We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - noisy room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location - noisy room!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel lobby really nice - good customer service. Our room over looked the front onto the road. We went to the bar and listened to the most amazing man playing the piano - I could have stayed there all night - it was just beautiful.

I treated myself to a white Russian seeing as we were on hols - it was absolutely sublime - I haven't tasted as good since! So I ordered a second and what I can only describe as something akin to a tumbler of milk was delivered to our table. The same cocktail - chalk and cheese!!! Definitely made by another less competent barman/woman - I sent it back and was met by a moody response from the waitress. I watched as the mixture was poured from the water tumbler into a more suitable cocktail glass!! Serious lack of consistency there - such a shame - id love to shake the barman/womans hand who made the first one, they should take a bow at a fantastic job!! My main disappointment other than this was the noise. Our room had an adjoining door to another room (my pet hate) and we could hear laughing and talking quite clearly from the adjoining room - no problem - our room was nice and clean and had a sort of sitting room next to bedroom so I thought i'd sleep ok.

The quality of the walls in the hotel between the rooms must be poor as we were kept wide awake by the "extra curricular" activities of the couple in the room on the other side of our bedroom. Grand for an hour or so but It was shocking - we could hear everything - fair play to their stamina as this unbelievably went on from 11pm till around 3pm. Not really the type of thing you want to hear repeatedly for 4 hours. Their bed was obviously backed onto ours. Not the kind of thing I wanted to ring down to reception to complain about either. So poor sleep all round unfortunately.

Breakfast was nice. Overall I found this hotel average - I wouldn't be running back.

Room Tip: Go listen to the Piano man in the bar if you are there on a Saturday
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamrockin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,458
    1,105
    414
    178
    105
See reviews for
551
1,556
242
807
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NORTH WEST ENGLAND
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Just a quick note to say that I had the pleasure to stay at the Arno Suite on 11th July for the second time in two weeks.
The Europa is always excellent. Food continues to be first class. Obviously the location and the history sell the Europa, but the staff go the extra mile and ensure that every visit is just as enjoyable as the last!

Hope to return to the Europa soon!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AS1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear AS1690,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am so pleased you had a wonderful stay with ourselves and received the full service the Hotel has to offer. I have passed on your great feedback to our staff members and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Possibly one of the best hotels in Belfast. Right in front of the "rockin" Crown bar and grill which serves some of the best Cod in all of Northern Ireland. The rooms were clean, the bed was firm and the shower was hot. Our staf was pleasant except for the noise that could be heard from several bars across the street that were frequented by young people. But, that all shut down at 11:00 a.m. and the hotel itself was very quiet. We did not mind the noise from the fifth floor of the hotel. It was nice to see young people so full of vim, vigor and vitality. Go. You will like this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeyesandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Buckeyesandi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with ourselves and I have passed on your great comments to our staff members. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Belfast and we would love to have you return to the Europa. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

my wife and I stayed in the Europa for one night on a room only basis. reception was excellent, quick check in. room was excellent, shower something else! while it's not cheap it's very central so no need for taxis to get in to town. parking is also very convenient at either of the two car parks available. all in all a great night was had in Belfast!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear darren ,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am so delighted you enjoyed your visit and received the full service the Europa Hotel has to offer. I passed all of your very kind comments to our staff members especially our Reception Team. We would love to have you return to the Europa again and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed with a friend at the Europa for one night this past weekend. The hotel in and of itself is very nice. The rooms are very big, with luxuriously comfortable beds, a large bathroom with a great shower, and many in-room amenities including bottled water, bathrobes and slippers.

I am not normally one who makes a big deal about things at hotels that go wrong - it happens. The AC in our room wasn't working and it was quite hot and stuffy. We waited for 40 minutes for someone to come up and when he did we got nothing but attitude, excuses and arguments. While we were expecting a handyman of some sort what we got was Jonathan the concierge - perhaps this wasn't his job and that was a reason for the rudeness and condescension - doesn't make it right.

Not only did he lie about the AC working, he stopped just short of calling me and my friend stupid because we didn't realize it. (And BTW, the AC indeed WAS NOT working. Upon returning to our room hours later, it was still stifling hot. I realize that concierge is not an easy job. But I am not a hard person to get along with and am definitely not someone who makes ridiculous demands of a hotel's concierge. All the other concierges that we encountered during our stay were friendly and helpful.

However, Hannah, who worked the reception desk was just lovely. She basically took over as our concierge - getting us checked into a new room with working AC, making a dinner reservation for us, etc. She was working very, very hard and yet still always had a smile on her face. She should be commended for her professionalism.

The included breakfast was enormous and the service at the restaurant was quite good.

I would rate this hotel higher were it not for our experience with the conceirge.

Room Tip: be aware that only the executive rooms have air conditioning. usually not a concern for Belfast, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euromerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear euromerp,

Thank you for taking the time posting your review of the Europa Hotel. I am very disappointed to hear of the level of service you received while staying at the Hotel. I would like to apologise and I can assure you we are looking into this. I am delighted that Hannah provided you with the full service the Europa has to offer and I have passed on your kind words. I appreciate you where disappointed with our overall stay with ourselves, and we would love to be given the chance for you to stay again with ourselves where I am confident we can improve on your last stay. Should you wish to stay again with ourselves please contact me directly on conf@eur.hastingshotels.com. We hope to be seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We would stay here at least two times a year. It is so centrally located to all the amenities of Belfast. The rooms are large and very clean . The 1st floor lounge is a great place to start an evening , end an evening or just even stay the whole evening . The staff are all so friendly . You get a great breakfast to set you up for the days activities. The Crown Bar straight across the strret is also with a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room mat the rear if you want a quiet night as the main thorough-fair can be noisey, espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Gavin F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on your recent stay at the Europa. I am so pleased you had a wonderful stay with ourselves and received the full service the Europa has to offer. Belfast is such a fantastic City and we look forward to having you again.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

When we read that this hotel had a reputation for explosions, we were a bit concerned. No need to worry - this was the best hotel we stayed in over our entire trip. Service excellent, little bath duck a lovely touch. Walk in shower, plumbing that worked, EXCELLENT restaurant . I had a birthday dinner there and the whole experience was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoylifeQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear EnjoylifeQueensland,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with ourselves and received the full service the Europa has to offer. I have passed on your fantastic feedback to our staff. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Belfast and we would love to have you return to the Europa. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,161 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing