We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a 4.5 star stay for us..only Internet and parking that...”
Review of Hilton Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Belfast
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's a 4.5 star stay for us..only Internet and parking that...”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I don't have to describe the quality of our stay at the Hilton Belfast, it's up to their standard (On staff, food, service, room conditions, I agree with all other reviews). Let's talk about minor points that may disturb you as a future guest.

1. Internet is not available in the guest room. You will have to pay approx £15 for 24 hour. But it's freely available in the lobby area. So you see a lot of people with their gadgets in this area. If B&B, hostels and all other lower-star accommodations can provide free wi-fi, but Hilton can't. Their management has to seriously look at their policy / agreements. If you can't provide that access for free, at least providing a desktop or two for guests would be useful. Well we stayed for a short period of time, and days without the Internet for me were fine. But I know some of my friends can't live without but are not willing to pay that amount either. Be prepared for this. (We used 3G on our devices.)

2. Parking is £18 per day (next to the Hilton but I guess it is operated by another company). Yes, that much and it doesn't allow to get in and out. Once you move your car and you want back in, then you pay again. On this point, the hotel reception was not helpful because they didn't provide additional information on where else could be alternatives (I made a call prior to arrival). So top tip on parking, use Parkopedia. Thanks to TripAdvisor, we knew about this issue in advance. Parkopedia points me to the Eastside car park (BT5 4BG), some 12 minutes away on foot from the Hilton which we can park overnight and day for a much cheaper rate. At the time I went to Belfast (Jul 2012), the ticket machine was broken and there was no one at the station so we parked for free. We saved 18 pounds for a few nice cuppa tea and coffee at Titanic Belfast :).

All in all, we liked it a lot at the Hilton Belfast. We would stay here again if we have a chance to visit Belfast. Hopefully in the future, if the parking is not improving, the Internet access should. We stayed at the executive suite but didn't have a chance to try the lounge because our schedule was packed. May be next time.

Room Tip: Executive Suite on floor 9-11
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ms244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I have passed your comments along to all department Managers so as to convey your thanks and our appreciation of their teams’ hard work as you had mentioned.

The car parking facilities adjacent to the hotel is owned and operated by JEP Parking Ltd, a separate entity, both rates charged and the operation are ultimately items beyond our control. The discounted rates negotiated for guests of the hotel are comparable to other City Centre parking facilities. Our guests and their property is very important to us at Hilton Belfast and therefore we do not encourage the team to recommend on street parking as it is not secured and monitored 24 hours as in a car park adjacent. Our Concierge department would be delighted to assist with other parking options such as the Victoria Square Car Park which offers £4.00 from 5pm-8am the following morning.

With reference to your point regarding Wireless Internet Access, I do apologise if you find the charges somewhat excessive. Hilton UK & Ireland have installed Broadband access via BT Openzone throughout the estate, and as such prices are set as standard throughout all properties. I do, of course, take your comments on board and have communicated your concern with our Information Systems Manager for his review.

Many thanks again for taking the time to upload your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    885
    429
    186
    112
See reviews for
324
1,142
114
669
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

After my first disappointing trip to the Hilton Belfast, I was nervous about a return visit, however I should not have worried! We decided to take a trip to the giants causeway and staying in Belfast to break the journey was a good idea. I generally try to stay in large chain group hotels as you can be assured of quality so we decided to give it another chance.

We arrived at the hotel and we were welcomed by an extremely friendly girl at the front desk (I really wish I could remember her name) cause throughout our whole stay she went over and beyond her duties. We checked in and promptly went to our room - it was the fastest check-in that I have experienced in a long time.

We located our room on the executive floor (12th floor) and it had beautiful views of the river. We looked around the room and decided to see the city. My daughter was crazy about the views of the train line from the room.
On our way out, we stopped at the executive lounge for some teas and coffees, it was fab. They encouraged us to come back in time for 'happy hour' later on.

We shopped til we dropped in Victoria Square, ate some dinner and returned to the hotel in time for the end of Happy hour. Unfortunately, we missed the canapés but we received an extremely warm welcome from the lovely Donna who is a real asset to the hotel. She looked after us and ensured that we did not want for anything. We had a lovely evening in the lounge and it was an ideal child friendly place to sit to relax.

Next to breakfast - after an amazing nights sleep in the comfy beds, we were ready for an early breakfast to continue to the giants causeway. We were told that it was a continental breakfast in the executive lounge which sounded good to us but we were pleasantly surprised that there was a full fry up on offer. Breakfast was delicious and we checked out of the hotel, content that it was a great stay.

The only tiny problem with the hotel is that there is an £18.00 charge for 24 hours parking, however would this stop me returning? NO WAY, I am already planning a return visit for some early Christmas shopping in November and it will be an executive room all the way....

Room Tip: Stay in an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coltrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on tripadvisor. I am delighted that you experienced a warm welcome to the hotel and a marked improvement to your previous stay at Hilton Belfast. I hope this shows that we act on all our guests feedback to ensure we meet all our guests expectations.

I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Regards,

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This Hilton isn’t especially new and isn’t especially pretty, but it does enjoy a good location on the Belfast Waterfront and is a stone’s throw from Victoria Square and the city centre. About as central as you'd want. The rooms are perfectly adequate without being especially exciting, but the welcome and the staff service more than make up for that. As does the breakfast which is excellent.

A great choice if you are visiting on business but also very popular for tourists it would seem. Would be pleased to return.

Room Tip: The higher up the better and ask for a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I was disappointed to read that your felt our hotel didn’t feel new or pretty after completing a full muti-million refurbishment. However, I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Belfast very soon.
Best Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Belfast Hilton, good modern hotel close to the city centre. Car parking is expensive so I took the train down which is only 2 mins walk to the hotel. Upgrade to Executive Room which had floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Lagan and City. Executive Lounge was really good and the staff there are excellent.Typical Hilton breakfast,so you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Executive room at the end of each corridor cost a little more but the views are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Belfast very soon.

Best Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location, great weekend price...breakfast was fab, plenty of choice...will definitely be going back !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockstar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Belfast very soon.

Best Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portadown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Having stayed here before and it's location with the marathon in mind it was my first choice. Great hotel and service makes it a favourite.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinmcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Belfast very soon.

Best Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was a good hotel choice in the city. Staff where great on arrival really made you welcome at midnight.and swift check-in who directed us to the 9th floor executive floor .which enabling us to use the executive lounge with internet access which is always important when traveling on business. Breakfast had a very good choice and overall staff brilliat thoughout the hotel. Booked for 1 night checked next day but due to being spoilt and although 15 miles away in another area we decided to go back the following night Monday and stay. On the night before on the Tursday before catching the boat back to Troon to Edinburgh.... decided again to stay at the hotel but was fully booked. Returning again in 6 weeks so will need to pre booked next time in advance, Over all it is a very nice hotel clean and ideal if traveling on business to stay in Belfast clean freah and inviting. One down fall was the parking next door as they have no parking, but you do get a discount if staying at the hotel to the24 car-park next door. Watch out if you have a large car like mine... you can drive in but getting out of the car park is a nightmare due to the exit driveway bing very tight when turning the corners driving down the floors to exit, I scraped my car due the lowness of my car to a cost of around £200 damage to fix this. With no response on this from the ca-rpark owners. later in finding out by speaking to the staff at the Hilton this happens often they said and was a nightmare to their customers. Tthere is another car-park within a few minutes walk distance away, so don't let this put you off in staying at the hotel just be aware of parking next door....r just drive around the corner with afew minutes walk back to hotel it is worth it.. Enjoy your stay i did!

Room Tip: if you can get any rooms above the 9th great veiws of the river and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Hilton Belfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Belfast very soon.

Best Regards

Damian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast

Property: Hilton Belfast
Address: 4 Lanyon Place, Belfast BT1 3LP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#18 Business Hotel in Belfast
#20 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Belfast hotel is an iconic part of he Belfast skyline situated on the banks for the River Lagan in the heart of Belfast City. Next door to the Belfast Waterfront Hall, a few minutes walk to Belfast City Hall and Victoria Square. 5 Minute walk to the SSE (formerly Odyssey) Arena and 1 mile from Titanic Belfast. WiFi is available in all rooms and is free for Hhonors members that book direct(Charges may apply to other bookings). The hotel is 100% non smoking, Executive Floor, Executive Lounge, one Restaurant, one Bar, Fitness Centre/Health Club, Business Centre, Coffee shop, 198 Guest Rooms, Accessible Rooms, nine Meeting Rooms. Check in: 3:00PM, Check out: 12:00PM. Parking available next door - car park for £18.00 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Belfast Hotel Belfast
Hilton International Belfast
Belfast Hilton International
Belfast Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing