We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chilled weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Hotel - Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkmichael, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“chilled weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend in the Europa.We flew in from Glasgow to the city airport and were impressed with the short transfer time to what is probably the best located good hotel in the city.Easy access to shops and a variety of bars abd restaurants were a real bonus,We attended a concert in the Ulster Hall which was a 2 minute walk away.Our room was lovely .comfortable and warm.The staff were all of a high standars as was the lovely breakfast in the morning.Suspect it wont be long till we re back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamj656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear williamj656,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with ourselves and got given the full service the Europa has to offer. I have passed on your fantastic feedback to our staff. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Belfast and we would love to have you return to the Europa. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,367
    1,060
    400
    171
    102
See reviews for
528
1,507
237
771
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

It is indeed a very nice hotel with a bit of old world charm! The only thing we ate at the hotel was scones - which were good!
The reason for writing this tho is - be careful of the room that you book. We booked one of the cheaper rooms, thru Hotels.com, and were feeling rather gleeful about the fact that we were going to stay at the Europa without spending an arm and a leg. However, the glee lasted only till we got to the room! The room was not very big, which is acceptable. However, the larger problem was that the room had no air conditioning and the windows opened only a crack!! Fresh air was not an option and even though we asked for fans, we didn't get them.
We come from a hot country and are used to the heat and stayed out as much as possible - so we survived. But for those who are not used to the heat, be careful!

Room Tip: If you are booking a cheaper room, its worthwhile to cross check whether the room has air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NilakshiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear NilakshiS,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am very disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. I am disappointed your room type did not live up to your expectations. The room you selected was our Classic Bedroom, which is the smallest of our room types having been part of the original Hotel which was built over 40 years ago. We do have larger bedroom types available to purchase. I would like to apologise that you did not receive a fan after requesting one and I have taken this issue up with our Reception Team and I can assure you we are monitoring their service levels very closely. I hope these issues did not affect your overall opinion of the Europa and we would love to have you stay again with ourselves where I am confident we can improve on your last visit. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are just back from another fab night in the Europa! We just love it there, the staff are second to none, Helen Mc Cune is a wee star, always on top form and looks after us so well, the bar staff and floor staff in piano lounge are amazing. We go back to the hotel so often for the great service, lovely bunch of guys, really helpful, we love the chilled out atmosphere the cocktails and the breakfast in the morning! We only live 20 odd miles away and just love visiting, even when we aren't staying over we are always calling in on Saturday nights with friends for cocktails, the Europa is a firm favourite among our family and friends, it has great character and always a fab atmosphere, everyone is so welcoming, honestly I wouldn't stay anywhere else, well worth the money, great value for money at that! each staff member will go out if their way for you, what can I say, I could go on about how fab this place is all day, just see for yourselves

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiramcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Keiramcc,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with ourselves and got given the full service the Europa has to offer. I have passed on your fantastic feedback to our staff and especially Helen. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Belfast and we would love to have you return to the Europa. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife & I visited the hotel again for a break which consisted of Dinner-B+B (Valentine weekend). The meal which formed part of the deal was poor and the service was terrible, so much so that we left during the main course. We reported our concerns to the front desk straight away.

The breakfast including the service the next morning was really good.

Upon check out we spoke again to the front desk and they handled the situation in a very mature and professional way. We wish to thank Andy Mc N for dealing with our compliant in a swift and personalised manner.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the beds are the best in Belfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewen303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear ewen303,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am very disappointed to hear of the service you received during your evening meal. I can assure you have brought these issues up with our Restaurant Manager and Head Chef and we are monitoring their teams service levels very closely. I am delighted to hear that you received an excellent service during your breakfast and I have passed on your kind comments to Andy McNeil. I hope these issues did not affect your overall opinion of the Europa and we would love to have you stay again with ourselves where I am confident we can improve on your last visit. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enniskillen
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

we stayed here between christmas and the new year on a one nighter..it was a very cold day when we arrived but not half as cold as our room was...obviously no one had used the room for a while prior to our arrival and no heating had been put on..the room was freezing. we did contact reception to make them aware of the issue and all credit to them they had a man up to look at it within 15minutes..he explained that housekeeping hadnt put the heating on and that it would probably take a good hour for the room to warm up..we left the hotel to find a bar/restaurant that was warm and cosy to eat and have a drink..when we returned we were at least able to take our coats off. we paid quite a substantial amount of money to freeze in our room..it will be a very long time before i will book the europa again i did make staff aware of the situation but it seemed to be put up and get on with it..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear sheilaandjj,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent at the Europa Hotel. I am very disappointed to hear of the issues that arose during your stay. I can assure you I have taken your issues up with Maintenance and Reception Managers and we are monitoring their service levels to ensure this does not happen again. I hope these issues didn’t not affect your overall opinion of the Europa and we would love to have you stay again with ourselves where I am confident we can improve on your last visit.

We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Room 1007 was clean and very comfortable. Slept very well. Breakfast buffet very tasty. would definitely stay here again. Location excellent to walk to city hall and Victoria square shopping centre

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terminus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear terminus69,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am so delighted you enjoyed your visit and received the full service the Europa Hotel has to offer and I passed all of your very kind comments to our staff members. We would love to have you return to the Europa again and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived on the 9th of Feb 2013 for a one night stay and from the moment we arrived there appeared to be a large group in residence who were permanently noisy, boisterious and very drunk and making a nuisance of themselves all over the hotel.After we had settled into our room which was very comfortable and spacious we decided to go for a drink but avoided the hotel bar and went out for a drink and dinner, on our return we thought about a nightcap but decided to give the bar a miss. Having stayed previously in the europa we were looking forward to breakfast but were sent to the bar area for breakfast where the few staff that were on duty seemed to be overwhelmed and we had to fetch our own coffee(which was at best lukewarm)clear our table and queue for quite a while for the cooked breakfast.The hotel appeared unable to cope and we certainly will not be returning as we were left very dissappointed

Room Tip: dont go in busy periods
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airmilesLondonderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear airmilesLondonderry,

Thank you for providing your feedback from your recent stay with ourselves. I am disappointed your stay did not live up to your expectations. I would like to apologise for the level of noise that was in the Hotel during you stay. We had numerous members of staff managing the large event and I can assure you we where dealing with the issue. My apologies that the service during your breakfast unacceptable, I have taken this up with our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager to ensure we continue to strive to provide the most efficient and highest quality standard of service. I appreciate you where disappointed with your overall stay and we would love to have the chance for you to visit and stay with ourselves again where I am confident we can improve on your last stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing