We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good night”
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very good night”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My Husband and I went to a Charity Event on Saturday night, it was very very good. The room in which they used was set out very nice the Meal was lovely and the service was very good nothing was too much trouble if you needed anything. Would definately go again.
We didnt stay over night as we didnt have too far to go but have stayed in the past and found the rooms and breakfast to be very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee_susan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed the event .
Maybe you will make it to one of our party nights and stay over and get the full experience.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    285
    118
    48
    32
See reviews for
155
267
59
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My experience at the hotel was excellent, the rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff were very friendly and service was to a very high standard, the breakfast was plentiful with a variety of options available.
My only negative point was the wifi or lack of it, you have to pay for the internet which is provided by BT Openworld but signal strength in my room was poor, would of thought it would of been provided free of charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to pos ta review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We do have a small charge for the BTopenzone but this way we can keep it secure and no one can acceess you account.
Look forward to welcoming you back o the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had high expectations of The Stormont Hotel and things started well. We joined friends from Ballyhackamore for the sumptuous 5 course Sunday lunch buffet and it was a veritable feast. Things careered downhill after we left the dining room and checked into the hotel for accommodation.

Although we were allocated an executive room the electricity socket which served the desk was not only faulty but was broken and hanging loose. They changed our room as no maintenance staff were available.

Later we went to the bar in search of a snack as another restaurant meal would have been impossible after the good feed at lunchtime. We were surprised to be told that food was not available in the bar and that we must go to the restaurant. We went to the front desk to question this as we had already taken our fill at the lunchtime buffet and were brushed-off like naughty school-children who had dared to question the Headmistress.

So, in the restaurant we explained our predicament and were advised that we could order something from the very short Room Service menu and so we decided on a sandwich. We asked if it could be served in the restaurant and were told “No!” and so we asked if we could eat it in the bar and again came the “No!” It would be served in our room after 9pm – it was then 7:40pm. When we asked why the delay we were informed that Room Service can only be taken when the restaurant is closed... What a complete farce!

We instead went out and purchased snack to eat in our room. On our way in and out we saw several deliveries being made from local take-away establishments. So, Stormont your attempts to force people to spend only in the restaurant are back-firing and people are spending elsewhere.

The following morning we woke to find that there was no hot water anywhere in the hotel and the staff were completely disinterested. The front desk could do nothing other than “promise to call back” but didn’t (repeatedly) and it was only the arrival of the Accountants Manager who took hold of the situation. She didn’t get the water flowing but at least she managed to communicate what was happening.

Complimentary breakfast was offered. I refused as I was already late for work and still unwashed but taken by my wife. She wished she hadn't as it was disgraceful - dried, cold and tasteless.

On the upside the bed was both huge and comfortable

The review here is for the hotel only and does not consider the Sunday Lunch which was outstanding.

This hotel has clearly got issues with both maintenance and policies and while our visit started very well, the ensuing problems mean that we will not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I have taken all your comments on board and I am sorry you felt you were not kept informed.
Our boilers all went at the same time and the plumbers were here working to restore the hot water.Obviusly this is not what we want our guests to encounter but some times things are beyond our control.
This was the first time our trainee rceptionist had encountered a guest like you self and was not sure how to handle the situation. But this was a great training opportunity for her and certainly a learning curve.
I am happy that our duty manager was able to deal with the situation for you.
Glad you enjoyed the sunday buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booked in and found the staff very friendly, room great, large and clean. Ate in the restaurant which was great with good service. However when we got up in the morning no hot water !!!!!!! Informed staff when checking out whilst my partner went to the loo, not very inpressed with the tiles missing and a door in real need of attention !!!!!! We would visit again despite these issues

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dopeydobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for posting a review.
I am glad to hear you are not going to let these few issues stop you returning to the hotel.
Like your home sometimes thing are beyond our control and our boilers all packed in at the same time during the night .we have emergency plumbers who were working on getting the boilers running again but it took a bit of time.
The other maintainence issues you raised ahve all been sorted.
See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had reason to visit the bar area alone (thus cannot comment on rooms etc). I was met with clean pleasing area. Bar staff however unamused at the sudden influx of around 15 people...(fellow choir members having a sociable drink on a Monday after practice!!) I ordered a black decaf coffee as driving, received it in a paper takeaway cup!! What?
And it cost me £3 for the pleasure! unwilling to cause a scene in front of company I resort to tripadvisor! Hardly very professional eh?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank smaxw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Sorry if you found the bar not up to our normal stanard of service. The reason you got a to go cup is because the bartender thought you were going straight to your car when you said you were driving and wanted a coffee to go. Sorry for the confusion.
please do not let this put you off returning to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were on a coach holiday and the Stormont was our base for the week. The hotel is modern and very contemporary. The room was very spacious, with comfortable beds and plenty of storage options. Our only complaint was that the hotel had changed over the duvets to the winter variety which made sleeping uncomfortable on the first night, as the weather was still mild, however a request for sheets and blankets was quickly filled which solved this problem. Breakfast and dinner were served in the Shiraz restaurant. Breakfast is buffet style, with an excellent choice of hot food to choose from, as well as cereals, breads, porridge etc. I highly recommended trying the Guinness bread with some of the local cheese.
Dinner was a set menu with a choice of three starters, mains and desserts. There was plenty of variety over the week and we were very satisfied with our dinners.
On our final evening we dined in the hotels bistro. This has a excellent menu with a comprehensive choice for dishes. Most of the ingredients are sourced locally and it is clear that a lot of care is taken in the preparation and cooking of these ingredients to display Northern Ireland's at it's best.
Service throughout the hotel is excellent, with everybody that we encountered helpful, courteous.
Only caveat is that the hotel is very busy with functions as well as guests, and the wedding party on Friday evening did disturb the sleep of some of our group.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treeguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very impressive hotel but our room and bathroom were very small and struggled to turn round in the shower.
The saying all frills and no knickers comes to mind. Only an overnight stay but we were so looking forward to this hotel after good reports from fellow travellers. The restaurant staff in particular were so unfriendly and the food was below average. Our table was placed in such a position staff were squeezing past to serve other tables, very uncomfortable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jymols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I am sorry you did not find the hotel to our normal standard.
I have addressed the issues you raised.
We have 30 rooms which are having renovation work carried out within the next few months so hopfully if you return you will enjoy staying in one of these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Property: Stormont Hotel
Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#9 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing