We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but I can't accept cost of Internet access as reasonable”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very good location, friendly staff, modern fresh rooms, good selection at the breakfast, but....thin walls in the bathroom and charging £15 per day for Internet usage is not acceptable for hotel of this class.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishlad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Hilton Belfast. I am pleased you had a great stay with us and appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the Internet charges, and I shall certainly share your comments.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Regards,

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,993 - 1,999 of 2,966 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel, but they sadly charge for internet, and only by the day which seems excessive if you only want to use it for an hour.

The restaurant has fabulous food but was a bit slow, even with very few guests.

And be very careful if you are leaving early to go to Belfast station, as the walkway/bridge has a roller gate which appears to be locked before 7:30 so you have to go around.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Hilton Belfast. I am pleased you had a great stay with us and appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the Internet charges and evening dining service, and I shall certainly share your comments with the relevant departments.
Look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Regards,
Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I recently stayed for two nights with my wife in this hotel as a mini break. I have stayed in hotels in UK and Ireland on business and found this hotel satisfactory - 5 star maybe not.
Room was ok - clean and bright but got a bit loud down the hall at 3.00 am on saturday night.
Breakfast was adequate - sausages bit rubbery.
Extras - parking at £18 per day is a definite rip off - other reviews would agree but it does not seem to bother the hotel management - no remedy forthcoming.
Organised two tours tro' hotel - mistake - do not do it - rip off - book online yourself - cheaper Do not use the companies recommended by the hotel especially the Giants Causeway tour - cheaper alternatives available - example hotel company £25 - alternative - £16.
Had a bad experience with the company the hotel recommended - not nice people to deal with and very unprofessional - the hotel abdicated all responsibility.

Room Tip: go for view of city - 6th floor was ours - good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Hilton Belfast. I am pleased you had a great stay with us and appreciate your constructive feedback, and I shall certainly share your comments with the relevant departments.
If you wish to discuss your feedback further, please contact me directly damian.gilvary@hilton.com

Kindest Regards,

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We got a great rate for this hotel for a weekend in January and were delighted with our stay on all counts. Ideally located for us arriving on the train from Dublin. We were upgraded on arrival which was a nice touch.
Breakfast was great, and the concierge gave us excellent advice on how best to experience the city, organizing a black cab tour for us which dropped us off at the titanic experience.
We dined in the hotel both nights and were impressed, with the exception of the pork belly.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a touch of luxury in the city center. We will be returning soon, Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Belfast. I am very pleased to learn that you left with such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful views over the river. Excellent facilities in the Executive lounge. Very comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Lovely breakfast and delicious food in the Sonoma restaurant. Good central location. Will dream about the fried potato bread at breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tillyfloss1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It looks like we've ticked all the boxes for you in order for you to have a memorable stay.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure again soon.
Kind Regards,
Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The check-in process was efficient and the clerk very helpful (and 4 hours later she remembered my name immediately when I was walking by). Had dinner in the cafe (good) and slept comfortably on the large bed.

The room was slightly smaller than what you might get in the States (this is not bad, just noted) and the warm, rich wood paneling made me feel comfortably cozy. The room looked eastward out over the River Lagan and was very settling.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyGuyFromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second time staying at The Hilton, Belfast in the last couple of months and both stays have been excellent. Our latest stay was on Saturday 2/2/13 and we got a great room on the 1st floor, room 117 which is a corner suite overlooking the River Lagan and the iconic H&W shipyard. The room was excellent; spacious, pristine and although it is a designated smoking room there wasn't the slightest smell of smoke in the room. The sofa and table at the windows was a lovely setting for a drink before we went out. Breakfast the next morning was served to 11am which on a Sunday morning allowed us to enjoy a lie in and the breakfast was a buffet which had everything you would want.

Overall, having stayed in a similar spec hotels in Belfast in the recent past I can't see me staying elsewhere in the future, it's cheaper than some of the other higher end hotels but in my opinion enjoys a better location with better views and good quality well finished rooms with big comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Room 117 is a corner suite with 2 sides of the room being windows overlooking the lagan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,634 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 45 in Belfast
3,055 reviews
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#25 of 45 in Belfast
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: $114 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing