We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and elegant city hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simple and elegant city hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed for three nights over new years eve. We had an executive room with a lovely view across the river and famous Harland and Woolf cranes, which was charming. The room was spacious and nicely decorated, and the bed was huge and really comfy. Our main gripe was that the walls weren't that thick and we could hear a family with kids - who were divided up into the rooms either side of us - shrieking and screaming, hurtling up and down the corridor to each other's rooms all the time, and pounding on the doors all the time. being kids, they also woke up early, which meant we did too - not what you want over new years in Northern Ireland, or indeed at any time. Especially when you pay full whack for a nice hotel.

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, or have breakfast - not included in the room price and nearly 20 pounds each for breakfast struck us very much as someone having a laugh. We did have some drinks in the bar which was nice, if a bit hard round the edges. We had a hungover new years day sandwich lunch in the bar too, which was average and very, very over expensive for the quality, taste and size of what we got. But we were famished!

Staff all very friendly and smiley though, and helpful with info.

I'd recommend and would stay he on future visits to Belfast. Don't cough up for breakfast or the pricey sandwiches though, and maybe make sure you're on a floor away from any families if you want some peace and quiet, and some proper sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    878
    422
    182
    110
See reviews for
323
1,132
111
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yorks
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We booked this hotel for £140 as a top secret in Belfast on Last minute and we were delighted with the room and service overall. Breakfast was a little disappointing but still OK value. Car parking was very expensive though at £38 even with hotel discount.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maccapakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed in this hotel thinking we were going to receive 5* treatment. Firstly, we checked in and the receptionists asked how we were going to pay for any additional charges i.e. room service. We decided to opt for cash on departure as this was an option given to us. When we ordered room service we received a very polite letter asking us to go to reception. When we produced the letter to the receptionists we were rudely told that we were not allowed to order room service without a credit card or a cash deposit. We explained that we didn’t know that and cash on departure was given to us as an option of payment. However this was dismissed and we were given a polite telling off that in future we were to have a cash deposit or credit card when ordering room service.
Secondly, when checking out of the hotel we unfortunately got ‘stung’ with a £36 parking fee. In the elevators there is a notice informing residents of the charges that apply to the EUF car park. I presumed that this was a different car park as the Hilton car park is clearly named as the ‘Hilton car park’. Both receptionists were EXTREMELY rude and arrogantly told me that there was no such thing as free parking with any hotels in Belfast (this information is incorrect) and I should have read the notices. I told them that the notices refer to a different car park but apparently I should have looked harder as the car park adjacent to the hotel is not officially the Hilton car park, but has Hilton branded all over it…. Needless to say we will not be returning to this Hotel as we feel that is not deserving of a 5* rating....

On the plus side, the room was comfortable and very clean and the food was very good....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcmanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

We have been regular clients in the Belfast Hilton for the past 10 Years staying up to 4/5 times a year . We also stay in many other Hiltons around the World , but always look forward to returning to this hotel .
The staff are the real jewel in the crown from we arrive at the front hall , check in , executive lounge staff , housekeepers , etc . Any problem is solved immediately by the very sufficient management , a special mention goes to Mr Damian Gilvary whom we have known and who has looked after my family over the years . Nothing is too much trouble for him and his team .
We continue to visit this hotel and highly recommend it to all our friends and family . Thank you guys once again !!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesbaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

Booked this hotel at the last minute and got a really good rate, location is excellent next door to the Waterfront and close to Victoria Square for shopping.
As this is a five star hotel I was expecting something a bit special but to be honest the room let it down, I've stayed in 3 and 4 star hotels in Belfast with nicer rooms, our room in particular looked out into the waterfront hall service yard, had water stains on the ceiling, chipped bath and was generally grubby, not what I would have expected from a five star hotel.
On the other hand the breakfast in the morning was excellent!
I would stay in this hotel again but only if I got a good deal, I would have been more disappointed had I paid the full price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIY_Dave74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

Myself and my fiancé stayed here for 2 nights to attend an event in the odyssey and it was also my fiances 30th birthday. Never again!! Our room was not cleaned for the 2 nights we were there, despite requesting it to be cleaned three times! Finally someone came up when we were out and made the bed, there were glasses in the room and cups as we had coffee the night before and all were left in the room, we did not even have clean cups to make a cup of coffee.When we arrived the room was booked on the credit card, we then got a note under the door stating that there was a problem with the method of payment. We had to go down to reception and sort this out, after the girl initially telling us when we arrived that the room had already been charged to the credit card. It made us feel so uncomfortable. At that stage i requested clean towels for the room, which did not arrive. When we did go down to check out after our two nights, there were items on the bill which were not ours and there were items which were paid for in cash in the bar the night before which were also charged on the bill. The duty manager spoke to us, after we sat waiting on her for 15 minutes, and was "terribly sorry for the inconvenience" and assured us should we stay there again the experience would be certainly be of a high standard - even though we both told her that we would never stay in the hotel again. The parking then amounted to £36 for the 2 nights, which we were also not expecting.
The staff were most unhelpful and unfriendly.
We had a lovely time in Belfast but would certainly not recommend the Hilton and will definitely never stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank art2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBelfast, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you experienced issues during your stay, please accept my sincere apologies for this and for any inconvenience caused to you as a result, particularly on such a special occasion. I have discussed each point you have highlighted with our Management team to address and resolve appropriately with their teams.
I welcome the oppurtunity to discuss your stay personally and to redeem your faith in our hotel.
Look forward to hearing from you, my email address is damian.gilvary@hilton.com

Kindest Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

Stayed Sat 27 Nov 2010 for my birthday with my boyfriend. Had booked an Executive Suite, it was gorgeous. Excellent views of River Lagan, Stormont and Scrabo. Room was spotless. Spent Sat evening in the Executive lounge, free drinks 6 pm - 8.30 pm, service and comfort great. Went down to Cables Bar for the rest of the evening. Service in hotel was first class and definately would go back. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrolheadchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBelfast, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding our Executive Lounge on the 11th floor and excellent views from our Executive Suite. We are lucky to have fantastic views over Belfast Lough to Harland & Wolff which our guests frequently request and comment on. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hilton Belfast very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Property: Hilton Belfast
Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing