We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed hee for one night on a girly weekend with my mum. Lovely hotel, but we had a few maintence issues in the rooms - such as a light fixture had been ripped out of the headboard. Clearly the hotel has been renovated in the last few years, but maintenace could do with being managed.

Food for breakfast and dinner was lovely. We did have an issue checking out where reception staff were too busy dealing with other guests checking in to put our luggage in the luggage room leaving us late for our slot at the titanic museum. This was annoying especially as we had such good customer service during the rest of the trip.

I would return, but would look at other city centre hotels first!

Room Tip: Request a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmybear83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent return stay at the hotel, we always endeavour to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion that we failed to meet your expectations.

I have shared your review with the relevant department managers to investigate your feedback regarding your Bedroom.

That being said, I am very happy to hear the breakfast and dinner itself you found pleasant. I thank you very much once again for your feedback, and I am delighted that we will have you with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    876
    421
    181
    110
See reviews for
323
1,132
111
652
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My first time in Belfast and certainly not my last. A lovely hotel, friendly staff and a magnificent corner room view overlooking the river and the city. Great room with a huge comfy bed and a good bathroom.

Well located for the waterfront development and Victoria Square shopping. The only drawbacks are the costs of the parking and the breakfast. Will definitely go back next time I'm in the city (but may not bring the car!!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weaselbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a top rated review for Hilton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their experiences with rest of the world.
A very warm welcome awaits you on your next stay.
Kind regards,
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Went to Belfast for the Titanic exhibition. Hotel is about 15 to 20 minutes walk away.
Good sized and usual facilities for this type of hotel.
Thought the breakfast was expensive.
Look out for good Internet deals.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cbland15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Belfast. I am very pleased to learn that you left with such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here Friday night for a night in the odyssey. Wouldn't return nor recommend especially if you've a car to park. Ended up getting locked in the car park. Did we receive an apology from the management, or a discounted rate-NO!! was in the car park at least 20 minutes, fire escape was locked, directed at the pay station to go down to management office on lower floor-no number to contact. When we arrived on the Friday there was no sign to say that the car park closed on Saturdays. Ruined the stay for both of us, and due to the delay in managing to get the car out we were late for our next appointment.
Staff on Friday night when checking in were less than helpful, better service in other lesser quality hotels which make no assumption about being better than a step up from hostel. Extremely disappointed with the staff levels of both car park-whose name I have an will be making a complaint and the helpfulness of hotel staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags232123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I am disappointed that you have been left with such a poor impression of our hotel. The adjacent car park does not belong to the hotel, I have however passed you comments on to the car park manager and I apologise for the incovenience caused.
Should you wish to discuss your feedback further please don’t hesitate to contact me directly - damian.gilvary@hilton.com

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for one night and had a groupon for champagne breakfast which was amazing. Good quality Hilton with everything you'd expect from a top class hotel. Close to everything in the city. Good rates too. Better than mal maison and the extortionate merchant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olybeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review for Hilton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their experiences with rest of the world.

A very warm welcome awaits.

Kind regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We needed a central hotel to enable us to attend an early morning appointment at Hospital as an Hhonors member I tend not to go past the Hilton group and am usually satisfied with the result and was not disappointed on this occasion either. Check in was simple and pleasant with an excellent internet deal of £100 B&B per couple. In room dining was good with quick service and not unduly expensive. Breakfast was excellent also. All in all a very good stay.

Room Tip: Car parking is expensive as the hotel deal only applies to one stay in the park, if you leave and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It looks like we've ticked all the boxes for you.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for 1 night attending a show in Odyssey. Expensive at £150 but I did book late. An additional £18 for parking didn't help. The small things make a good hotel. Examples - room service main menu stops at 11. Got back from show and called at 3 minutes to 11. After ringing out I called front desk to be abruptly told it stopped at 11. I explained I was calling since before 11 but got nothing. I was only looking a desert for my wife, was told nothing he can do, "his" chefs go home at 11 which would suggest last orders isn't actually 11. Ordered drinks instead and after a 30 minute wait I called back and cancelled and went to the bar to fetch them myself. Then I order breakfast in the room which arrived both late and totally wrong. 3 slices of brown toast was the continental. Comment card in the room but not a pen in sight. Holes in the sheet. I felt this hotel is built for stag or hen nights. Not exactly a luxury night away. Apart from the late night staff all other staff were very professional and friendly. I got an upgrade to top floor without asking, main benefit was view i think. I have stayed here about 6 times on business mainly. Needless to say I'll pay the extra or book earlier and stay somewhere better in future e.g Fitzwilliam

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fosfo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I am disappointed that you have been left with such a poor impression of our hotel. Our aim is to create an outstanding experience at the Hilton Belfast and customer feedback is very important to us.

Should you wish to discuss your feedback further please don’t hesitate to contact me directly - damian.gilvary@hilton.com

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Property: Hilton Belfast
Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing