We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice spot to relax”

Bert's Jazz Bar at The Merchant Hotel Belfast
Ranked #100 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really nice spot to relax”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Whether it's lunch or dinner - I thoroughly enjoy each visit to Berts... Great selection of drinks, good food and the overall atmosphere makes you think you are somewhere nicer than Northern Ireland!

Not everyone will get Berts, but if you appreciate good food and a lively jazz atmosphere - you should enjoy yourself. It's a good middle ground between a casual eatery and fine dining.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    91
    49
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stumbled across Bert's in The Merchant hotel and was very impressed. A family meal in great surroundings with excellent service.Two diners had the chateaubriand which was superb, One the fish, also very good and the children enjoyed the childrens menu.Will be back as we would like to hear the Jazz band!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClampetsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very expensive for what you get”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful restaurant with great service, food very pricey and not worth the outlay as we both felt Hungary afterwards, not a great sign

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank beattie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. antrim
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A real treat...I can't wait till I go back again. Fab Jazz, fab food and fab cocktails!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

A part of a group of 8 I went to Berts to listen to Jazz and have meal and some cocktails.
All three were outstanding, as was the service. Cannot fault anything.
It has a great ambience and the decor is gorgeous.
I tried the 'Aviation' cocktail and just could not get over how good it was, really well made; deliciously subtle but packed a punch.
5 stars out of 5!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bushmills-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Impeccable food but £10 per head cover plus 10% is over e top”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Loved the food and the Jazz was pleasant and not overly dominant (unless your table is at the front 2 feet from the stage where you would struggle to have a conversation) Service was stretched as everyone eats at the same time for an 8.30 sitting. No-one pouring wine, we had to ask for bread, more wine, coffees, bill...A table of six we paid £60 for the jazz and another £38 service - Our meal last month in the great room next door was actually cheaper once that was added and much more of an occasion, better food and service. Unless you love jazz I'd give this a miss.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank photoiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bert's Jazz Bar at The Merchant Hotel Belfast also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Bert's Jazz Bar at The Merchant Hotel Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing