We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Top Hotel Choice For Belfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Hotel - Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“My Top Hotel Choice For Belfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Europa is a well-situated luxury hotel in the heart of the city of Belfast, fast becoming one of the top destinations in Europe. The service, decor, accommodation, amenities (gotta love the Hastings rubber duckie in the bathroom!), and full English breakfast are absolutely perfect! Every staff person that we encountered was polite and helpful. We arrived over two bank holidays and the Easter weekend and the front desk quickly offered to exchange money for us. We were prepared, but it was incredibly thoughtful of them to offer. The Piano Bar is a lovely respite after a long day; good drinks and view.

The historic Crown Liquor Saloon is directly across the street; an absolute must-see in Belfast with excellent pub food and a dining room upstairs if you decide not to dine at the Hotel. (Although given the quality of the breakfast, I imagine that the Hotel's dinner is excellent!) Robinson's Fibber Magee's is also directly across the street for music. Other well-known Belfast pubs are a little further away, but if walking doesn't appeal, taxis are quite reasonable. The Concierge at the Hotel couldn't have been nicer! There is also a Hop-on Bus. We didn't use it, but the route covers everything. There is so much to do in Belfast; The Historic Pub Crawl, Opera House, the Ulster Museum, Botanical Gardens, Ulster Folk Museum (Holywood), City Hall, Queens University, the informative and heart-wrenching Political Murals Black Taxi Tours (We've taken the tour twice), and the year-old Titantic Experience Exhibit, located in the waterfront area where the Titantic was launched. A rented car or regional train (the station is located right behind the Hotel in the Mall) can take you north through Antrim to Derry - or - south through Holywood. The express train from Dublin arrives at another train station (Belfast Central), so if you arrive from Dublin, you will need to catch a quick bus or taxi to the Hotel. While "location" is everything, I must get back to the Hotel. I have had the pleasure of staying at the Europa twice (2008 and 2013) and each time I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. This is quite a historic hotel with fantastic service without being pretentious, clean and comfortable rooms, convenient location, and every time I've booked directly with the Hotel on-line, an excellent value for the quality. Do not hesitate to see Belfast and to book at the Europa!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear DHG,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with ourselves and received the full service the Europa has to offer. I have passed on your brilliant feedback to our staff members. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Belfast and we would love to have you return to the Europa. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,367
    1,060
    400
    171
    102
See reviews for
528
1,507
237
771
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Firstly the hotel is in a great location - walking distance to centre of Belfast City. Room was compact but really nice - bed was huge so thumbs up for that! Very comfortable. Love a place that offers good tea & coffee facilities in the room without having to order it from reception. Lovely bathroom with separate shower unit and bath. Had issues with our room cards though - when mine worked, my colleague's didn't and vice-versa. We were at a conference so not always together so meant going up and down several times to get activated and re-activated. This happened several times over the course of the two days. Breakfast was buffet style and standard options available - hot counter of sausages, rashers, puddings, eggs, potato farls, etc. and cold counter of fruits & yoghurt and fruit juices. Self Toasting facilities etc. Just getting tables cleared was a bit chaotic and it seemed more a problem of being understaffed than lack of staff attention. Due to some of the chaos, there were a few dropped cups which smashed and cutlery falling etc. Staff were a bit overwhelmed with orders of tea and coffee. It was more of a necessity eating here than a pleasant experience. Street noise from the bedrooms is a bit of an issue but you are in the heart of a vibrant city so it is to be expected!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreMuse_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear IreMuse_27,

Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with ourselves. I appreciate your feedback and we continually strive to improve our service levels. I have taken your comments on board regarding our staff and I can assure you we monitoring their service levels closely. I hope these issues did not affect your overall opinion of the Europa Hotel and we would love to have your return where I am confident we can improve on your last visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris Mayo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed on business in the Europa Hotel. Service was very good. I arrived and handed over the car keys for the porter to park the car and didnt have to worry about it until I left which was great, there was a charge for this-not sure if the porter didnt park the car if I would have to pay?
The room was excellent, newly decorated-I didnt eat in the restaurant as I was dining out with colleagues but if I was there for a fun weekend I would definitely give it a try. Breakfast was busy in the morning but the service was still good, I only had the cold buffet but some others had the cooked breakfast and seemed to be ok. Will return again to Belfast soon as I want to do the Titanic Museum and although it isnt that far from home we will stay at the Europa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mary B,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with ourselves and received the full service the Europa has to offer. I have passed on your brilliant feedback to our staff members. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Belfast and we would love to have you return to the Europa. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

For a I or 2 night stay in Belfast pay the extra and stay at the Europa Hotel. Easy to get to by train or bus from either airport as the combined station is next door to the hotel. The hotel is beautifully presented, the reception and restaurant area is first class as are the rooms which are very modern and comfortable. The lobby bar and upstairs piano bar are great places for a drink with relaxed atmospheres and friendly staff. The location is also spot on as it is a short walk into the shopping areas and The Crown Pub and Robinson's Pub are directly opposite and both are worth a visit, especially The Crown for a pint of the black stuff. Pay the extra £10 each for the breakfast as it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Gary M,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am so pleased you had a wonderful stay with ourselves and received the full service the Hotel has to offer. I have passed on your great feedback to our staff members and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great location and good staff. Restaurant is geared at the pre theatre market and is just average but outstanding breakfast. Rooms modern, very clean and very comfortable. Night time entertainment is for an older crowd but the up stairs piano bar is excellent for just a relaxing drink and great to get a window seat and people watch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pksand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear pksand1,

Thank you sharing your review on your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with ourselves. I have passed your great comments on to our staff members. We would love to have stay again ourselves at the Europa and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

From arrival to departure you felt like a welcome guest. Helpful staff and easy check in. Excellent meal at a large function followed by a restful night. Breakfast first class, freshly prepared and loads of choice, plenty of healthy options and the traditional Ulster all available in a relaxed atmosphere. Definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewryPaul86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in the Europa Hotel @ 10 years ago and it was extremely disappointing to say the least.
I then stayed a few weeks and wow - what a change. All very pleasant staff, smiling, helpful, understanding. It was our wedding anniversary and we even got a complimentary room upgrade to an executive room! But besides this I must say I felt extremely proud when I see the standard of this hotel which (like all businesses) is now competing in a world marketplace.

All I can say is well done, keep up the smiling, friendliness and good work . . . you are world-beaters!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Campbell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Campbell M,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with ourselves and got given the full service the Europa has to offer. I have passed on your fantastic feedback to our staff. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Belfast and we would love to have you return to the Europa. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing