We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Autumn Holiday”
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Autumn Holiday”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were on a coach holiday and the Stormont was our base for the week. The hotel is modern and very contemporary. The room was very spacious, with comfortable beds and plenty of storage options. Our only complaint was that the hotel had changed over the duvets to the winter variety which made sleeping uncomfortable on the first night, as the weather was still mild, however a request for sheets and blankets was quickly filled which solved this problem. Breakfast and dinner were served in the Shiraz restaurant. Breakfast is buffet style, with an excellent choice of hot food to choose from, as well as cereals, breads, porridge etc. I highly recommended trying the Guinness bread with some of the local cheese.
Dinner was a set menu with a choice of three starters, mains and desserts. There was plenty of variety over the week and we were very satisfied with our dinners.
On our final evening we dined in the hotels bistro. This has a excellent menu with a comprehensive choice for dishes. Most of the ingredients are sourced locally and it is clear that a lot of care is taken in the preparation and cooking of these ingredients to display Northern Ireland's at it's best.
Service throughout the hotel is excellent, with everybody that we encountered helpful, courteous.
Only caveat is that the hotel is very busy with functions as well as guests, and the wedding party on Friday evening did disturb the sleep of some of our group.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treeguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    285
    118
    48
    32
See reviews for
155
267
59
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very impressive hotel but our room and bathroom were very small and struggled to turn round in the shower.
The saying all frills and no knickers comes to mind. Only an overnight stay but we were so looking forward to this hotel after good reports from fellow travellers. The restaurant staff in particular were so unfriendly and the food was below average. Our table was placed in such a position staff were squeezing past to serve other tables, very uncomfortable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jymols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I am sorry you did not find the hotel to our normal standard.
I have addressed the issues you raised.
We have 30 rooms which are having renovation work carried out within the next few months so hopfully if you return you will enjoy staying in one of these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Would Stay again great value for money and a first class restaurant ideal for taking our conference delegates to after the meeting very impressed and shall be writing seperate review .

Come on reception more training needed you are letting this lovely hotel down.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advser.
Sorry for the delay at check in and I apprecaite you high lighted the training issues which have now been addressed.
Thanks for the great restaurant review hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was really disappointed with my stay at this hotel. When I first pulled up I was impressed with the look of the hotel, but after waiting for 10 minutes at the reception desk for a member of staff to show up, myself and my colleagues were getting frustrated. Eventually the receptionist arrived to start the check in process. We thought we had booked bed and breakfast for £75 a night but was told we had a room only rate. When I asked what the B&B rate was I was quoted £65 a night. I asked if we could have that rate but was told we were not allowed to change rate and had to pay the £75 a night room only rate even though anyone who walked in from the street would only pay £65 for the same type of room with breakfast. She then offered us the option to pay an additional £16 for breakfast, which we declined. I was advised to take it up with her manager, when I did she was even more unhelpful than her colleague and refused to review our room rate.
When I got to my room I was pleased with the size, but was annoyed that the tv did not work properly and I could only get a signal on 2 channels with one of them being fuzzy.

Overall very disappointed with this hotel and will not stay here again!! I would advise anyone to avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv8480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip adviser.
We appreciate all feedback.
The rate that you paid has been set up by the company you used so we have no control over changing that . The good thing for you is that rate you paid stands no matter how high or low our rates go, your company has been contracted to the rate you paid. Our rates are Variable depending on demand.
I hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel many times over the last few years. The rooms are lovely with nice modern bathrooms and large comfortable beds. The lounge and bar area are great for meeting guests or just relaxing with a drink by the fire. The restaurant serves a grest breakfast and never fails to deliver. One downside is that they do not provide free WiFi in the hotel for guests instead charging a daily fee for access. All things considered it is a great option for a stay in the area and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemnay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely Hotel .Food and service excellent The staff in the Bistro were very good and helpfulFood greatThis hotel is so close to the Nothern Ireland parliament if a visit was arranged for you.Away from the busell of Belfast

Room Tip: Anyone is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway,Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The Stormont overall is a very nice hotel but there are some areas they could improve on. The biggest downfall of the hotel is the fact that they charge for wifi. I think this is truly greedy on their behalf. Considering they must have so many business guests due to they proximity to Stormont I really don't know how they get away with charging for it! Needless to say I refuse to pay so I go without it for the duration of my stay. Another down side for me personally is the rooms do not have a fridge. Makes traveling with my 6 month old son a bit difficult as I cannot store food for him etc. My last gripe is the cost of drinks. £3 for a cup of coffee at the bar! Not to mention the price of alcoholic drinks! In saying all of that the rooms are very comfy, breakfast is great, staff are friendly and overall the location suits us as we have extended family living close by. I would stay here in the future but come on stormont give your customers free wifi at least!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMR610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Property: Stormont Hotel
Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing