We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stopover for a night in Belfast”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good stopover for a night in Belfast”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here as we were going to a show at The Waterfront next door. Dead handy. Stayed on a Dinner bed and breakfast rate. Although, £3:50 extra for steak and £3:50 extra for a side with the house wine coming in at £20 fair adds to the rate.Good food. Fairly expensive but we visited at a busy time. Rooms comfortable. Temperature just right. Best hotel bed since The Westin in Boston in 2001, which is my gold standard- you'll likely have your own. Stingy on the walkers shortbread to go with the instant coffee. Would have expected a Nespresso machine or similar. Toiletries provided were good quality but just about enough for two. Shower a bit tame, I do like a good blast of power and it didn't deliver.
Not enough elevators for the size of the place-always a wait.
Gym was adequate for a quick workout.

Word of advice if you're in high heels and it's been raining, watch out for the polished tiles in the foyer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbusywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review of Hilton Belfast. It is very pleasing to read comments from guests who have had great experience with us and is very encouraging to all of the team here.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    886
    429
    186
    112
See reviews for
324
1,143
114
670
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Get the 300 bus from the airport and walk about ten minutes or get a taxi for around £25. Upon arrival it's a easy check in, room looks nice but I was disappointed that breakfast and wi fi wasn't included in price and both were expensive. Lucky enough we got the special rate for
breakfast, which was still over £10pp. Breakfast service was brilliant the first morning when we got there at 7am, the next morning when we arrived at 8.30am it wasn't so good, with no one asking if we wanted tea or coffee and slow replenishment of the buffet. If you're a BT internet customer, you can log on to bt openzone, which is fast and free. Nice breakfast, buffet style, would have been more impressed if it was hotter and they has veggie sausages. Back to the room, beds were okay but on wheels so moved around and felt unsteady. Bathroom not bad, the shower was a disappointment with low pressure. We checked out an hour later for free, which was good.

A few shops in the area about 5 minutes walk, but all close early and reception and outside the hotel stinks of sewage, really not pleasant.

Overall a good stay, but would stay somewhere else next time due to the issues mentioned.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cazzzie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I have shared your review with the relevant department managers to investigate your feedback regarding your Breakfast, Internet and Shower.

That being said, I am very happy to hear the hotel itself you found pleasant. I thank you very much once again for your feedback, and I am delighted that we will have you with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I travel to Belfast frequently for work and have had several week-long stays at the Hilton Belfast over the past couple of years. It's a solid choice if you're looking for accommodations near Belfast city center.

It's a Hilton, so you generally know what to expect. It's not going to be quaint, or charming, or filled with local color. It's a Hilton. The rooms are clean, spacious, and well-appointed. If you can score a corner room on one of the upper floors overlooking the Lagan you'll be rewarded with some great views and a very large soaking tub in the bath. The building is on the waterfront, 10 to 20 minutes walk from most downtown destinations. The location isn't quite as convenient as some of the other hotels that are right in the middle of things, but it is an easy walk to downtown shopping, dining, business, and drinking destinations.

A range of services and amenities is available in the hotel including late night room service (for the typical inflated Hilton price) and a passable gym. The lobby is spacious, and the lobby bar offers light foods and stocks a nice selection of beer, wine, and spirits. If you can get onto one of the executive floors there's also a small executive lounge on the 11th floor where you can enjoy complimentary hors d'oeuvres and drinks in the evening. Breakfast is served both in the executive lounge and in the main hotel restaurant. The variety of foods offered is better than average, and while I cannot say that breakfast is spectacular, but it's certainly serviceable.

The hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bad-Horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hilton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their experiences with rest of the world.

A very warm welcome awaits you on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've stayed here many times and as always the service and staff are great.. My last stay was for my hen weekend. Everyone made us all feel very welcome and service couldn't have been better!

We got a lovely room with amazing views which were even better at night!

Breakfast was great, large choice of foods readily available.

Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review of Hilton Belfast. It is very pleasing to read comments from guests who have had great experience with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel was a surprise. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hallways exude a quiet elegance with thick carpets and wood-paneled doors. Our room was exceptionally large with spectacular 180 degree views of the city through large windows spanning two walls of the room. The room itself has a large amount of wood paneling and a combination of wood and thick-carpeted floors. The bathroom is quite large with a huge bathtub and two sinks, dark-tiled floor, and granite counters. The hotel is extremely quiet, but well situated and only a few minutes walk to the downtown area of Belfast. The executive lounge is open all day for drinks and snacks and the evening fare was quite good, including complimentary drinks including hard liquor as well as wine and beer. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusaDogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It looks like we've ticked all the boxes for you in order for you to have a memorable stay.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure again soon.
Kind Regards,
Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

had a 2 night stay:

Had to wait for breakfast while table was set obviously staff shortage problem
Waiting staff looked aghast when asked for a refill of tea at breakfast
Beds not made
Dust on table top/unit top in bedroom
Condiments at breakfast in short supply as guests had to borrow from adjoining tables.
Not what was expected from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
I am disappointed that you have been left with such a poor impression of our hotel. Our aim is to create an outstanding experience at the Hilton Belfast and customer feedback is very important to us.
Should you wish to discuss your feedback further please don’t hesitate to contact me directly - damian.gilvary@hilton.com

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghera, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Fantastic hotel. We arrived early and got to check in as our room was ready which allowed us to go do some shopping with out any worries. The room was nice and spacious and very clean with a lovely view of the river and H&W. Brilliant and very friendly staff, who saw to our every need. The food was brilliant, i was really impressed with the choice and the quality for both dinner and breakfast. Just wish we had more than the 1 night booked!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamianGilvary, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It looks like we've ticked all the boxes for you in order for you to have a memorable stay.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Property: Hilton Belfast
Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing