We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place for a conference!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Film Theatre

Queens Film Theatre
Ranked #2 of 33 Fun & Games in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This movie theatre features largely independent and European films.
Geisenhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a conference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Most of the reviews are for the theater's function as, well, a theater. I attended a conference in Belfast this week and this was one of the venues. I would gladly attend another conference here. The seats in the screening rooms were extremely comfortable. There were nice common areas. All of the technical stuff worked! (A rarity, believe it or not.)

Only down side: it is down a side street, but there is at least a sign for it from the main road.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank yomintyfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    72
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Popovo, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Night of horror”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were just passing through Belfast when we came across an advert for an all night horror thon at QFT in November 2013. The 6 films were a great mix of classic horrors including the Exorcist and The Devil rides out. We were treated to free tea and coffee all night, pizzas at 3am and a wonderful breakfast of scrambled egg sandwiches, croissants and bagels. The venue looks from the outside like a modest terraced house but is spacious, light and modern on the inside with a really friendly and helpful staff. I'd highly recommend spending some time at QFT when in Belfast.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire_at_Wild_Thyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An excellent venue, with great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Having just recovered from an all-night horror marathon, and having attended regularly for the last four years, I can wholeheartedly recommend the QFT. Very friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable surrounds, good bar and, above all, an excellent selection of films, old and new, from across Europe and the wider world. Occasionally has live performances from the National Theatre as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rbyrne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A proper cinema!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I and her parents recently visited here to see the brilliant Le Week-end. We came in a few days before as wheelchair access was a priority, and we were booking for an 'access screening'. The reception was really busy, but the staff did not rush us in any way (unlike the hordes of people behind us arriving late for a showing - not our fault folks!) and could not have been more obliging.
Disabled access to the cinema is good, with a ramp at the entrance, wide entrance and all ground floor facilities.
When we arrived the staff knew we were coming, had the seats reserved and explained the loop system fully.
Knowing the QFT is this friendly to less able bodied people is a godsend. They should be rightly proud of their set up, and we had a grand afternoon at the cinema as a result.
Our experience of other much larger cinemas was nowhere close.
The QFT is a cinema for people who want to see films, there is still an appropriate amount of rustling, but apart from that, no people shouting, talking or texting.
Heaven.

Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Arthouse cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you're visiting Queens this is a good way to spend an evening. Book tickets in the Welcome Centre in the Lanyon. There are bar facilities and it is small and civilised. Great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LSWinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Film Theatre also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Queens Film Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing