We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a scary setting, staff couldn't have been more friendly and the hotel was immaculate.”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Pontefract
1 review
“Beautiful hotel in a scary setting, staff couldn't have been more friendly and the hotel was immaculate.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beautiful river side setting, we were on the 5th floor executive suite. We had full access to the executive lounge with a free bar canapes and breakfast. The hotel was spotless and quite busy, the bar was always busy. I wouldn't go to Belfast again it was not a nice experience.
However I really cannot fault the Belfast Hilton.

Room Tip: The executive suite overlooking the river with two full glass walls was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    897
    434
    188
    112
See reviews for
328
1,160
118
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derry
Level Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay in the Hilton. The staff are this hotel's greatest asset particularly Amanda at check-in; Conor the restaurant manager. All staff were very professional and helpful. The hotel was busy but service was prompt. The Cables bar was still closed for refurbishment so we had drinks in the restaurant area in the evening not ideal but fit for purpose. The breakfast is fantastic - lots of choice and the buffet is regularly added too, so the food is fresh and hot. My daughter really wanted a Muffin but they were all finished when we had eaten our cooked food - but nothing was too much trouble Conor had some more baked in the kitchen and 15 minutes later we had piping hot Blueberry Muffins straight from the oven!! Delicious and served with a smile!
The rooms are a little dated and like other reviewers I prefer a separate shower to one inside the bath but the rooms are clean and the bed very comfortable. The studio suites on the corner of the building are worth paying the little extra for as the views of Belfast are incredible.
The staff made this stay for us, everyone was local, everyone was happy and keen to help. They were also keen to promote Belfast and the HIlton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I was traveling with family in Scotland and Ireland last fall to do some genealogical research. I had booked us a room for the first night so that we would have a place to go after the flight from the US. After that, we had planned to stay at different local hotels. We hadn't booked anything in advance, preferring to leave ourselves open depending on what we found as we travelled.

Well, this hotel was quite modern and comfortable. Spacious renovated rooms. I have stayed at other Hiltons in Europe and found that most of them have small rooms and bathrooms than their typical American counterparts. This hotel was much nicer than most Hiltons I have stayed it. The rooms felt more like a Westin.

Needless to say, we decided to stay for 3 more days and made the hotel a base camp from which to explore Northern Ireland.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Belfast. The city has much to offer... Don't be afraid about stories of "the troubles" - instead, take a Belfast Taxi Tour. A driver will take you through some historic sites of Belfast's troubled recent history and explain it to you from a local perspective. It was enlightening and hopeful.

Great rooms, great bathroom, WONDERFUL breakfast buffet...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarriorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The breakfast is fantastic. The bright restaurant room has a fantastic view to the river. The building is massive and lacks the elegance and style younger hotels have often in this category. I have been there two times now. First time I arrived after midnight. During check in my gold status upgrade was "forgotten" even so I presented the membership card which I also used for the booking. Either i was to tired to explain myself correctly or the front desk manager was to tired to understand me. The second time I had to ask for another room because the cleaning was not accept able. Fortunately I was upgraded to a nice corner studio as an excuse, I appreciated that. The next time I tried to make a reservation I just received the answer "Sorry Sir, we are completely booked" I wrote another mail and asked if they was one room available, regardless if it is in the highest or in the lowest category. The answer was quite short: "sorry Sir we are completely booked".

So there was no third stay for me. But maybe I will go there again to check if they improved something.

Checking the other reviews I ask myself if there is something wrong with me or if the only other guest is an pr-agency that writes reviewes. And if so whydo they need the whole hotel so that I cannot make a reservation?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NilsinEimsbuettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here nye reception staff professional and speedy checkin hilton honnors.our room was king and usual hilton style.only downside was the shower over the bath always prefer seperate. Everything was very clean fluffy towels etc.good heating system in hilton rooms as weather was freezing we needed it. We had meal in the restaurant which was very nice expensive but we have a discount card .cocktails in the bar were a let down plenty of alchol just no idea of decoration said to one of the barmen he took it away and he put 2 short black straws and small piece of lime on the rim!! unreal they would need some training !
Breakfast was the usual hilton feast plenty of choice and eggs cooked fresh any way you want .alot of young staff on and not alot of organization im all for giving local people jobs but the belfast slang should be toned down when the staff were talking loudly to each other. Hotel would just need to sort out the small things and not let standards slip or they will lose customers as there are plenty of hotels to choose from in belfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensim7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've always enjoyed my stays here. I find Hilton hotels consistently reward "loyal guests" more than they need to; or even simply staying an entire week will often result in a free upgrade. On this occasion I was given a very large suite, which of course enhanced the stay.

Check-in was very pleasant and efficient, the room was wonderful, the (room service) food was excellent, breakfast is of a very high standard and in a lovely bright setting along the waterfront.

For me personally, the only let-down is the fitness centre and the lack of any pool or sauna - however there is wonderful jogging to be done from right outside the hotel. It isn't located right in the heart of Belfast, but town is within walking distance. It is though ideally located for both the Waterfront and Odyssey venues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPG_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hopeless restaurant staff who bring starters and main at the same time. Ovcerpriced wine £9 a glass (unless you want the dishwater that is the house wine)! Limited menu and nothing healthy on there

Gym - may as well not bother!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crankcaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#24 of 44 in Belfast
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Property: Hilton Belfast
Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing