We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our base for Belfast”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our recent trip to Northern Ireland started and ended at the Belfast Hilton.
The staff were accommodating with early check in, the executive lounge was comfortable and offered a nice view.
The room decor seems a little dated, but well equipped and clean.
The hotel is in a great location for walking to everything in the area, and easily accessed by car.
Special thanks to Tony the concierge for being so helpful with advice and parking the car!
Overall a good experience.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Belfast. I am very pleased to learn that you left with such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,911)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Belfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,379 - 1,385 of 2,911 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at the hilton belfast recently with a few friends, i told them before how good it was before so i had to bring them to let them see for themselves, i booked 2 executive rooms, lovely spotless room as usual, we had tea at the cables bar, lovely, we popped into the executive lounge and we were met by a lovely friendly and very helpful lady called Mary, its not very often we are treated to such high customer service like this, This lady Mary is a true ambassador for the hilton name, Breakfast was 1st class too all you can eat! No complaints whatsoever, 10/10

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuffDiverIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It looks like we've ticked all the boxes for you and your family in order for you to have a memorable stay.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

5 minutes from Belfast Central train station (trains arrive here from Dublin)
10 minutes to city centre shops
Office blocks surround it
Deluxe room (9th floor) - modern, clean, spacious, really comfortable bed, view of city through dirty windows!
Staff are friendly once they start talking to you otherwise a little rude (will continue their own conversation until ready)
Breakfast is a buffet, the usual fair (full Irish, continental), staff are quite attentive.
£5 to use hotel lobby computer, no wifi in rooms, sketchy wifi in lobby
Expensive parking

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IrishTraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us at Hilton Belfast during your recent visit to the city. And may I also thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Belfast in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Booked a two night stay here to explore Belfast. The hotel is quite central which is a plus and is only a 15 min walk to the bus station where you catch the fast and frequent bus link to international airport. The Titanic quarter and exhibition is also within walking distance of the hotel.

Sadly we weren't all that impressed with the hotel. It felt like the reception was manned by trainees. Its common on check in to check the room type you have booked, offer you a number of keys, a newspaper, wake up calls, etc! This didn't happen here. When we got to our room it was made up as double, so we had to go back down to reception to request it to be made up as a twin.

I have a Hilton HHonors Gold card and as the hotel was full they couldn't offer an upgrade to an exec floor, so in lieu of lounge access am meant to be offered a continental breakfast in the restaurant, the receptionist said she had been told this was only for Diamonds.

We went out to eat (at a nice place called Flame, 10 mins down the road) and i double checked and it is a Gold benefit. On our return to the hotel i spoke to reception who said on this occasion she would offer breakfast, but it felt like a real battle to get something which should be offered.

Again no other benefits were offered, no bottled water in the room, etc and a room right by the elevators, when my profile specifically requests to be away from these.

The room was small but clean and comfortable... We overlooked a parking lot and could just about see the river.

The breakfast (that we had to fight to get) was nice and the staff were attentive and friendly. Good coffee and a wide selection of food.

We stopped by the bar one night for a drink, but left after one as the bar area had a horrible smell of sewage.

Emailed the hotel for a response and was told maybe they need to look at retraining some staff. Sadly this experience has put us off our using Hilton for our return visit to Belfast and we are trying the Raddisson Blu in October.

Overall not a fantastic stay, due to my partners work patterns we were looking for a hotel to stay in regularly in Belfast, sadly it won't be the Hilton.





Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent return stay at the hotel, we always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations.

I have shared your review with the relevant department managers and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I thank you very much once again for your feedback, and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We booked four nights in an executive room at the Hilton Belfast to insure at least one great property during our trip – what a mistake. After traveling by train, coach, ferry and taxi from Edinburgh, we arrived not long after 6:00 pm and was told that the room may not be ready until tomorrow due to maintenance problems, but we will be placed in a smaller room and then able to move when a room is available. The young woman who checked us in, was polite, professional, and the only staff member, besides the executive room employees, that we felt did a good job. Another woman (I believe she was an Assistant Manager) came over and said that we could have had the room we reserved months earlier if we had arrived sooner. An hour later we were told the room was ready and the staff moved our luggage. In this room, two of the telephones did not work There was also a bottle cap with a wired seal on the floor - I took this to the front desk. While there, I spoke to the concierge about trips to the Giant's Causeway. He told us the only way to be picked up at the hotel for the trip was to book through him which is $5 more than booking online. As I expected, this was not true as some people had even taken a cab from another hotel to meet the shuttle at the Hilton. He also encouraged us to take trip the next day as the weather will be perfect; we did but there was sea mist for the entire time that we were on the coastal route (obviously mist was not his fault, but what a poor recommendation) so we did not see the coastal views..
One morning we awoke to find no hot water. After being told by front desk staff that there was no estimate when the problem would be corrected, we went out without showering (Sorry if you sat by us). When returning early that evening, we asked another concierge about the hot water being restored and he told us that we can get a free drink at the bar. I told him that neither of us would be drinking more than a glass of water so that does nothing to compensate us and his response was, “ No worries.” In my opinion, this was an absolutely ridiculous response.
Overall, the hotel would have been fairly nice if the customer service had been significantly better.
But then our experience became even worse when we tried checking out at our next hotel because the credit card was declined due to Hilton Belfast maintaining the pre-authorization even after processing the final payment.
Over 2 weeks ago, I sent a more detailed review to a Hilton customer service rep and two hotel staff members, but no response has been received. Our experience has made us feel that Hilton no longer cares about their consumers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StuckOnaTub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

I am disappointed that you have been left with such a poor impression of our hotel. Our aim is to create an outstanding experience at the Hilton Belfast and customer feedback is very important to us.

Should you wish to discuss your feedback further please don’t hesitate to contact me directly - ciaran.mcmanus@hilton.com

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Regards,

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Rooms were very clean and well decorated with comfortable beds and bathroom.Staff were very friendly and helpful Breakfast was amazing with a great selection, you would be spoiled for choice! The dinner food quality was second to none especially the fish. Staff were very helpful especially the head concierge who picked up and drove my dad to the hospital when he had an accident. He also printed our boarding passes for us as the printers were being repaired. Check in was delayed as room was not ready however this was very quickly dealt with.The hotel was very close to the city centre with great views of the titanic Belfast centre which as walking distance and docks. Check out was quick and easy and any issues with the bill were quickly and efficiently dealt with with no problems or arguments. Fitness centre was well equipped with new, safe and easy to use machines. All in all a fantastic hotel which we will not hesitate to go to when we return to Belfast. Easily the best hotel in Ireland

Room Tip: choose an executive room so you have access to the lovely executive lounge, well worth the extra mon...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Philgidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It looks like we've ticked all the boxes for you and your family in order for you to have a memorable stay.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Second visit to the Hilton in Belfast, it is the nicest Hilton we have stayed in. We stayed in the King Executive Suite which was beautiful. Just a few little things to say, there was something wrong with the shower and it dripped constantly the whole night also we phoned down to order breakfast for our room as we were rushing to get ready to catch our ferry so didn't have time to go down to eat. I explained this on the phone when I ordered and they told me breakfast would be no longer than 10 minutes, 40 minutes later with 5 minutes before we had to leave we were still waiting, I had to call down to ask, they informed me it was on it's way, when it arrived some of the order was missing but we had no time to query this. This wouldn't put us off returning though as it is a lovely hotel. Special mention also to Donna on reception who was exceptionally helpful and shows a real interest in guests which is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Belfast.

I am very pleased to learn that you left with such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ciarán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 44 in Belfast
1,584 reviews
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 44 in Belfast
1,373 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $137 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing