We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly and reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly and reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have stayed at the Stormont Hotel several times for business. It is a comfortable, modern hotel with a decent restaurant, very close to the Parliament Buildings and the Stormont park around them. Staff are always very helpful and friendly. Taxi-ride into the city centre, about 15 minutes and £8.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are large and well fitted-out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the review.
It is great that a regular customer takes time to post a review . I really appeciate your business see you again soon I hope .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    245
    98
    44
    28
See reviews for
127
217
52
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is great, lots of space, great location, just a short drive to the City centre. All the staff were friendly and polite, service was good and the food excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
110 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location a bit far away from the city, which I don’t really mind as I need to sleep, the staff was really nice, she checked me inn fast and professional , a big clean room, big and confy bed, big screen TV, and got everything what I need.
The restaurant was really good, the food was tasty, I ate twice in the hotel restaurant, and the variety of cocktail was also good.
Only ordering room service late at night was a bit hard, ended up I ordered pizza from domino 
I would for sure recommend this hotel to my friends if they need some rest, despite the location , I really enjoy the service and the hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ephie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
With the new bus lanes in place it is easier to get to the city centre only takes 15 mins so if you feel like shopping or exploring its much easier now.
Thanks for the feedback on room service issues I am addressing that with night staff and chef.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The main reason for booking Stormont Hotel was the free car parking that was available ( I refuse to consider any hotel that charge for this ). Room was spacious , clean and quiet ,facing out onto the gates of Stormont Buildings. Staff were friendly & helpful. Buffet breakfast was exceptionally good , plenty of variety & fresh , not dried up like most establishments serving hot food. Again staff here were extremely helpful. Also with the large crowd on Sunday morning there was no waiting around. We ate in the " La Scala Bistro " on Saturday evening. Luckily we had booked it on arrival on the Friday evening as it was completely booked out on Sat night. As it turned out the meal in this restaurant was OK , nothing to get excited about. Having read some of the negative comments regarding this hotel , Im afraid that I could not add to them. We had a pleasant stay here & would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Podge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the review.
I am glad you enjoyed you weekend break hope to see you again soon.
La Scala does get very busy at the weekend with non residents as well, booking was agreat idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely peacful hotel set in a lovely area and easy access to Stormont itself, food in the bistro was also of a high standard and very reasonably priced. Bedroom comfortable and spacious. Staff helpful also

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank october44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the review .
Glad your stay was great hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Flying visit to Belfast was enhanced by a stay at this great hotel. Very comfortable beds, designer bathroom, white company toiletries. Breakfast was good too. The optional whiskey in you porridge nice touch but not for me!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the review.
Maybe you will stay a little longer next time.
hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmessan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed over night during a short trip to belfast, upon arrival check in was very quick
The room was very spacious and the bed was both big and comfortable,
The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly.
The only negative point was the sore feet ended up with when the hot water from the shower burned them as the cold tap was simple turning without any water coming out,
A room close by was provided for us to use the shower,
Would return here when visiting belfast again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for highlighting the maintainence issue this has now been sorted.
look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 45 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Property: Stormont Hotel
Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing