We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service is superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Customer Service is superb”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel was great, the room clean & comfortable, the duck (of course), the nice central location, wonderful food selections, but mostly their customer service that went above and beyond wonderful. Special requests were no problem.
Andy at the front desk was incredible -- always helpful and always smiling. He knew the answers before we asked the question.
Kieran at the Concierge/Valet station was so kind, patient and helpful with our bags, our car and our questions. They both make us want to return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerrisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jerrisland,
Thank you for such a lovely report on your recent stay. It truly is magnificent to hear about Andy and Kieran's superb customer service, anticipating your needs and making your stay a wonderful one.
We would love to have you stay with us again.
Thank you
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,490
    1,118
    417
    178
    105
See reviews for
562
1,575
243
812
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Firstly, this hotel is brilliantly located. I flew into Belfast City Airport, and a ten minute bus journey later, I was two minutes' walk from the hotel. It is connected to the Europa Buscentre, so travel could not be easier.

The hotel is elegant throughout, with sharp decor and high standards of cleanliness. My room, an executive double (free upgrade, thank you!), was as impressive as would be expected of a prestigious 4* hotel such as this. It was clean, with an interesting view, an extremely comfortable bed and a great shower. As I was at a conference, the bed and shower were pretty much the only important parts of my room. The only slight disappointment was the room service, which was cooler than I would have liked and the pasta a little overcooked. The meal was very nice overall, however. On the subject of food, a neat segue leads to breakfast, which was brilliant. There was an extremely wide selection of porrige, cereal, cooked food and pastries. All were excellent and the cooked breakfast was piping hot (take note Holiday Inn Express!), with a leaflet to show from where all the ingredients were sourced.

I would like to make a special point about the customer service, which was outstanding. The staff were friendly and courteous and easily sorted out any issues, such as printing my boarding pass which was e-mailed to me. Very impressed.

On a final note, the conference facilities were great. It is no small matter to host a large conference and every aspect was taken care of. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank October_Teapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Yorkshire87,
Thank you for your detail in your feedback of your recent stay with us. It is really valuable to hear from a guest who has a real eye for detail.
We are really pleased to hear that you loved our prime location. We are also delighted that you loved our rooms with their comfortable beds and great shower.
Thank you for your lovely report on our breakfast and we also make note on the room service and will definitely monitor this.
Most of all we are happy to read about the excellent customer service you received with their friendliness and efficiency in dealing with requests.
We would love to have you back in the hotel for business or leisure in the future.
Many thanks again
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you’re looking for a central hotel in Belfast steeped in history you should definitely choose the Europa. From the moment we arrived we were made extremely welcome – valet parking on arrival, charming reception staff. We were shown up to our executive room – which had the biggest bed I’d ever seen, lovely bedding, great sleep! Lovely big room, spotlessly clean, flat screen TV, bath, separate shower etc. There was no free Wifi.

The bar served premium lagers such as Stella rather than the usual Heineken that you get in most hotels – my husband was delighted!

The hotel was made famous during the 80’s troubles being the most bombed hotel in Europe. Since then millions have been spent on its refurbishment. It is an elegant, modern hotel within walking distance of bars, restaurants. A bar you must go to is opposite – called The Crown – the interior is amazing straight out of the Victorian gin palace era. It has little booths for lunch/dinner. Definitely a photo opportunity.

President Clinton and his wife stayed in the hotel – the suite they stayed in was named after them and is on the 10th floor. The stairs leading to the reception is also worth a look as it charts the fascinating history of the hotel.

The breakfast is one of the finest I’ve had. All the ingredients are locally sourced, and you can even had porridge made with cream and Bushmills Irish Whiskey – which you pour yourself!
We went on a 90 minute black taxi tour which took in the murals on the Shankill Road and Falls Road. The driver was great, really informative an experience which I would definitely recommend. We also went to the Titanic Experience – again well worth doing and on the way back to the hotel we had cocktails in the Merchant Hotel – again well worth seeing the décor inside this very elegant hotel.

Felt extremely safe. Everyone we met was extremely friendly both in the hotel and outside and were more than eager to assist us when required!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenkeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear ellenkeegan,
Thank you for such positive feedback on your stay.
It's so great to read that from the moment you stepped into the hotel, you were made to feel so welcome with our efficient concierge service and our delightful reception staff.
We are delighted to hear you loved the executive room and all that it had to offer.
It's also good to hear your husband was well pleased with the beer selection. Thank you for noticing all the refurbishment and elegance of the hotel, along with the timeline charting the hotel's journey through the years.
Breakfast definitely is a must and a trip to Belfast without the Full Irish would be a shame.
Thank you again for your lovely comments and hopefully it won't be too long until you are back staying with us.
Many thanks
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip and have to say the service from all staff was first class . The rooms at the hotel are pretty standard , beds are large and comfy , excellent power shower and of course the Hastings hotel signature rubber duck . What really stood out for me was the customer service; I had early starts each morning and restaurant staff were more than happy to help me out with a bacon sarnie and coffee to go; Patrick the function manager said yes to all requests and delivered every time; bar staff couldn't have been more helpful , lighting candles and keeping everyone up todate whilst Belfast experienced a back out ; Staff also helped with printing boarding passes. The hotel has got in really right and I would definitely return .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJB2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear JJB2_13,
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted to hear that the service you received was 1st class. We are also happy to hear that what the hotel has to offer met the standard.
Patrick is delighted to read of your appreciation for the service he gives and thanks you.
Hope to see you soon maybe for a leisure break next time.
Many thanks
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel for a number of years, I was curious to stay if/how it had changed. The rooms are decent enough, with good views over the city from those at the front. However, no free wifi? No minibar? No fitness centre? No pool? This claims to be a four star hotel - it is not, it is a three star hotel. That said, the staff are friendly and efficient and cleanliness is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Ullans,
Thank you for expressing your opinion of the hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you feel this way. We are geared towards being a business hotel as opposed to a leisure hotel with fitness centre and pool. We do have sister hotels which cater for this but ultimately we are the prime location for residential conferences with n abundance of meeting and function space.
That said, many leisure guests visit us every year and are more than pleased with what the hotel has to offer, with its relaxing bars and lounges and great restaurant, not to mention its prime location with everything on your doorstep. Thank you also for commenting on our great staff here at the hotel. I do apologise if we were not what you were looking for.
Many thanks
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked 2 nights at the Europa and extended our stay by 2 more nights, the bed made me do it.

Check in staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The room was a fairly standard hotel room (superior), nothing special.

NO minibar which was surprising for a 4**** superior room, no where to put stuff I bought, milk etc.

The bathroom had great shower and separate bath.

The bed was tops, great sleep , lovely sheets etc. Forgot to check the make , so I could get one for myself.

Internet is expensive and not great, I would expect better from Belfasts top hotel.

Otherwise a good place to stay but not great value for 175 GBP a night (walk in rate).

Ordered room service and it came fast but costs extra 5 GBP for "tray service" . Food was OK.

Would stay again but would prefer an apartment to be able to cook and have a fridge.

Room Tip: We were next door to the Bill Clinton suite, cannot remember floor. 11 or 13 I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear AmsterdamEurope,
Thanks for posting this review on trip advisor. We recently invested in our new cloud beds in the hotel and delighted that they are paying the dividends and delivering comfort to our guests.
Thank you for also mentioning our friendly staff and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please next time you are in Belfast, check out our special offers on the website to ensure a good deal is had.
It is hotel policy that we don't have minibars in our rooms but certainly take on board your comments re wifi and room service.
Thank you again
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I live and work in belfast and have taken the europa for granted and never stayed always choosing the newer hotels which are very good but the europa outclassed them all! From the minute you arrive until check out the staff are there. So friendly but not patronising....food included in our package was of a very high standard. I know where we will be staying in future!!! The old ones really are the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Joan 901,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to show you what we have to offer here at the Europa. I am so delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations of the hotel in all areas. Hopefully we will be seeing a lot more of you in the future.
Many thanks again
Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,179 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,826 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing