did have a meal in the restaurant, the new “Knife & Fork Deli” and I'm delighted to report it was very enjoyable; excellent service and lovely ambience. Unfortunately there didn't seem to be many around for a Friday night - the bar had only 3/4 clients, and the restaurant another table of 4 and 2. There was however a large party to swell the numbers and they arrived about halfway through our meal - all gentlemen (very well behaved) - possibly 16 or so in number? But I’ll tell you more about that in a restaurant review!
There’s little doubt our friends weren’t allocated a room in the new executive wing of bedrooms, and they certainly weren’t in the Presidential suite – even though they would have tried given the opportunity! But, don’t get me wrong – not one of the party of four staying over had cause for complaint – they were very comfortable and informed us that breakfast was good.... they slept well too, so everything was fair enough!

It was rather a shame though to find a large skip just outside the front door on the pavement when we arrived so needless to say 1st impressions weren’t all that good.

The foyer and lounge area (just inside the front door) is indeed “spacious and luxurious” as stated on the web and the situation of the hotel is also described “to a T”; within easy reach of Belfast city centre (possibly 30 minutes walk / short walk followed by a bus ride or via taxi; yet within minutes of the main routes out of the city.
It’s not far to the Lisburn Road either which offers a plethora of shopping opportunities and eating establishments (3/4 minutes), and turning left (in the opposite direction) upon leaving the front door you can easily walk to view the beautiful Queens University building other, the Ulster Museum and Botanic Gardens .

The Hotel is located in a residential area though, so don’t be expecting roaming gardens or sitting to relax whilst watching the world go by! Sometimes it can be quite difficult to get a parking space close by too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valtpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    409
    171
    82
    52
See reviews for
304
539
47
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

previously i had written saying we were very disappointed in a meal we had received ,, we usually enjoyed coming here for a quiet relaxing evening,but the food that night was terrible.......but that is now well and truly in the past, tonight we went for a bar food hoping to suss out if it had improved because next week we want to have a family meal for our sons confirmation well it was excellent improved 10 fold , complements to the chief and waiter staff we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and now look forward to next Sunday evening......love the new decor all looking great :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01caolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was under reno & stayed at the apartment. To our surprise...its a fully furnished unit at a steal - £79 per night! Bed was clean, & you can find all you need - from washer, cooking stove, microwave, oven & even comes with 2 LCD TVs! Only disappointment was the instant heater, you have to take very quick shower in a cold weather! Otherwise, hot water runs out in a split of second. Overall, a B&B worth considering....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esBONde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. Appartment was fine but not like the pictures on the web site . We didn't have a bay window but ended up in the attic. The bedroom and bathroom were good but room with kitchen units and couch was along room and smelt damp. In addition the bedroom was adjacent to the lift and if we hear ' going up, second floor ' one more time I think we will go mad. This is not really acceptable. Parking was fine, no problem at all and resteuarantswere very good in the area ESP bourbon at queens and deans on queens.

Breakfast pack was four packs of cereal and one pint of milk for 4 days so we didn't gain weight!
Have experinced better apts in the area. Maybe when the hotel is complete we might look for an offer and try it again as staff are keen to help and area is great.

Room Tip: Don't go for 704 and 707 as lift will talk all night if in use and small sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sluke-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at the Malone Lodge Apartments which was fine. It was really nice to have a lounge, kitchen etc as we were over in Northern Ireland for the best part of a week. The bed was comfortable and the shower great!

The restaurant was closed due to a major refurb in the hotel itself but we were provided with breakfast packs which were fine for purpose.

My only gripe is due to the contractors vans taking up up the large majority of the upper and underground car park, we had serious issues with parking. The local streets are always chocka block with cars so you need to ensure that, if you're driving, the works are finished before you go. If the refurb is still happening, you will really struggle to park.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and I really feel for them having to carry on working in the middle of what was essentially a building site. So much building dust!

All in all it was a good stay, but as I have said. Once the refurb is finished I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have stayed in the ML a few times... actually... I have never stayed in the hotel itself... but in their annex across the road. They have the best value apartments in B'fast!

Clean, good size, good value and great location. I am a light sleeper and love the quiet. Only gripes are the light in the bathroom has a sensor and everytime I went past the door it clicked on etc. Also the curtains in the bedroom aren't measured correctly and do not meet in the middle... so light pours in early in the morning... but I used a hair clip to sort that one out.

Room Tip: Make sure to grab an apartment across the road... I love the independance and privacy of being able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABBA1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in the Malone Lodge, in one of their appartments, over Christmas. I have no complaint about the accommodation, which was excellent value and is very well located, or about the staff. What I was really disappointed about was their offering on Christmas Day. They charged £70 per head for a meal that would barely be acceptable in a pub carvery, and which was served in a dismal, windowless function room which had hardly even been decorated for Christmas. The tables and chairs were squeezed in, and the "festive atmosphere" was hardly enhanced by the stainless steel portable bain-marie from which the soggy vegetables were served. We had booked for a late sitting (4 PM), which turned out to have been a mistake, as we confronted a pillaged starters buffet and side dishes that were running out. No apology was made for the fact that one of the main courses, roast beef, was at this point a withered, unappetizing morsel. We also had the delightful sight then of staff clearing dishes and napkins into black plastic sacks while we ate. I have also had Chistmas dinner in the Hilton in Belfast - the same price, but in a different league as regards the quality of food and surroundings. I know where I'd be booking next time if I ever spend Christmas in Belfast again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank siuloir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,557 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#17 of 45 in Belfast
2,881 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Property: Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#17 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotel. Our newly refurbished Knife & Fork Grill restaurant can accommodate up to 80 guests and was ranked in the top 5 steak houses in Belfast recently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing