We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Good location for business and city centre tourists. Lots of excellent places to eat. I was with a small party and we ate at James Street South Restaurant about 5 minutes walk away, pricey but very good indeed. The hotel standard was a resonable average serving a good Ulster breakfast, my room was one of the smallest I have ever stayed in but clean and adequate for one night with a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,338 - 4,344 of 4,542 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2008

On arrival at hotel for a three day stay, greeted by building work to reception and downstairs restaurant. No mention of this when booking. Only one lift working and a queue to use it. Room was lovely on arrival. Flat screen TV, bathroom with power shower, toiletries and tea & coffee making facilties.

However, only the milk was topped up - no replacemant tea or coffee at any time. The beds were only made - no clean sheets or towels and it was obvious that the bathroom was not cleaned.

Despite all this, the hotel is perfectly situated in the city. You can walk everywhere. A number of very good bars and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
1  Thank SnowyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights recently. Hotel was having a major refurbishment . Did not have a problem with that - anyone with an ounce of common sense would avoid getting into a hazardous situation with a workman and his tools. Majority of staff were wonderful and extremely helpful.

Bedrooms were clean and warm, and the beds were comfortable. The double glazing cut out any noise.

However, if you are expecting half descent food do not eat here. The a la carte menu was minimal and all items were bland including the specially arranged buffet. Staff could not seat 2 adults and 2 children in the half empty restaurant - but could manage to hastily seat them in the bar. Single people were turned away also and the restaurant never filled up with customers during the time we spent at the bar eating - not drinking I may add. The breakfast menu was fine, usual fayre of sausage, bacon, egg, black & white with a bottle of whiskey left by the porridge if thats what floats your boat first thing in the morning.

Would stay here again strictly on a room only basis and bring in Subway sandwiches from across the road to eat in my room.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank deedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

we had booked a double room but the room we were allocated was clearly a single.The room was small and there was only 1 towel and 1 coffee mug. Having tried to contact both reception and housekeeping to get some more towels- neither answered- we had to contact the duty manager.

The bathroom was also small and the sink was dirty- toothpaste remnants and stubble. the glasses provided were filthy.

Breakfast was ok but we were initially shown to a table with a dirty tablecloth and had to chase the staff for coffee

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTMNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Despite the good location and down pillows, this hotel has nothing going for it. "Free valet parking" means the valet will take it to the car park for you without a charge. The parking fee is $50 per night. The bed had no mattress pad. When this was called to staff attention, a young man appeared at the door with a flimsy plastic cover with a felt backing. My sister and I had to strip and remake the bed ourselves. Later, we wished we hadn't done that because it exposed the deplorable condition of the mattress. Multiple blood stains and many others not identified. There was also a definite sag.

The room cleanliness is generally lacking. Screws are coming out of fixtures and some fixtures are loose. The bathroom has a great shower, but the bathroom has a glass door that does not close tight so every sound is clear.

We obtained an ice bucket for a bottle of wine that leaked all over the table, ruining a new book I brought along. Each day, the towel supply dwindled until the 3rd day when there were no face cloths at all. Plus, a used one had been left in the tub. The bed linen was never changed.

At check out, we requested and received assistance with our bags, getting them downstairs. This is good because there is no elevator service to the ground floor. However, we were left to our devices to lift the bags into the trunk.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthegoat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

I must say that this hotel is fantastic. I have been here for different reason and always found a great welcome.
I hope to be back in Belfast a maybe with the Europa again. Liked staff, decor,room. Thanks a lot

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank booz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Smart, well run.

A prestige hotel, well located in Central Belfast.

Clean, good state of decor, very busy. Good breakfast.

The #600 Airport bus terminates very close by, save taxi costs - only £1.30

On my second visit, they lost my reservation. My blood pressure went up! Fortunately, they relocated me to the Group's even posher Culloden Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disgusted17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,115 reviews
Hilton Belfast
#20 of 45 in Belfast
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,645 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $142 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing