We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely disgraceful.”
Review of Maryville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maryville House
Ranked #8 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked two rooms for 4 of us only to be told on the day before we arrived that two of us had to sleep in the function room because they double booked us. This we didn't mind. But whilst we were away they came into the room (manager at that) and snooped around our room lifting the drink ww had sitting. That's what we noticed god only knows what else they have took or snooped threw!! WILL DEFINATELY NOT BE RETURNING!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrShaun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryvilleHouse, Manager at Maryville House, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Shaun Logue,
We are a family friendly B&B that accommodates for many people from all over the world, we had asked you to keep the noise down, as there had been loud voices from the room earlier in the day. Our main concern was the comfort and good sleep for all other guest which were staying with us, as mentioned earlier we were a full house. Some of our guests were elderly, waking up early for travel arrangements etc. There were complaints the following day due to your behaviour. We had to bring in an extra member of staff in to keep an eye on our premises during the night due to noise from your room. The following day the waiting staff had to endure inappropriate prank calls from your group.
We offered to give you our function room to stay in, purely as an emergency solution, which as you pointed out were happy to accept prior of your arrival. We were aware that accessing a room in Belfast on this date (due to Tennents vital festival, that you were attending ) was next to impossible! We did apologise for this mistake of double booking several times. As you were staying in the room our manager had to collect crockery for a function the following day. She could not help noticing 4 bottles of vodka, a bottle of rum, a bottle of baccardi breezer along with 3 empty wine bottles& mixers, a lot of alcohol for four persons!!. We are not licensed premises! You were instantly informed of these bottles being kept for you to collect the following day, as you at this stage were at the concert. You were also informed that the Lisburn road has many bars and restaurants where you could to enjoy the rest of your evening.

I do not wish for any proprietor to have to endure this complete immature and irresponsible behaviour from any guest .Thankfully we have been blessed from these problems prior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 230 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for one night only but would definitely come back if visiting Belfast again. Very welcoming staff. Had a lovely room which was tastefully furnished with a very comfortable bed. Really appreciated the continental breakfast at 6am as we were departing early to catch a ferry. Also appreciated complimentary teas and cakes from the tearoom a very nice, generous touch. Good location and on the main bus route.
Karen and Peter
Sligo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have been here quite a few times and went for breakfast with my friend this morning. My friend booked 'the Snug' for us which is a beautiful little private room. The food is delicious, everything from a cooked breakfast to scones etc plus every tea you could think if us on the menu. The service is great. I would definitely recommend this establishment for either breakfast, lunch or even just coffee/tea and scones or biscuits. I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed here but eaten here quite a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibaba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for afternoon tea, one member of our party changed their minds to order seafood chowder, disappointing only got prawns in it. Waitress quickly gave us a free sandwich. High tea was ok, dry scones, small cakes, only 3/4 of a sandwich.
Overall not impressed, staff also seemed very stressed and messed the tables next to us order twice. Food was ok, and for the expensive not worth it I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Really good lunch here a few days ago. More-ish but satisfying food. I want to go back already. Service good, if not a little slow- I am being picky.
Great value, clean, limited parking, accessible for disabled clients though I didn't check toilet facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABeanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed during the July bank holiday weekend. The owners were away, but we were looked after very well by Nicole. We virtually had the place to ourselves which was great. Our room was comfortable, despite the heat. Our continental breakfasts were excellent as was the "full Irish" on the last morning. Would stay there again and recommend it as an ideal base to explore Belfast and Northern Ireland

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just had afternoon tea today in the little tea rooms, it was superb from start to finish! The place itself is situated in one of the most beautiful leafy streets of Belfast and today was such a lovely day that the Lisburn Road was vibrant and buzzing with people enjoying the weather. We were welcomed by a lovely girl who was very accomodating although they did lose our booking. We were seated quickly and given menus. I would so impressed with the decor and lovely atmosphere of the place. The waitresses were all very attentive and friendly and the food was delicious and presented beautifully. There were women of all ages enjoying the afternoon tea experience (even a lady celebrating her 70th birthday with friends- so lovely!) and at £12.50 per person much more affordable than the large hotels in the City centre. My friend and I really loved Maryville and I cant wait to return with more friends!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah020484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,609 reviews
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,057 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryville House

Address: 2 Maryville Park, Belfast BT9 6LN, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range: $128 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryville House is an exquisite Victorian residence, superbly renovated with a modern twist. It is situated on the cosmopolitan Lisburn Road in South Belfast, within its own private grounds together with secure car-parking and bus routes into the city centre. It is situated within close proximity to the motorway. The boutique accommodation includes the following facilities:• Individually designed rooms with antique furniture• All rooms have an en-suite• Free wireless internet access• Flat screen TV• Tea and coffee making facilities with selection of homemade scones and traybakes fresh daily from our bakery• Complimentary sparkling and still mineral water• Ipod dock/charger/alarm clock on request• Iron/ironing board• Hairdryer• Sewing kit• Golf tee off times can be arranged at N.I. top clubs• Salmon fishing trips can be arranged at the Tilenmore Fishery on the famous River Finn. Maryville’s breakfasts include a wide and varying range of the finest options from healthy fresh fruit salads and natural organic yoghurts to Eggs Benedict or the Maryville House Full Breakfast, served with free range eggs and the finest quality locally sourced sausage. The range of specialty Suki Teas is endless and an extensive range of coffees is made with the finest lusso beans. Maryville also serves all day breakfasts for its guests. In addition, Maryville’s unique in-house tearoom offers a delicious range of light lunches and home-baked fare. With their own bakery, artisan breads, tray-bakes, pastries, cakes and scones are baked daily. They are complemented by homemade jams from their family farm in County Armagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryville House Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing