We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and excellent facilities”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for 2 nights. It was our first trip to Belfast and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. We booked an executive room and the access to the lounge was a great extra to avail of, with cold drinks, teas/coffees and pastries available during the day and alcohol and canapes in the evening.

When we checked in we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff called Donna who checked us in quickly and was great giving us information about the local area and directions for getting to the King's Hall for the Bruce Springsteen concert.

The bed was extremely comfortable and excellent air conditioning in the room.

All staff we encountered from breakfast to drinks in the bar in the evening were friendly, courteous and informative.

Overall a great experience and lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Executive level rooms are superb on higher floors and access to the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review of Hilton Belfast. It is very pleasing to read comments from guests who have had great experience with us and is very encouraging to all of the team here.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,884 - 1,890 of 3,058 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've stayed at this Hilton in Belfast over half a dozen times, mainly for business but also once on a trip with my Mum. For me, a hotel that is consistently great really deserves a review - as once can be a fluke but this place never disappoints! I'll start by saying the only thing that stops it being 5 stars for me is the price of the parking, and the lack of free wifi if you aren't staying on the HHonours scheme.

But, onto the positives! I've always had a comfortable and peaceful stay here, the breakfasts have always been fantastic, the staff have always been polite, friendly, and smily, which always makes a difference, and nothing is too much trouble. The executive lounge is always well stocked and relaxing, unlike some other Hilton's where it's been crowded and noisy.

The hotel is also just 10 mins or so away from City Airport (if that), a short walk from the main shopping areas, and right next to the river and St. George's Market. Wholeheartedly recommend the Hilton if you're in Belfast!

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the lifts are great, and if you're feeling lucky or have an HHonours car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savagenoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Belfast. I am very pleased to learn that you left with such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very pleasant staff were happy to help. I stayed for my birthday and the morning after my birthday the maid brought in a lovely chocolate dessert which read happy birthday in strawberry sauce which was deeelicious.would gladly recommend to anyone and if you want to go out the have a very reliable bus service with a discount as well. Food was lovely beautiful breakfast buffet and lovely scenery will gladly return soon

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Mia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It looks like we've ticked all the boxes for you and your partner in order for you to have a memorable birthday stay.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Check in staff were pleasant upgraded to the club rooms (Diamond Status) had to change rooms though 2 singles instead of a king.
Breakfast was good.
The Lounge was good, included alcohol 6pm -8pm.
Great location.
Expensive parking 18 pound overnight, no in & out.
Bed was very average, not comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtwmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Belfast. I am very pleased to learn that you left with a positive impression. I must admit that our beds are one of the main areas which we are complimented on, never-the-less, I am sorry that on this occasion you felt otherwise. and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a great 1 night stay here got an upgrade which is always nice. The staff were more than helpfull room clean and spacious the exec lounge nice and the girl very friendly.Very helpful with parking my goldwing and arranged a taxi trip tour for us next morning. They say you get what you pay for or in this case more than I paid for I would return if in Belfast again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Eddie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a top rated review for Hilton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their experiences with rest of the world.
A very warm welcome awaits you on your next stay.
Kind regards,
Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for a two night break with our teens to have a bit of retail therapy and relaxation. Found the hotel easily enough thanks to their good directions and a google map print out. You can avail of secure parking beside the hotel at a cost of approx £18.00 per day. Hotel is conveniently situted for walking to main to city centre.
We had two interconnecting rooms (304 and 306), on the thrd floor. Rooms were spacious but a little uninspiring with the decor. We had a queen sized bed which was comfy and had nice down pilows, the duvet however seemed to be skimp in proportion to the bed size.
Teens had twin beds which were really comfy. Both rooms had an unsightly view of a storage yard. Ice bucket and kettle provided in room but limited tea/coffee sachets and only a couple of uht milk, No biscuits, which is a little mean for a hotel of this rating.
Bathroom as expected.
The bar area is uninviting, reminds us of a sports bar as this was the
only thing on show. Breakfast is served in the main dining room, again adequate but a bit disappointing to find no grapefruit segments instead there were bowls of tinned pear and peach halves. Fresh fruit salad was uninspiring with not a fresh strawberry in sight!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milliemooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

I am disappointed that you have been left with such a poor impression of our hotel. Our aim is to create an outstanding experience at the Hilton Belfast and customer feedback is very important to us.

Should you wish to discuss your feedback further please don’t hesitate to contact me directly - damian.gilvary@hilton.com

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Regards,

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights. Our room (209) has a wonderful view over the River Lagan and, even better, the railway bridge carrying trains north/east from the city. There's a clear view of the famous Harland and Wolf cranes. This has to be one of the best and most interesting views I've ever had from a hotel window. Unfortunately, the windows were dirty, so the view was somewhat diminished.

Sound insulation from other rooms and outside was very good when the window was closed (we were not in a room with adjoining doors). The room was spacious and comfortable and had effective a/c (albeit not climate control). The TV was great, at least 40", offering all Freeview channels. The menu system on the TV was grainy; I don't know how they managed analogue noise on a digital system!

The ice machine and room safe were useful facilities.

The bathroom was as expected, although the shower curtain leaked due to having a waterproof layer that was too short.

Housekeeping was inconsistent. Empty bathroom supplies were left on the side of the bath. New ones were always brought, but the number of teabags left each day diminished as the week went on. One day, a towel disappeared, so I had to call reception to bring another up. The next day, I found my pillows left on the floor. The final day, the little paper hats had been put on 2 dirty glasses, one of which still contained water from the night before. The bedding was not changed on the Wednesday, which the card in the bathroom stated was the policy.

The restaurant struggled to deliver what was described on the menu; tomato mayonnaise in the prawn cocktail became lemon mayonnaise. When challenged, we were told that the chef was right and we were wrong. Unfortunately, my partner does not like lemon mayonnaise, so he switched to the soup. I was disappointed that I was expected to buy extra vegetables to supplement what is already one of the most expensive meals in Belfast. Dessert was back to misdescription, with a chocolate cookie (!) in place of the promised chocolate swirls.

The Coke, served in little 200ml glass bottles, was flat. This was attributed to the bottles travelling across from Britain, but we enjoyed other fizzy drinks in Northern Ireland that did not suffer this problem. We sent the first Coke back, only to have three bottles charged on the bill!

There were positives: my glass of merlot was superb (although served in an unmarked glass, so I was not sure I was getting all that I'd paid for), and the food was clearly assembled from great ingredients. But it was not accurately described and the meal it was spoiled by the need to complain during and after the meal. This experience saved lots of money as we made different arrangements for food the rest of the week.

Location of the hotel was great, right next to Central Station giving direct access to everywhere on NI Railways with no more than 1 change. The Europa bus station and city centre are 5–10 minutes' walk away. The only thing that spoiled the environment was the smell of sewage, which I did not notice anywhere else in Belfast.

The Cables bar is like an airport lounge, and shows constant sport. One to avoid.

Wifi is not free anywhere in the hotel (not even the "public areas"). If you have BT Broadband, or other access to BT Openzone you can log on for free using your home details. Otherwise, there are plenty of outlets within a few minutes' walk offering free connection for the price of a coffee.

All in all, there was far too much hassle for a 5-star hotel, and not enough attention to detail. However, it's solidly built, spacious and has a great location, so it's still worth considering if you can get a good enough price.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with a view over the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pubby127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

I am disappointed that you have been left with such a poor impression of our hotel. Our aim is to create an outstanding experience at the Hilton Belfast and customer feedback is very important to us. Should you wish to discuss your feedback further please don’t hesitate to contact me directly - damian.gilvary@hilton.com

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Regards,

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#7 of 47 in Belfast
289 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 47 in Belfast
1,688 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $124 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing