We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor service, overcharged for the room..... Avoid this hotel!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very poor service, overcharged for the room..... Avoid this hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was really disappointed with my stay at this hotel. When I first pulled up I was impressed with the look of the hotel, but after waiting for 10 minutes at the reception desk for a member of staff to show up, myself and my colleagues were getting frustrated. Eventually the receptionist arrived to start the check in process. We thought we had booked bed and breakfast for £75 a night but was told we had a room only rate. When I asked what the B&B rate was I was quoted £65 a night. I asked if we could have that rate but was told we were not allowed to change rate and had to pay the £75 a night room only rate even though anyone who walked in from the street would only pay £65 for the same type of room with breakfast. She then offered us the option to pay an additional £16 for breakfast, which we declined. I was advised to take it up with her manager, when I did she was even more unhelpful than her colleague and refused to review our room rate.
When I got to my room I was pleased with the size, but was annoyed that the tv did not work properly and I could only get a signal on 2 channels with one of them being fuzzy.

Overall very disappointed with this hotel and will not stay here again!! I would advise anyone to avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv8480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman M, Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip adviser.
We appreciate all feedback.
The rate that you paid has been set up by the company you used so we have no control over changing that . The good thing for you is that rate you paid stands no matter how high or low our rates go, your company has been contracted to the rate you paid. Our rates are Variable depending on demand.
I hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    271
    116
    48
    30
See reviews for
148
261
56
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel many times over the last few years. The rooms are lovely with nice modern bathrooms and large comfortable beds. The lounge and bar area are great for meeting guests or just relaxing with a drink by the fire. The restaurant serves a grest breakfast and never fails to deliver. One downside is that they do not provide free WiFi in the hotel for guests instead charging a daily fee for access. All things considered it is a great option for a stay in the area and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemnay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely Hotel .Food and service excellent The staff in the Bistro were very good and helpfulFood greatThis hotel is so close to the Nothern Ireland parliament if a visit was arranged for you.Away from the busell of Belfast

Room Tip: Anyone is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway,Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The Stormont overall is a very nice hotel but there are some areas they could improve on. The biggest downfall of the hotel is the fact that they charge for wifi. I think this is truly greedy on their behalf. Considering they must have so many business guests due to they proximity to Stormont I really don't know how they get away with charging for it! Needless to say I refuse to pay so I go without it for the duration of my stay. Another down side for me personally is the rooms do not have a fridge. Makes traveling with my 6 month old son a bit difficult as I cannot store food for him etc. My last gripe is the cost of drinks. £3 for a cup of coffee at the bar! Not to mention the price of alcoholic drinks! In saying all of that the rooms are very comfy, breakfast is great, staff are friendly and overall the location suits us as we have extended family living close by. I would stay here in the future but come on stormont give your customers free wifi at least!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMR610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed 1 night . The hotel was very nice and the staff friendly. The room was great and the large bed superb. Had a nice meal in Bistro although it took a long time to arrive.Was expecting a lovely breakfast but was disappointed. Went to get some strawberry yogurt but none and ten minutes down the line and none appeared. The hot breakfast was cold and no staff clearing the tables.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed here with a view to visiting Belfast and it was the best choice I could have made.
Siruated right opposite Stormont, Northern Itelands seat of Government, the Hotel was an ideal place from which to launch yourself into the delights of Belfast.
The Hotel itself is 5 star with all the amenities you would expect. The food is top drawer. It is a delight.
St Georges Market in Belfast is a must. Harland & Wolfe Shipyard home of the Titanic, was a real experience and to visit the city of Belfast where all the troubles were was a real history trip.
Belfast is also the spiritual home of Van Morrison!!!! Could things get any better?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri3042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel was nice and it was clean, but the service in the restaurants were not the most friendly. We were there on a very busy weekend so the location was not ideal as the taxi prices when road traffic is bad really adds up. The breakfast was plentiful. Room service met expectations (the homemade chips were lovely...exceeded expectations there). The pillows were to die for...wish I could have snuck one home.

Room Tip: Our room was on level one looking over the main road which was lovely. Rumor was that the basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Property: Stormont Hotel
Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing