We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the brasserie.”
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,025 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the brasserie.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Met my godmother here for a reunion, at her suggestion. The brasserie was great as it did not just serve Xmas fayre. I had an Irish version of rarebit on wheaten bread, with a stuffed chicken breast, served with champ fritters and a leek sauce. It was just diving and even though I have a great appetite it almost beat me. We did not have anything other than tap water as both of us were driving and so we had change out of £25. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Eat at the La Scala Brasserie
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    291
    120
    49
    32
See reviews for
160
276
59
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

THe Hotel is spotless everywhere you go is pleasant, the staff are all very proffessional and helpfull, the food in the La Scala is off a very high standard, it was just a pleasure to be there, was that nice I stayed for seven weeks, really cannot fault this hotel at all, and to top it all off room prices are so cheap for a hotel of this quality. I will return soon.

Room Tip: There is no gym but you get free membership to David Lloyds about a mile away while your there. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have had various visits to La Scala Restaurant, and were back again this month. The food is always good and well presented. The staff pleasant and the whole ambience enjoyable. The location of the hotel is very good when traveling between the harbour and Ards peninsula.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We recently had our staff christmas party here as a few of us would come here quiet often and i have to say we weren't disappointed the whole night was excellent from start to finish, food, staff, entertainment was brilliant. A few of us stayed over and the beds were something else great nights sleep rooms were spotless, had breakfast the next morning and again couldn't fault the service or food...all in all was the best christmas night out we've had over the years so the 25 of us will be back next year...keep up the amazing work :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finlay31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I recently had a great experience at the Stormont Hotel while at my cousins wedding.

The staff and service were excellent all day, very professional and attentive. Norman was managing the wedding and he could not have done enough for everyone.

The food was of a very high standard and the service staff were very pleasant.

Everyone was very impressed. Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a one night stay here as we had a funeral to attend early next day, unfortunately we were woken much earlier than we wanted because of doors being slammed. It seems that many of the self closing devices on the bedroom doors don't work properly. Apart from the doors and the pillows which gave no support and contributed to a very bad nights sleep, we were impressed with the hotel. Our evening meal in the restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast next morning. The room was large by todays standards and had everything needed. However a bottle or two of mineral water would be expected in a hotel of this standard. Quick and efficient check in/out, staff very helpful.

Room Tip: request a quiet room away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brigantine532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here because I had an early appointment at the Ulster Hospital and didnt want to brave the rush hour across town.

CHECK-IN
Only one person at reception and a queue waiting. Took about 15 minutes to check-in.

ROOM
Very clean, warm and comfortable. Good TV and alarm clock that works. Bathroom good with head and hand shower. I had a good night's sleep.

BREAKFAST
most of the breakfast is sourced in N Ireland which is great. Didn't have the fry but it looked good and not greasy. Just had cereal and toast followed by yogurt. The only complaint I have is that there were no Rice Krispies. If you dont like granola then the only choice is Corn Flakes.

STAFF
Very friendly and approachable. Looks like they enjoy working there.

OVERALL
Good hotel with reasonable prices, about 4 miles from City Centre

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DesMoineshobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Property: Stormont Hotel
Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing