We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid morning snack”
Review of Maryville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maryville House
Ranked #8 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Mid morning snack”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Called in by chance and had bagels bacon and cream cheese. Very nice indeed with large pot of tea. Very pleasant surroundings. Def would go back and reasonably priced too. Staff were also very welcoming offering a high chair for the baby

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    46
    23
    12
    9
See reviews for
42
54
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I was given an afternoon tea voucher for Christmas from my daughter. I have to say honestly it was one of the nicest experiences I have had in a long time. After the endless days and nights of bad service at local eateries wrong orders moody staff and a general attitude of pay and go Maryville House was a refreshing and uplifting change.

My daughter and I where greeted at the door, brought straight to our table which was beautifully set, and asked with real interest how we were! We where offered tea while we had a look at the menu and the waitress chatted away even though the tea room was busy. Once our order was placed we where left to sit and enjoy the atmosphere of this lovely house.
Just before our afternoon tea was about to be presented the SAME waitress offered us fresh drinks. I highlight the same waitress as it is lovely to have the same person continue to serve you throughout your time in a restaurant. The afternoon tea was scrumptious. Fresh sandwiches, warm scones, mini traybakes and jellies and lemon moose severd with cute spoons tied with ribbion!

Overall a fantastic and quaint experience that I most definitely will be repeating!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lizthefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

After two excellent visits to this tearoom, I recommended it to a group of friends. Sadly this time things were different. Sandwiches were fresh and tasty but sweet selection left a lot to be desired. They were very dry and tasteless, not like previous times. We had to wait for ages for our order to be taken and even then had to call the waitress. We had to ask for more hot water and just felt the service was lacking. I wrote to complain but did not receive a reply. When I eventually telephoned I received an apology and an assurance that all complaints were taken seriously.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEO1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had afternoon tea with my wife for our anniversary, had to chop and change booking due to late arrivals of family so rather than 2 ended up with 5 and a baby! Staff were friendly, attentive and understanding. Lovely decor, romantic setting, afternoon tea was tasty and festive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaun3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Christmas afternoon tea was a lovely treat with fresh sandwiches, mini turkey tarts, little ginger bread men and lots of other little fancies. Very attentive staff and lovely setting for a Tea room. I had priced The Merchant and the Europa but this was half the price it was just lovely. Great treat for family and friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

There's an excellent reason (amongst many) to return to Belfast and that's Maryville House. Extremely comfortable accommodation, beautiful decor, relaxing atmosphere, delicious drink and food (even home-made scones and cakes on the landing for guests), friendly people and close to lovely places to shop and eat on the Lisburn Road. Easy to get into the town centre - but so many bus stops why not stroll along a while, it's worth it. Great value too!

Highly recommended and looking forward to my next visit already. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pemberton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed at the B and B at Maryville House for a conference at Queens Uni Belfast. I booked via an online booking site and promptly received an email from Maryville asking when I would be arriving etc. A nice touch, instantly assuring me that I was going to be staying somewhere that cared. The staff were really accommodating of my dietary needs sorting a gluten free breakfast for me, and making it early so I could get to the conference on time. The rooms are lovely, really very clean and beautifully decorated. Bed was comfy and the variety of complimentary tea, coffee, juices and cakes on offer was really good. Lisburn road has lots of cafes and restaurants on offer and is right on a bus route into the city centre. Lovely place. I will be returning the next time I stay in Belfast for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
The Gregory
#2 of 48 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryville House

Property: Maryville House
Address: 2 Maryville Park, Belfast BT9 6LN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryville House is an exquisite Victorian residence, superbly renovated with a modern twist. It is situated on the cosmopolitan Lisburn Road in South Belfast, within its own private grounds together with secure car-parking and bus routes into the city centre. It is situated within close proximity to the motorway. The boutique accommodation includes the following facilities:• Individually designed rooms with antique furniture• All rooms have an en-suite• Free wireless internet access• Flat screen TV• Tea and coffee making facilities with selection of homemade scones and traybakes fresh daily from our bakery• Complimentary sparkling and still mineral water• Ipod dock/charger/alarm clock on request• Iron/ironing board• Hairdryer• Sewing kit• Golf tee off times can be arranged at N.I. top clubs• Salmon fishing trips can be arranged at the Tilenmore Fishery on the famous River Finn. Maryville’s breakfasts include a wide and varying range of the finest options from healthy fresh fruit salads and natural organic yoghurts to Eggs Benedict or the Maryville House Full Breakfast, served with free range eggs and the finest quality locally sourced sausage. The range of specialty Suki Teas is endless and an extensive range of coffees is made with the finest lusso beans. Maryville also serves all day breakfasts for its guests. In addition, Maryville’s unique in-house tearoom offers a delicious range of light lunches and home-baked fare. With their own bakery, artisan breads, tray-bakes, pastries, cakes and scones are baked daily. They are complemented by homemade jams from their family farm in County Armagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryville House Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing