We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value great food”
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here last night Wednesday 30th January as I had a meeting nearby the next day I must say I was very impressed with the large comfortable king size bed, everything you need is in the room good flat screen tv tea making facilities etc bathroom is a good size with brilliant shower. I was tired when I arrived so I fancied a quick bite to eat the sizzle and sip menu was great value two courses and a glass of wine just £15 and it was great to see the hotel supporting all local suppliers,I felt good knowing I supported a family owned hotel and supported local suppliers.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments really glad you enjoyed your experience with us .
I wll pass your comments onto the staff.
Hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed on a weekend deal which was ok. It is hugely annoying having to pay for wi-fi when it should be included - any hotel that doesn't provide free wi-fi should lose a star.
Breakfast was included and it was ok - just ok. When I went down on the Sunday morning early I was told to help myself, but the covering plates were on the hot server and I could barely lift them. There were three staff in the corner chatting about their weekend's social life and they totally ignored me. There was no milk on the table - or on the adjoining tables - and when I asked for some I got a hostile look as clearly I was interrupting their chat. The porridge was the most amazing consistency ever known to man. It was like hot milk with a few oats thrown in; clearly the chef had never made it before.
The reception staff were excellent; very helpful and pleasant.
The bed was incredibly comfortable.
I would certainly consider going back - but I'd skip breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlumBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I am glad you would return again.
Dissappointed you did not totally enjoy your breakfast experience and I have passed the training issues highlighted to the food and beverage manager to address.
Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Myself and a colleague were travelling from Belfast to Cairnryan on early ferry the next moning so decided to stay in outskirts of Belfast. Have stayed here previously and found it to be ideal.

Highlight has got to be the food in the Bistro! Outstanding. I recommend the Liver & Onions, not to everyone's liking but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Hotel was quiet during our stay and we managed to get a prime location at the bar. Good service, decent pint. Most people seemd to head for the seating area near reception which was home to a large open fire!

Room Tip: Remember to book a table at the Bistro to avoid missing out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thanks for the great feed back . I will pass your comments onto La Scala
Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Myself and my friend stayed in the Stormont Hotel a few motnhs ago and we had the lovliest time. The staff were excellent and we felt like pampered princesses for the duration of our stay! Our room was luxurious and the little Hastings ducks in the bathroom made us smile :) for breakfast we were given the lovliest table by the window and the staff were so accomodating and friendly. I even realised I'd forgotten my toothbrush and they were able to provide one for me. The hotel is elegantly decorated with a very modern and warm feel. After checking out we ordered tea and coffee and were given complimentary sweets with this as the sunlight flooded in through the large glass windows of reception. Although it isn't city centre we shared a taxi into the city with another couple and it was only £2 each. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definately return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiO32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

I really appreciate your feed back it means a lot to get great comments.
hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here Sept'12. Although I won my stay here, it's not what I expected. WiFi has to be paid for which is awful considering the price of the rooms. We attended a function in another hotel, there was 50 of us left in a coach, when we returned to the hotel after the function the night porter said he was unaware of a party of 50 returning. We asked about the residents bar to be told that there was only a limited supply behind reception!!! Don't think I'd stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann-Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments from last september.
we had taken advice from the event organiser that there would be no need to have a late bar had we realised we definatly would have kept the full bar open. althought the night bar does have quite a range of products. please dont let it put you off just tell us the next time.
hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at Stormont Hotel for 5 nights visiting our son in Dundonald. The hotel is a mainstream modern hotel and everything is OK. But 2 things was annoying.
WiFi costs 10£ for 24 hour. With a room rate of 107£ I expect WiFi to be included.
Room rate is "room only" and breakfast is 16£ per person. That means additional 32£ on a double room. Far too expensive. We ate breakfast the first morning and found it rather mediocre. The following morning we noticed, that other guests had the same opinion. An empty breakfast restaurant with 3 staff persons standing unemployed leaning to the wall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have lots of different rates depending when and where you book, sorry you did get one of those rates.
we are upgrading some of our bedrooms at present and these will also include wifi . so on your next visit book one of those rooms.
look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A family Sunday lunch on 6 January which was most enjoyable. The young lady who welcomed us into the restaurant was very pleasant and professional and is a model of what that role should be about. Make sure she gets this feedback. Meal was very nice and good to see the boss Mr Hastings eating in the restaurant. Not sure the entertainment adds much to the experience but no one seemed to mind. Well done the Stormont.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DSP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thanks for posting you comments so glad you eneoyed, I have passed yor comments onto Victoria.
See you again soon I hope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 46 in Belfast
1,642 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 46 in Belfast
1,423 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 46 in Belfast
3,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $55 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing