We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Time's not a charm for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
dublin, ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“3rd Time's not a charm for us”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Can't say enough about the service, the staff and the restaurant, all excellent. We've stayed here 3 times. First time - great service - but terrible night's sleep due to the noise of the hotel, hearing chairs pushing on bar room floor and between the walls. Our 2nd stay in the apartments was BRILLIANT ALL AROUND. But the other night we went up with our groupon deal (dinner and a night's stay for 89euro) and the room was TINY - I mean REALLY TINY. The soundproofing was non - existent. We could hear full conversations and the use of the bathroom in the room next door ALL NIGHT then in the morning. Breakfast was 9pounds extra, so we didn't avail. The only way we'd go back is if we got the apartments.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancenet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    407
    170
    81
    51
See reviews for
295
531
47
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2011

a few days ago i stayed at the malone lodge hotel in belfast after booking a deal whilst at home in nz and i just thought i would take the time to write a little review as i was so pleased with the service. even from the inset whilst checking in and having never met any of the staff before, i felt that i was by no means a stranger and the malone lodge hotel is very much a fantastic representation of the positive vibrations of belfast and i am so greatful for the platinum, but more importantly, natural and genuine service of the staff i was lucky enough to meet. i would like to add a special thanks to martina for my initial wecoming and continious professionalism, rachel for any special help i required and for continuing the fantastic vibe at reception which is the first point of contact and can make or break a customer experience, daniel in the bar who created such a great drinking environment.. not just for me but anyone i met and lastly to roy who made christmas night very special with the lovely champagne reception of my visiting friends.
i would recommend this hotel to anyone.
thank you,

ciaran watson

Room Tip: stayed in room accross from hotel. no problems..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaran w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Wicklow
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in November and it is in an excellent location in a quiet part of Belfast. At the same time it was within a reasonable walking distance of the city centre or a very quick taxi ride. The rooms were lovely and the staff were very friendly. My husband recommends the Guinness in the bar! Pity that the wifi is not free and actually relatively expensive. Breakfast was very nice with quite a few hot food choices. We also had dinner in the hotel one night which was very nice and had a good wine recommendation from the waitress.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groveroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My husband took me here as a surprise for my birthday and a surprise it was! We stayed in a gorgeous (mini) suite, which he informed me it only cost 25 pounds extra per night to stay in. This was in the building across the road from the main hotel. It was extremely quiet, well furnished and warm, which was well needed in the cold conditions we were enduring outside. There was a lovely new and modern but comfortable feeling to it. The hotel itself is in a lovely quiet area but still only a short drive to the main part of the city.
The en suite was gorgeous with a lovely corner jacuzzi bath and a sensor light, which is a great idea. The shower was quite nice too but not as powerful as you would expect in a hotel.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and there was free parking out the back of the hotel, which isn't always a given, especially in Belfast. As my husband had informed the hotel that it was my birthday, there was a beautiful fruit plate and a birthday card from the hotel waiting for me when I entered our room. I thought that this was a very nice and personal touch and definitely worth a mention and a commendation.
If I was to find fault, I would say that it is a little on the expensive side, from what I heard and although the breakfast was very tasty, the fruit and continental side of it was a little disappointing, with little or no fresh fruit and a slightly limited variety of bread, cereal etc.
Otherwise though, this hotel is lovely and definitely well worth a stay, especially if you stay in a room similar to ours (which I think was the m suite).

Room Tip: Go for a suite, across the road from the main building, especially if its a weekend break as it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Clean, spacious rooms, HD TV, WiFi, tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water in the room, hot, powerful showers, free car park (cf. the miserable nearby Wellington Park Hotel) friendly staff, and a hot, individually cooked Ulster Fry. On a quiet street near the University and the excellent Barking Dog restaurant. Great value, and a wonderful Sunday Carvery too.

Room Tip: The apartments are even nicer that the executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I had my Wedding Reception at The Malone Lodge Hotel on 27th October 2011and was so impressed with the day, I felt I had to write a review.
The helpfulness and professionalism of all the staff, from booking the venue to the actual day, was amazing. Nothing was too much to ask and they were available at all times to answer any queries.
We actually stayed at the hotel before our wedding, in one of the apartments across the road and were really impressed with the lovely spacious, clean rooms and also the meal we had in the restaurant. We also went to the cavery on a separate occasion and again, everything was delicious and the service was excellent.
The staff were so helpful in the run up to the wedding and nothing was too much trouble. They kept in regular contact and were happy to vary menus if needed and also set up the tables and room beautifully for the reception.The day of the wedding ran so smoothly and various guests have commented on the high standard of the food and service. The meal was delicious and all 5 courses were lovely, also evening guests were delighted with the choice of food at the buffet later in the evening. All our guests that stayed in rooms commented that they were so clean and well equipped and the Bridal Suite was lovely!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone as a wedding venue but also as a lovely, central hotel with friendly staff and good food for any trip to Belfast.
Thank you so much again to all the team ( esp. Sarah, Kemal and Sinead!) for their hard work and help! You made our day so memorable and special! Janet and Garey!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazza_geri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malone-Lodge-Hotels, Owner at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Hi Janet

Thank you so much for your very kind post after your recent wedding. Although our reputation for looking after all guests at our weddings is something which we are renowned for, it is always a pleasure to to hear that you were both so happy with everything.

Thank you once again for having your wedding with us and we’ll hope to see you both back again soon.

Gareth & all the team at malone lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here on the 26th of november for one night the family got us a grab one voucher for our anniversary.The room was ok but very warm with a view to the back of the hotel.The food that we got served to us from the grab one menu was awful .After waiting an hour for it to be served and not even a jug of water left on the table , the waiters seemed not to care they were only interested in people who ordered from the other menu.We did not try the breakfast there the next morning we ate else where .

Room Tip: Dont go to this hotel on a grab one voucher expecting a nice meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monaghanviolet03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,537 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,835 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Property: Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#13 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#17 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotel. Our newly refurbished Knife & Fork Grill restaurant can accommodate up to 80 guests and was ranked in the top 5 steak houses in Belfast recently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing