We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
warrenpoint
Level Contributor
395 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Checked in for one night with Andrew. The hotel was very busy but we did not have to wait long. Very friendly welcome. The staff are all very friendly. We dined in the Europa and the dinner was very good, nice home cooking. The room we stayed in was on the 9th floor and had an amazing view of Belfast. That night we went into the bar where there was a band, the atmosphere was brilliant, we really enjoyed ourselves and of course we had to try out some cocktails in The Piano Bar. The room we stayed in was lovely, the bed is so comfortable, I did not want to leave. The breakfast is probably one of the best breakfasts in N Ireland, great selection of fruit, granola, yoghurts and a delicious cooked breakfast with freshly poached eggs. The Guinness Bread is lovely. Checkout was with Mary and Andrew and again we were both made to feel that our custom was greatly appreciated. Mr Maginn, the manager must be complemented on how friendly all the staff in the hotel are, even the cleaner took time to speak to us. Thank you. Can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,407
    1,076
    406
    174
    102
See reviews for
542
1,522
240
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

A great hotel with attentive and friendly staff. From front of house to the bar staff and house keepers everyone made us feel welcome. The breakfast was plentiful with a wide range of cereals, bread and fruit juice. The cooked breakfast was great with a egg cooked to order. We found the best deal by telephoning reception direct.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GraemeGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

A lovely hotel in the middle of the city. A very interesting history, being bombed so many times during the 70's and 80's Very modern and close to everything. The Opera House just a few steps away. Must visit the Crown Pub across the street. Remember to look down as you go in the front, see the Crown in the tiles.
Everyone very kind and for a troubled city, that it was, is now a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 832Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night. Service was seriously lacking at piano bar and at breakfast the next morning, trying to get a drink at bar- kept getting ignored. At breakfast- having to ask for cutlery, coffee, orange juice and cold food . Would not stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kieran. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Had a perfect stay for business during the week and we will be back again. The hotel is in a perfect location, the rooms and breakfast are perfect and the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed last week on a deal, £90 for two, one nights B&B aand two cocktails. Very welcoming, very comfortable, room perhaps a tad small by todays standards, but perfectly adequate. Cocktails in the piano bar very good, relaxing view in window seat overlooking Great Victoria Street, friendly waiter, attentive but not in ones face, very good.
Breakfast next morning. There aren't enough superlatives. I used to complain about Hastings Hotels sausages, but not the current batch, excellent, A1, well cooked. And the bacon was crispy!
And you could have a shot of whisky on your porridge. Decadent luxury, I really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: I would advise the front for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shugo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at The Europa Hotel in Belfast. As it was my wife’s birthday, we decided to take a weekend out to meet some friends, as well as enjoy some relaxation away from our busy lives.

We have stayed at the hotel many times before, but not recently. I always remember it as being a great place, so my expectations were high as we arrived late on Friday evening to check in.

When walking in to the reception area of The Europa Hotel, there is a definite sense of grandeur. On a number of occasions during our stay, it struck me that there was always people in the reception area; moving around, enjoying drinks in the cosy sitting area off to the side, or dealing with the front desk staff. The atmosphere is very warm, and there is a real feeling of people at ease and enjoying the surroundings.

On approaching the reception desk, we were given a very warm greeting by two ladies. One was called Linda, but we didn’t catch the other persons’ name. It’s a pity we didn’t, as she turned out to be extremely helpful. Linda seemed genuinely delighted to meet us, and gave us a room upgrade! She was so friendly and welcoming; we both had a feeling that the weekend was off to a great start.

We were shown to our room by a friendly and helpful staff member called Ciaran, and he explained the features of the fixtures etc. Our room was on the tenth floor, with wonderful views of Belfast from the window. We found a large king sized bed with memory foam mattress, a flat screen TV which we didn’t bother with, free wi-fi, more than ample closet space, and generally plush, cosy and comfortable surroundings. Even during busy times at the hotel, our room was quiet and we heard no noise from the corridor.

The ‘wet room’ was very large with plenty of towels, shampoos/shower gels, and hand soaps. The shower itself was powerful and warm and very inviting. After quick showers we hit the town in search of food; it had been a long time since lunch!

Although we both know Belfast well enough, it has been some time since we were out and about on our own there. We also fancied trying somewhere we hadn’t been before to eat, so we asked for assistance at reception. The lady who’s name we did not catch gave us some suggestions, and brought us to the concierge desk to see about getting a booking.

Both the receptionist and the two concierges were unbelievably helpful. They made recommendations based on what we wanted, called a few nearby places to check if they could get reservations, and after a while we were set-up to visit Olio restaurant which is only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. To say the guys were helpful is a massive understatement; the concierges (Joseph and we didn’t catch the other chap’s name) were fantastic!

After a very enjoyable night at Olio (that’s another super success story in itself), we arrived back for a quiet drink or two at the Europa’s residence bar. It was here we met Natasha! What a welcome we got. Natasha who works at the bar in the Europa is one of the most friendly and helpful people anyone could meet. She was wonderful, and made us feel very special. We met her the following night too, and she remembered our names and our drinks, and was always able to have a quick chat even though she was obviously busy. She is only working there a few months, but I think The Europa have found a fantastic ambassador for the hotel in her; she’s a great person.

We also met Marty in the residence bar. He was working there too. To say he was a gentleman and extremely helpful doesn’t get close. Marty was just one of the nicest people we’ve ever met, and he too made our experience so very special during our stay at the hotel.

While enjoying our residence bar experience, the night manager Philip happened to stop by, again checking if we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything we needed (everyone there is like that, very helpful). We ended up having a great chat with Philip; he is a dog person, just like us!

Our breakfast experience in the hotel was also memorable. Firstly, the food is excellent. I considered trying some fresh fruit and freshly baked pastries, but gave in and opted for a traditional Ulster fry. It was a good choice! In addition, the staff were very helpful, made sure we had everything we needed, and offered more juice and tea/coffee etc at just the right times.

Sunday morning came all too quickly, and we went to check out and prepared ourselves for the journey home. It was then we met Linda on reception once more! She remembered our names, made sure we had enjoyed our stay, and called us a taxi. We both walked out of the Europa smiling, thanks to her warmth and friendliness.

To sum up, I would recommend anyone planning a visit to Belfast should strongly consider The Europa Hotel. The staff members we encountered made it so special for us. The hotel itself is very comfortable, well appointed, and has a location second to none in the city centre, but the people working in it are the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 500x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing