We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed on this visit”
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed on this visit”
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I've stayed at the Stormont on several occasions in the past and always found the hotel to be quite good, I was disappointed though on my stay there in November 2009.

I did get a very reasonable room rate, however the trade off was what turned out to be a disappointing room, it seemed much older and defintely more basic than any room I previously had at the hotel - avoid the "city rooms", they are a long way from the reception area down corridors that got gradually darker (even unlit!), colder & noisier. The direction signs to the city rooms were poor and the locking mechanism on the key card took about 10 tries to unlock (I tried this many times as it was so far back to reception). These rooms front onto a busy road and the road noise was significant - I did not get a good nights sleep.

The food at the conference I attended there was good, as was the bar-food. Free parking is available at the hotel, it is about a £9 taxi fare to Belfast City centre.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    283
    118
    48
    32
See reviews for
153
267
58
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malaga
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I am a teacher from Málaga, Spain. I and my students (a group of 30) were lodged in the Stormont for 10 days in Nov'09. Simply excellent. Supert service and familiar atmosphere. We felt really confortable. Nice building, great food, beautiful surroundings, but the best of all... THE PEOPLE WORKING THERE, at reception, restaurant or room service. Great team, keep them as long as you can.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macaspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Overall this hotel is one of the best I've stayed in in Northern Ireland.

Rooms are clean, quiet well furnished including iPod docking station and flatscreen with freeview. The only thing that lets the rooms down is that there is no bath and the rooms can get quite hot even when it is cold outside.

Public areas are great and most of the staff are attentive without being overly in your face, you get a genuinefeeling they are there top help but not impose.

Food is OK, but same as my other posts for Northen Ireland, in that the food 'plain option' are lacking and room service charge is expensive. The food is overpriced , and if you want a bar meal and go at one minute past seven forget it..

Apart from the negatives, which I feel are minor, I will be intending to stay there again when I'm in the area on business

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelt00much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

I've just returned from a two-day business trip to the Stormont, absolutely delighted. Everything about this luxury hotel was great, from the staff attitude to the plastic duck to take home.

The place is a little quirky, with odd floor levels (I ended up in the hotel offices by mistake when I took a wrong turn after the conference suite), but honestly I felt as if I was on holiday, not a business trip. It's busy without being crowded, beautifully decorated and equipped and the food is really very tasty.

It's the only place I've ever been where the front desk staff offered (offered, mind you!) to go online and print out my boarding passes for my next morning's flight - and then did so immediately, and without charging me.

The rooms are spacious, comfy and really modern.

Small points for them to think about? The toilets in the main lobby haven't been refurbished - it shows up the lovely refurbishment elsewhere. The rooms were a little over-warm at night (the duvet was made of duck down). It's lovely having a plastic duck - but the rooms now have showers, not baths. But all that's nit-picking when they have such lovely staff (and a pleasure to see that they genuinely value ethnic diversity in such an all-white society).

Oh, yes, and the conference was enjoyable, too...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JannelStornoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2009

I stay in hotels all the time. I have been coming to the Stormont for more than 20 years and it id by far the best hotel in The Province. the service and the showers and well.....EVERYTHING is first class. don't stay anywhere else.. This place cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gritts56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Just want to say we had a really good overnight stay at the Stormont - excellent service at reception, we arrived tired and hungry in the middle of the afternoon and we were looked after extremely well by the bar mgr. Chris Rooney, who produced a lovely bar menu and catered for our every need. The room was excellent, fab bed and all the mod cons provided.

Only niggle is there was no bath, although they did provide a lovely yellow rubber duck??? and also there are no smoking rooms available, so if you smoke you are left to the mercy of the elements to the left of the front entrance - they do not provide any covered area for shelter - why not? being a 4* hotel I would have thought they would try to cater for everyone's needs!!!!!! La Scala bistro was good and the breakfast buffet had a large range to cater for everyone's tastes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolidaymaker_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west lancs
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Our stay at the Stormont was satisfying, a good modern hotel with good food and clean rooms, and friendly staff. Staff worthy of a mention are Margaret Helling and Glyn manderson who made our stay more enjoyable. On the minus side the wines were limited and costly. WF@E WOOD Travelled withJohn Fishwick'@Sons August 29 August

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank focus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clareBelfast, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write your review as all feedback plays a very important role in the successful running of the Stormont Hotel. Your kind comments about Margaret and Glyn were very much appreciated and have been passed on to both members of staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Property: Stormont Hotel
Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing